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Section 1202 — Payments to Primary Care Physicians

AFFORDABLE CARE ACT




Reimbursement requirement

Federal Affordable Care Act, Section 1202:

— Medicaid must reimburse certain primary care
practitioners at higher rates for certain evaluation and
management (E/M) and vaccine codes

— Medicaid must increase their administration fee for
Vaccines for Children (VFC) immunizations

— Effective January 1, 2013

— Applies for calendar years 2013 and 2014
* This requirement does not change DMAP’s existing FFS

reimbursement for primary care providers who do not qualify Oregon
for the ACA enhanced rate H C alth
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Fee-for-service rate increase

For providers who qualify for the increase:

— DMAP will use Medicare’s 2009 factor of $36.0666
multiplied by the 2013 Relative Value Unit (RVU) weights
for both

e E/M rates and
 Adult vaccine administration rates

— The rate will also incorporate aggregated Geographic
Pricing Cost Indices (GPCI’s)

— VFC immunization administration fees will be $21.96
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Eligible services

CMS has established the following services for the
Increased rate:

— Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) E/M codes 99201
through 99499 (payable to ACA qualified primary care
providers)

— Adult vaccine administration codes 90460, 90461,
90471,90472, 90473 and 90474, or their successors
(payable to ACA qualified primary care providers)

— VFC administration: product codes billed with SL or 26
modifier (payable to all VFC providers)

Oregon
* DMAP will only pay codes open for payment | Iealth
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PROVIDER ELIGIBILITY AND
ATTESTATION




Eligible providers

Providers potentially eligible for the increased
reimbursement:

— Physicians with a specialty designation of family
medicine, general internal medicine, or pediatric
medicine;

— Specialists and subspecialists within those designations*

— Non-physician practitioners (e.g., physician assistants
and nurse practitioners) working under the direct
supervision of a qualifying physician

* As recognized by American Board of Medical Specialties

(ABMS), American Osteopathic Association (AOA) or Oreszan
American Board of Physician Specialties (ABPS) H C alth
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Qualifying for primary care provider increase

All physicians must self-attest that they are practicing in a
covered specialty or sub-specialty, and that:

— They are Board-certified in an eligible specialty or
subspecialty, or

— 60% of their codes billed in Medicaid claims for the
prior year* were for the primary care codes (E/M and
vaccine administration)

Physician assistants and nurse practitioners must self-
attest that they are under the direct supervision of a
qualifying physician as described above

*Providers who have billed Medicaid less than a year may Oreszan
attest regarding claims for the prior month |—| e alth
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Determining eligible providers- some details

Only physicians who practice family medicine, general
iInternal medicine or pediatric medicine or any subspecialty
within these specialties are eligible; examples:

— |If a physician is Board-certified in a different specialty,
but practices one of the qualifying specialties and
meets the 60% requirement, the provider is eligible

— If the physician is Board-certified in a different specialty,
but does not practice in one of the qualifying specialties
and meets the 60% requirement, the provider is not
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Attestation process

« DMAP has developed an attestation form* for providers
who bill DMAP and would like to receive the increased
fee-for-service rate

— To be eligible for increased payment retroactive to Jan. 1,
providers need to submit their attestation by Mar. 31

* Plans need to develop their own attestation process for
providers on their panels who do not bill DMAP

e For providers who bill both plans and DMAP, we plan to
share attestation information in the weekly provider files
already sent to plans

* https://survey.emp.state.or.us/cqi- T
bin/qwebcorporate.dlI?idx=PBUQJ2 |—| ealth
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PLAN RESPONSIBILITIES




Plan responsibilities

¢ Plans must develop an attestation process for providers

who do not bill DMAP

¢ Plans are required to reimburse their panel providers

according to this rule

¢ Plans will develop their own process to determine

appropriate primary care payment for their provider
panels (DMAP will have compliance oversight)

e We are checking with CMS on whether the rule affects

plan reimbursement of:
— Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs),
— Rural Health Clinics (RHCs) and
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Plan responsibilities (continued)

We have also asked CMS for guidance on how to
comply with this provision in situations where sub-
capitated primary care agreements exist between MCOs
and their network providers

— We do not yet have this guidance

— We will share it as soon as we have it

— Discussions with CMS and other state Medicaid agencies
indicate MCOs will likely develop and propose a methodology
for calculating an actuarially sound capitation rate based on

100% of current Medicare, costs/expenditures, and utilization
data

— If final guidance from CMS is consistent with those discussions,
MCOs would propose their methodology and DMAP would
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State Capitation to Health Plans

CMS clarification:

The ACA requires the state to use the 2009 rate
assumptions as the base in the PMPM calculation to
account for the increase in Primary Care rates to
providers

The state is required to submit our proposed
methodology for prior approval from CMS

15
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Capitation to Health Plans (continued)

January 2009 Rate Assumptions

— Over 100% of the Medicare Physician Fee
Schedule

— 2006 Conversion Factor of $37.90
— 2009 Conversion Factor of $36.06

— 2009 Conversion Factor trended at $39.87
(used in the rates)

ecalth
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Capitation to Health Plans (continued)

Medicare Physician Fee Schedule

— Medicare Conversion Factor has not changed
significantly in the past few years

— Relative Value Units (RVU) for Primary Care
have had significant changes
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Capitation to Health Plans (continued)

Oregon Health Authority Actuarial Services
Proposed Methodology:

— ASU'’s proposed methodology will include the
calculated differences in RVUs

— The methodology will also factor in changes for
the Fee For Service population

— The proposed methodology may also take into
account differences in geographic indices

calth
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Capitation to Health Plans (continued)

¢ The OHA will include an increase in the July
2013 rate adjustment in managed care
contracts

e |t is not clear, based on current CMS guidance,
iIf the rate adjustment will be retroactive to
January 2013

e CMS has not historically allowed retroactive rate
adjustments to managed care plans, but may
make an exception for compliance with this

ACA provision ]—[Oe_alth
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Capitation to Health Plans (continued)

e CMS has contracted Deloitte to serve as the
Technical Assistance contractor to states for
implementation of this Final Rule

e Final rate methodologies from states are due to
CMS in March, as is the State Plan Amendment
and MCO contract amendments

e Final rates are due May 17, 2013

ecalth
Authority

20



Tools to stay informed

RESOURCES




Webinar information

An FAQ based on gquestions and answers from the webinar will be
published on our ACA primary care website:

http://www.oregon.gov/oha/healthplan/pages/tools prov/pcp-
rates.aspx

A recording of the webinar will be posted on the OHA YouTube
channel:

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7mua 4kMbMagalLyOgARba
M-WWn7P-Z27-S

Health
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Sources and links

Provider communications

Dec. 28, 2012 Primary care provider definition and rate change effective January 1, 2013

Jan. 26, 2013 Clarification about how new CMS definition of primary care affects Oregon primary
care providers — This supersedes the Dec. 28 announcement

Plan communication

Jan. 4, 2013 Changes to primary care provider definition and primary care rates effective Jan. 1, 2013

Federal Register/ Vol. 77, No. 215

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pka/FR-2012-11-06/pdf/2012-26507.pdf

Existing FFS reimbursement for primary care providers

http://www.oregon.gov/oha/healthplan/data pubs/feeschedule/2011/primary-care.pdf

Web page on ACA Primary Care Reimbursement

http://www.oregon.gov/oha/healthplan/pages/tools prov/pcp-rates.aspx | ‘OTf‘%lth
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Contacts

General questions:

e Don Ross, DMAP Policy and Planning Manager
(503) 945-6084 Donald.Ross@state.or.us

e Rhonda Busek, Deputy DMAP Administrator
(503) 945-6552 Rhonda.J.Busek@state.or.us

Capitation Rates:
e David Rohrer, Actuarial Services Manager
(503) 945-6923 David.L.Rohrer@state.or.us
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QUESTIONS




