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Information about Hospital Presumptive Eligibility (HPE) 
for OHP Pharmacies 
As permitted by the Affordable Care Act, hospitals statewide are now approving individuals for 

temporary OHP Plus coverage through the Hospital Presumptive Eligibility (HPE) process.  

Approved individuals are immediately issued an Approval Notice for Hospital Presumptive 

(Temporary) Eligibility for Medical Coverage (OHP 3263A) that confirms they are eligible for 

temporary, fee-for-service (FFS) coverage. Once this approval is issued: 

 It will cover payment for medical services and prescriptions for at least thirty (30) days.  

 OHP coverage is effective immediately and can be verified in the DMAP (FFS) Point of 

Sale system within 5-7 days. 

DMAP will provide payment as follows: 

DMAP will guarantee payment for covered prescriptions for individuals who present the 

Approval Notice for Hospital Presumptive (Temporary) Eligibility for Medical Coverage (OHP 

3263A)  as proof of eligibility, but who are not yet in our point of sale system.  

 Please accept the Approval Notice as proof of OHP eligibility. 

 Please call the Oregon Pharmacy Call Center at 1-888-202-2126. The Call Center staff 

will assist with reimbursement and troubleshooting. 

 At a minimum, please dispense a 96-hour supply and wait to bill DMAP. This should be 

possible within 5-7 days. To facilitate billing, an Oregon Pharmacy Call Center 

technician can monitor eligibility and notify you when the client is entered in the system.  

 Please retain a copy of the member’s Approval Notice as proof of eligibility.  

The Approval Notice includes the individual’s full name and date of birth (DOB). You can 

check the Provider Web Portal at https://www.or-medicaid.gov by Last Name, First Name and 

DOB to see if an individual has been issued an Oregon Medicaid ID number. 

Questions? 

 About pharmacy point of sale and prior authorizations: Call the Oregon Pharmacy 

Call Center at 1-888-202-2126. 

 About the Provider Web Portal: Call the Provider Services Unit at 1-800-336-6016, 

Monday through Thursday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on 

Friday. 

Thanks for your help in providing health care for Oregon’s uninsured 

population.
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