Secretary of State
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

A Statement of Need and Fiscal Impact accompanies this form.

Oregon Health Authority (Authority), Division of Medical Assistance Programs (Division) 410-141-3440
Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number
Sandy Cafourek 500 Summer St. NE, Salem, OR 97301 503-945-6430

Rules Coordinator Address Telephone

RULE CAPTION
Aligns Non-Emergent Medical Transportation Vehicle and Subcontractor Standards with New Statute Regarding Inhalants
Not more than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the agency’s intended action.

RULEMAKING ACTION
Secure approval of new rule numbers (Adopted or Renumbered rules) with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing

ADOPT:

AMEND: 410-141-3440

REPEAL:

RENUMBER:
AMEND & RENUMBER:

Stat. Auth.: ORS 413.042 and 414.625

Other Auth.:

Stats. Implemented: ORS 414.625

RULE SUMMARY

This rule amendment adds language regarding aerosolizing or vaporizing to the existing rule to bring subcontractor and vehicle
standards into alignment with changes to the Oregon Indoor Clean Air Act made in HB 2456, which passed in the 2015 legislative
session.

The agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule’s substantive goals
while reducing the negative economic impact of the rule on business.
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Noventber 17,2015, by 5 p.m. Send comments to: dmap.rules@state.or.us
‘Last Day for Public Comment (Last day to submit written comments to the Rules Coordinator)
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“Signature Printed name ‘Date

Note: Notices must be submitted by the 15th day of the month to be published in the next month’s Oregon Bulletin. A Rulemaking
Hearing may be requested in writing by 10 or more people, or by an association with 10 or more members, within 21 days
following notice publication or 28 days from the date notice was sent to people on the agency’s interested party mailing list,
whichever is later. In such cases a Hearing Notice must be published in the Oregon Bulletin at least 14 days before the hearing.



Secretary of State
STATEMENT OF NEED AND FISCAL IMPACT

A Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Hearing or a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking accompanies this form.

Oregon Health Authority (Authority), Division of Medical Assistance Programs (Division) 410
Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number

Aligns Non-Emergent Medical Transportation Vehicle and Subcontractor Standards with New Statute Regarding Inhalants
Rule Caption (Not more than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the agency’s intended action.)

In the Matter of: The amendment of 410-141-3440

Stat. Auth.: ORS 413.042 and 414.625

Other Authority:

Stats. Implemented: ORS 414.625

Need for the Rule(s): In 2015 the legislature passed HB 2546, which expanded the prohibitions against tobacco products to other
inhalants, such as nicotine- and cannabinoid-delivery systems.

Documents Relied Upon, and where they are available:
HB 2546, https://olis.leg.state.or.us/1iz/2015R 1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB2546/Enrolled

Fiscal and Economic Impact:
None.

Statement of Cost of Compliance:

1. Impact on state agencies, units of local government and the public (ORS 183.335(2)(b)(E)): Amending these rules will have
no fiscal impact on the Authority, other state agencies, units of local government, the public, or businesses, including small
businesses.

2. Cost of compliance effect on small business (ORS 183.336):
a. Estimate the number of small businesses and types of business and industries with small businesses subject to the rule:
Taxi and medical transportation drivers.

b. Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative activities required for compliance, including costs of
professional services: None.

c. Equipment, supplies, labor and increased administration required for compliance: None.
How were small businesses involved in the development of this rule? This amendment is the result of an update of the Oregon

Indoor Clean Air Act and is required.

Administrative Rule Advisory Committee consulted?: No. If not, why?: The rule derives from an update of the Oregon Indoor
Clean Air Act and requires expanding the list of prohibited activities.
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Administrative Rules Unit, Archives Division, Secretary of State, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310.



410-141-3440
Vehicle Equipment and Driver Standards

(1) This rule does not apply to ambulance providers, ambulance vehicles, or ambulance
personnel that are licensed and regulated by ORS Chapter 682 and OAR chapter 333,
divisions 250, 255, 260 and 265, whether providing ambulance or stretcher transports.

(2) The CCO shall require all vehicles used for NEMT services to meet the following
requirements for the comfort and safety of the members:

(a) The interior of the vehicle shall be clean and free from any debris impeding a
member’s ability to ride comfortably;

(b) Smoking, aerosolizing or vaporizing of inhalants is prohibited in the vehicle at all
times in accordance with ORS 433.835 to 433.990 and OAR 333-015-0025 to 333-015-
0090; and

(c) The transportation provider shall comply with appropriate local, state, and federal
transportation safety standards regarding passenger safety and comfort. The vehicle
shall include, but is not limited to, the following safety equipment:

(A) Safety belts for all passengers if the vehicle is legally required to provide safety
belts;

(B) First aid kit;

(C) Fire extinguisher,;

(D) Roadside reflective or warning devices;
(E) Flashlight;

(F) Tire traction devices when appropriate;
(G) Disposable gloves; and

(H) All equipment necessary to transport members using wheelchairs or stretchers, if
the member is using a wheelchair or stretcher.

(3) A preventative maintenance schedule shall be followed for each vehicle that
incorporates at least all of the maintenance recommended by the vehicle manufacturer.
The vehicle must be in good operating condition and shall include, but is not limited to,
the following equipment:

(a) Side and rear view mirrors;



(b) Horn; and
(c) Working turn signals, headlights, taillights, and windshield wipers.
(4) Prior to hiring an NEMT driver, the CCO shall require the following:

(a) The driver must have a valid driver license. The license must be the class of license
with any required endorsements that permits the driver to legally operate the vehicle for
which they are hired to drive pursuant to ORS chapter 807 and OAR chapter 735,
division 062, or the applicable statutes of other states; and

(b) The driver must pass a criminal background check in accordance with ORS 181.534
181.537, and OAR chapter 257, division 10. If the driver is employed by a mass transit
district formed under ORS Chapter 267, the driver must pass a criminal background
check in accordance with ORS 267.237 as well as the mass transit district's background
check policies. A CCO shall have an exception process to the criminal background
check requirement that may allow approval of a driver with a criminal background under
certain circumstances. The exception process must include review and consideration of
when the crime occurred, the nature of the offense, and any other circumstances to
ensure that the member is not at risk of harm from the driver. Any approvals made
through the exception process must be documented and maintained for three calendar
years, even if the CCO is no longer a Medicaid enrolled provider before the end of the
three years. The Authority may request this information at any time during the three
year retention period.

(5) Drivers authorized to provide NEMT services must receive training on their job
duties and responsibilities including:

(a) Understanding NEMT services in general, reporting forms, vehicle operation,
requirements for fraud and abuse reporting, and the geographic area in which drivers
will provide service;

(b) Completing the National Safety Council Defensive Driving course or equivalent
within six months of the date of hire and at least every three years thereafter:

(c) Completing Red Cross-approved First Aid, Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation, and
blood spill procedures courses or equivalent within six months of the date of hire and
maintain the certification;

(d) Completing the Passenger Service and Safety course or equivalent course within six
months of the date of hire and at least every three years thereafter; and

(e) Understanding the CCO’s established procedures for responding to a member’s
needs for emergency care should they arise during the ride.



(6) For authorized out-of-state NEMT services in which the transportation provider
solely performs work in the other state and for which the CCO has no oversight
authority, the CCO is not responsible for requiring that the subcontractor’s vehicle and
standards meet the requirements set forth in this rule.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 413.042 & 414.625
Stats. Implemented: ORS 414.625



