
Important:  This notice explains your right to appeal our decision.  Read this notice carefully.  If you need help, 

you can call one of the numbers listed on the last page under “Get help & more information.” 

 
Notice of Denial of Medical Coverage  

{Replace Denial of Medical Coverage with Denial of Payment, if applicable} 

 
{This section must be provided in core language areas per OHP rules for client with language other than English as 

primary}  

This information is about a service or treatment your health care provider recently asked us to cover or pay for. We 

have denied this request. You have the right to ask us to change our decision.  

 

You have the right to appeal our decision to us for both Medicaid and Medicare denials. 

You must file an appeal request within 45 days for Medicaid from the Date of Notice listed on the enclosed 

Notice and within 60 days for Medicare from the Date of Notice listed on the enclosed Notice. 

 

Please call us at the phone number on the enclosed Notice right away if: 

 You do not understand the Notice.  

 You need the Notice in large print, a different format or language. An interpreter will translate the 

document at no cost to you. 

 

  You may complete ONE form to us to request both the Medicare and Medicaid Appeal.   

 

If you want to also request a State Medicaid Hearing,  you will need to complete the enclosed hearing 

request form and send it to the State.   

 

Additional details about both appeals and hearing processes and your rights are included in this 

notice.    

 

Important Information About Continuing Services 

To keep getting this service while you wait for your Appeal or Hearing, you must: 

■ Already have been getting the service before it was denied,  

■ Ask for an Appeal and/or Hearing within 10 days from the “Date of Notice” or by the “Effective 

Date” shown on the Notice, whichever is later. 

■ Request for Medicaid services to be continued by checking Box 4 on the enclosed Oregon Medical 

Assistance Programs Appeal and Hearing Request }, and/or the enclosed {Plan Name} Appeal Form.   

 

If we do not change our decision or the hearing judge supports our decision, you may have to pay for 

services you get after Effective Date of Notice. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Member Name: [Client Name]      Date of Notice: 

Oregon Health Plan ID Number: [OHP Client ID]    Effective Date:   

Medicare ID Number:   [Medicare  Client ID]  

Date of Birth: [Client DOB] 

PCP/PCD: [PCP/PCD Name] 

Requesting Provider Name:  [Doctor Name] 

[Insert other identifying information, as necessary (e.g., provider name, enrollee’s Medicaid number, service 

subject to notice, date of service)] 

 

Dear [Client Name Here]

 

Your request was denied 
On [Date] , [Doctor Name] asked us to cover [Description of the service or item requested]. We’ve {Insert 

appropriate term:  denied, stopped, reduced, suspended} the {payment of} medical services/items listed below 

requested by you or your doctor [provider]:  

 
 

 

This request was reviewed by our Medical Director or designee. Unfortunately, [Medicare Plan Name] and [CCO 

Name ] are unable to approve this request. 

 

Why did we deny your request? 

A) Medicare Denial 
We {Insert appropriate term:  denied, stopped, reduced, suspended} the {payment of} medical services/items listed 

above because {Provide specific rationale for decision and include State or Federal law and/or Evidence of 

Coverage provisions to support decision}:  

 
 

 

 

A) Medicaid Denial 
We {Insert appropriate term:  denied, stopped, reduced, suspended} the {payment of} medical services/items listed 

above because  [Provide specific rationale for decision]. This decision is based on Oregon Administrative Rule(s)  

(OAR)  [provide the legal citation (rule, regulation, statute), including specific references to applicable sections or 

subsections, that corresponds to each reason provided above for denying the claim] .   

In addition, the following administrative rules are also applicable to our decision:  OAR 410-120-0000; OAR 410-

141-0000; OAR any additional rule or other law that substantially relevant to the decision, including specific 

references to applicable sections or subsections.. 

You may get the information we used in making this decision in writing. To get a copy, call Customer Services at 

555-555-5555 or 555-555-5555 TTY, Monday to Friday, 8 am - 5 pm.}:  



You have the right to appeal our decision to us for both Medicaid and Medicare 
denials.   
You have the right to ask {health plan name} to review our decision by asking us for a Medicare or Medicaid 

services {payment} appeal and/or you can request a State Fair Hearing.  You can ask for both types of review at 

the same time, as long as you meet the deadlines.  

 

 If you ask us for an appeal first, you may miss the deadline for requesting a State Fair Hearing.  

 

Appeal:  Ask {health plan name} for a Medicaid services {payment}  denial appeal within 45 days .  You can do 

this by requesting an Appeal, a Hearing, or both.  Ask {health plan name} for a Medicare services {payment}  

denial appeal within 60 days of the date of this notice.  A late request may only receive consideration if you have a 

good reason.   

 

State Fair Hearing  
 You may ask for a State Fair Hearing within 45 days of the date of this notice. A late request may be given 

consideration only if you have a good reason for being late.   

 

 You may file both an appeal with the plan and ask for a state fair hearing at the same time.   

 

Continuation of Services During An Appeal or Hearing Request 
If we’re stopping or reducing a service, you can keep getting the service while your case is being reviewed.  If you 

want the service to continue, you must ask for an appeal (Insert, if applicable:  or a State Fair Hearing) within 10 

days of the date of this notice or before the service is stopped or reduced, whichever is later.  Your provider must 

agree that you should continue getting the service.  If you lose your State Fair Hearing or appeal, you may have to 

pay for these services. 

 

If you want someone else to act for you 
 

You can name a relative, friend, attorney, doctor, or someone else to act as your representative.  If you want 

someone else to act for you, call us at: {number(s)} to learn how to name your representative.  TTY users call 

{number}.  Both you and the person you want to act for you must sign and date a statement confirming this is what 

you want. You’ll need to mail or fax this statement to us.    
 

 

 

 Important Information About Your Appeal Rights 
 

There are 2 kinds of appeals 
 

Standard Appeal – We’ll give you a written decision on a standard appeal within 30 days for Medicare 

decisions and 14 days for Medicaid decisions after we get your appeal. Our decision might take longer if you ask 

for an extension, or if we need more information about your case. We’ll tell you if we’re taking extra time and will 

explain why more time is needed. If we need more time,  we will send a written notice to let you know it will take 

an extra 14-16 days beyond the Medicaid or Medicare standard appeal timeframe.   If your appeal is for payment 

of a service you’ve already received, we’ll give you a written decision for Medicare appeals within 60 days. 

 

Fast Appeal – We’ll give you a written decision on a fast appeal within 72 hours after we get your appeal.  You 

can ask for a fast appeal if you or your doctor believe your health could be seriously harmed by waiting up to 30 

days for a decision.  

 



We’ll automatically give you a fast appeal if a doctor asks for one for you or supports your request.  If you 

ask for a fast appeal without support from a doctor, we’ll decide if your request requires a fast appeal.  If we don’t 

give you a fast appeal, we’ll give you a decision within 30 days.   

 
How to ask for an appeal with {health plan name} 
 

Step 1: You, your representative, or your doctor [provider] must ask us for an appeal [or State Fair Hearing]. 

Your {written} request must include: 

 Your name 

 Address 

 Medicaid {and/or} Medicare Member number 

 Reasons for appealing 

 Any evidence you want us to review, such as medical records, doctors’ letters, or other information that 

explains why you need the item or service. Call your doctor if you need this information.   

 

You can ask to see the medical records and other documents we used to make our decision before or during the 

appeal. At no cost to you, you can also ask for a copy of the guidelines we used to make our decision. 

 

Step 2: Mail, fax, or deliver your appeal {or call us}. 

For a Standard Appeal:      Address: 

{Phone:}                                    Fax: 

 

{Insert, if applicable:  If you ask for a standard appeal by phone, we will send you a letter confirming what you 

told us.}  
  
For a Fast Appeal:    Phone:                                    Fax: 
 

 

What happens next?    

If you ask for an appeal,  nurse or doctor from your CCO and/or Medicare plan will review the service request and 

the original decision.  They will use this information to decide if the decision should be changed (overturned) or 

not changed (upheld). They will tell you of their decision within 14 days of your appeal request by sending you a 

Notice of Appeal Resolution (NOAR) letter, or send you a written notice to let you know if it may take up to an 

additional 14-16 days to complete your appeal.  

 

For Medicaid Appeals:  If the NOAR says the denial was upheld, you will have 45 days to request a hearing with 

Oregon Medical Assistance Programs. If you have already requested a hearing, it will be scheduled 

and you will be notified of the time and place. 

 

For Medicare Appeals:  If we continue to deny your request for {payment of} a Medicare service, we’ll send you 

a written decision within 60 days and automatically send your Medicare case to an independent reviewer.  If the 

independent reviewer denies your request, the written decision will explain if you have additional appeal 

rights.  

 

If you ask for both an appeal and a hearing, the appeal will happen first. If the appeal overturns the 

original decision, a hearing will not be needed or held. If the appeal upholds the original decision, the 

hearing will be scheduled. 
  



How to ask for a Medicaid State Fair Hearing 
 

[You have the right to ask for a State Fair Hearing without asking us (health plan) to review our 

decision first.] 

 

Step 1: You or your representative must ask for a State Fair Hearing (in writing) within 45 days of 

the date of this notice. If you have a good reason for your request being late, please include 

information in your letter on why you are late.  A late request will only be considered if you have a 

good reason for being late.    

 

Your {written} request must include: 

 Your name 

 Address 

 Member number 

 Reasons for appealing 

 Any evidence you want us to review, such as medical records, doctors’ letters, or other 

information that explains why you need the item or service. Call your doctor if you need this 

information.   

 

Step 2: Send your Medicaid Services hearing request to 

Address: Medical Assistance Programs 

Attention: Hearings Unit 

500 Summer St. NE, E49 

Salem, OR 97301-1079 

Phone: 503-945-5785   

            Fax: 503-945-6035 

   

What happens next?    
The State will hold a hearing. You may attend the hearing in person or by phone. You’ll be asked to 

tell an administrative law judge why you disagree with our decision. You can ask a friend, relative, 

advocate, provider, or lawyer to help you.  Before the hearing a Medical Assistance Programs 

(MAP) staff member will call you to get more information and explain what will happen during the 

hearing. 

 

The following people will participate in the hearing with you:  
MAP Hearings representative; 

 your plan; 

 

 

 

 

 You’ll get a written hearing decision within 30 days. The written decision will explain if you have 

additional appeal rights.  

 

[A copy of this notice has been sent to:] 

 
 

 
 
 



 
 
Get help & more information     

 {Health Plan Name} Toll Free:    TTY users call:                     

{Insert plan hours of operation} 

Mail: Plan Name, 123 Main St, Hometown, OR, 97123 

 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227), 24 hours, 7 days a week. TTY users call: 1-877-486-2048 

 Medicare Rights Center:  1-888-HMO-9050 

 Elder Care Locator:  1-800-677-1116 

 Medical Assistance Programs  Phone: 503-945-5772 or Toll Free 1-800-527-5772 

TTY users: 711 

 The Public Benefits Hotline (a program of Legal Aid Services of Oregon and the Oregon Law Center)       

at 1-800-520-5292 (TTY 711). 
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