
Facts about changes to Medicaid primary care reimbursement (last updated 4/17/2013) 

Primary care reimbursement changes under the ACA  
 

In November, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) announced that practitioners who meet 

their new definition of primary care provider would see an increased Medicaid reimbursement rate for two 

years under section 1202 of the federal Affordable Care Act (ACA).  

This fact sheet describes how the Division of Medical Assistance Programs (DMAP) will implement the fee-

for-service (FFS) rate increase. OHP health plans (MCOs and CCOs) will develop their own processes for 

providers on their panels who do not bill DMAP. We are confirming with CMS whether plans need to follow 

the same attestation and payment timelines as DMAP. 

Oregon’s definition of primary care provider will not change 

Oregon is not changing its definition of Medicaid primary care provider. Instead, Oregon will add the CMS 

definition alongside Oregon’s definition in order to identify primary care providers who qualify for the new 

two-year reimbursement increase.   

 

This is a decision at the federal level. The CMS definition only determines which providers may qualify for the 

two-year reimbursement increase; it does not reduce or change reimbursement for other providers or programs. 

Oregon’s primary care providers who meet CMS’s definition will receive an enhanced rate for two years, those 

who do not will receive their existing primary care rate.   

What providers need to do 

Providers who bill DMAP can now self-attest to meeting the new definition in order to receive the increased 

FFS reimbursement rate for calendar years 2013 and 2014.  

Please attest using the secure attestation form. Only providers who attest using this form will qualify for the 

increased FFS rate. Providers who do not attest will not qualify for the increased FFS rate. 

 

Please Note: Providers who only bill an OHP health plan (MCO or CCO), but not DMAP, must attest with the 

plan. 

We strongly encourage providers and plans to sign up for e-mail updates from DMAP to find out when we are 

ready to process FFS claims at the higher rates for qualified primary care providers. 

What is the rate increase and when is it happening? 

CMS has established the following services as qualifying for the higher rate. However, DMAP will only pay 

the higher rate to providers who qualify under the new definition. In addition, DMAP will only pay the higher 

rate for codes that are currently open for payment.  

 

DMAP plans to update the system with the new FFS rates on or after May 1, 2013 (pending CMS approval).  
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(Enter) DEPARTMENT (ALL CAPS) 
(Enter) Division or Office (Mixed Case) 

 

http://www.healthcare.gov/law/full/section/1202-payments-to-primary-care-physicians.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/healthplan/pages/data_pubs/feeschedule/main.aspx#dmap-rates
https://survey.emp.state.or.us/cgi-bin/qwebcorporate.dll?idx=PBUQJ2
https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/ORDHS/subscriber/topics?qsp=ORDHS_1


 

Qualifying codes New 2-year rate under ACA Section 1202 

CPT E/M codes 99201 through 99499 
The new rates will use Medicare’s 2009 factor of $36.0666 

multiplied by the 2013 Relative Value Unit (RVU) weights. 

 

The rate will also include aggregated Geographic Practice 

Cost Indices  for the three components of work (1.0), practice 

expense (0.969), and malpractice (0.625): 

Adult vaccine administration codes 90460, 

90461, 90471, 90472, 90473 and 90474 or 

their successors.  

 
DMAP plans to apply the rates based on the dates qualified providers submit their attestations. Only services 

rendered on or after Jan. 1, 2013 qualify for the new rates: 

Attestation submitted Increased FFS rate will apply to qualifying services rendered on or after: 

Jan. 1 to Mar. 31, 2013 Jan. 1, 2013 

Apr. 1 to June 30, 2013 Apr. 1, 2013 

July 1 to Sep. 30, 2013 July 1, 2013 

Oct. 1 to Dec. 31, 2013 Oct. 1, 2013 

MCOs and CCOs will develop their own process to determine appropriate primary care payment for their 

provider panels.. 

How will providers qualify as a primary care provider under the new definition? 

To qualify, all physicians must self-attest that they are practicing in Family Medicine, General Internal 

Medicine
1
, or Pediatric Medicine, including specialties and subspecialties within those designations as 

recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS), American Osteopathic Association 

(AOA), or American Board of Physician Specialties (ABPS). 

 

Physicians must also attest that: 

 60 percent of their codes billed in Medicaid claims for the prior year were for the qualifying primary 

care codes (E/M and vaccine administrations, including Vaccines for Children administrations using 

the SL or 26 modifier); OR 

 They are certified in an eligible specialty or subspecialty by ABMS, AOA, or ABPS: 

 ABMS member boards include the American Board of Family Medicine, the American 

Board of Internal Medicine, and the American Board of Pediatrics. Other member boards 

may also qualify if they are related to General Internal Medicine, Family Practice, or 

Pediatric Medicine.  

 For a full list of member boards, visit www.abms.org/about_abms/member_boards.aspx.  

Physician assistants and nurse practitioners must self-attest that they work under the direct supervision of a 

qualifying physician as described above. 

 

DMAP will provide an attestation form for providers who bill DMAP and would like to receive the increased 

FFS rate. Plans will develop their own process for providers on their panels who do not bill DMAP.  

If a physician is Board-certified in another specialty not listed above and meets the 60 
percent requirement, can they qualify for the rate increase? 

Only physicians who practice Family Medicine, General Internal Medicine or Pediatric Medicine or any 

subspecialty within these specialties are eligible for the rate increase.  

                                           
1
 “General internal medicine” encompasses internal medicine and all subspecialties recognized by the ABMS, ABPS and AOA. 

http://public.health.oregon.gov/PREVENTIONWELLNESS/VACCINESIMMUNIZATION/IMMUNIZATIONPROVIDERRESOURCES/VFC/Pages/index.aspx
http://www.abms.org/about_abms/member_boards.aspx
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 If a physician is Board-certified in another specialty (e.g,. surgery), but practices Family Medicine, 

General Internal Medicine or Pediatric Medicine, and meets the 60 percent requirement, he/she is 

eligible for enhanced payment.  

 If the physician is Board-certified in another specialty, but does not practice in one of the qualifying 

specialties, and meets the 60 percent requirement, he/she is not eligible for the enhanced payment. 

What process will be in place for newly enrolled physicians who are not Board-certified and 
who do not have sufficient claims history with Medicaid? 

A new physician who practices Family Medicine, General Internal Medicine or Pediatric Medicine must meet 

the 60 percent requirement during at least one full month of paid claims history with Medicaid. 

Where can I learn more? 

For more information about the new enhanced payment:  

 Section 1202 of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) 

 Federal Register/ Vol 77, No 215 published on November 6, 2012, and the December corrections to the 

Federal Register, establishing revisions required by ACA Section 1202 

 CMS questions and answers 

For more information about Oregon’s definition of Medicaid primary care or other programs 

 Oregon’s definition of Medicaid primary care providers 

 Description of Oregon’s Medicaid fee-for-service payment rates 

 Patient-Centered Primary Care Home Program 

http://www.healthcare.gov/law/full/section/1202-payments-to-primary-care-physicians.pdf
http://www.healthcare.gov/law/full/section/1202-payments-to-primary-care-physicians.pdf
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2012-11-06/pdf/2012-26507.pdf
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2012-12-14/pdf/2012-29640.pdf
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2012-12-14/pdf/2012-29640.pdf
http://www.medicaid.gov/AffordableCareAct/Provisions/Provider-Payments.html
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/healthplan/data_pubs/oregon-pcp.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/healthplan/pages/data_pubs/feeschedule/main.aspx#dmap-rates
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/OHPR/pages/healthreform/pcpch/index.aspx
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