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Section 1202 — Payments to Primary Care Physicians

AFFORDABLE CARE ACT




Reimbursement requirement

Federal Affordable Care Act, Section 1202:

— Medicaid must reimburse certain primary care
practitioners at higher rates for certain evaluation and
management (E/M) and vaccine codes

— Medicaid must increase their administration fee for
Vaccines for Children (VFC) immunizations

— Effective January 1, 2013
— Applies for calendar years 2013 and 2014

* This requirement does not change DMAP’s existing FFS

reimbursement for primary care providers who do not qualify Oregon
for the ACA enhanced rate H e alth
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Fee-for-service rate increase

For providers who qualify for the increase:

— DMAP will use Medicare’s 2009 factor of $36.0666
multiplied by the 2013 Relative Value Unit (RVU) weights
for both

e E/M rates and
e Adult vaccine administration rates

— The rate will also incorporate aggregated Geographic
Pricing Cost Indices (GPCI’s)

— VFC administration fees will be $21.96
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Eligible services

CMS has established the following services for the
Increased rate:

— Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) E/M codes 99201
through 99499 (payable to ACA-qualified primary care
providers)

— Adult vaccine administration codes 90460, 90461,
90471, 90472, 90473 and 90474, or thelr successors
(payable to ACA-qualified primary care providers)

— VFC administration: product codes billed with SL or 26
modifier (payable to all VFC providers)

Oregon
* DMAP will only pay codes open for payment ]_[e—alth
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PROVIDER ELIGIBILITY AND
ATTESTATION




Eligible providers

Providers potentially eligible for the increased
reimbursement:

— Physicians with a specialty designation of family medicine,
general internal medicine, or pediatric medicine;

— Specialists and subspecialists within those designations*

— Non-physician practitioners (e.g., physician assistants and
nurse practitioners) working under the direct supervision of a
gualifying physician

* As recognized by American Board of Medical Specialties

(ABMS), American Osteopathic Association (AOA) or American Oregon
Board of Physician Specialties (ABPS) |—| e alth
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Qualifying for primary care provider increase

« All physicians must self-attest that they are practicing in
a covered specialty or sub-specialty, and that:

— They are Board-certified in an eligible specialty or
subspecialty, or

— 60% of their codes paid by Medicaid for the prior year*
were for the primary care codes (E/M and vaccine
administration)

* Physician assistants and nurse practitioners must self-
attest that they are under the direct supervision of a
gualifying physician as described above

* Providers who have billed Medicaid less than a year may Oregon
attest regarding claims for the prior month |—| ealth
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Determining eligible providers- some details

Only physicians who practice family medicine, general
Internal medicine or pediatric medicine or any subspecialty
within these specialties are eligible. Examples:

— If a physician is Board-certified in a different specialty,
but practices one of the qualifying specialties and meets
the 60% requirement, the provider is eligible

— If the physician is Board-certified in a different specialty,
but does not practice in one of the qualifying specialties
and meets the 60% requirement, the provider is not

eligible
Oregon
Health
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Attestation process

 FFS providers: DMAP has developed an attestation
form* for providers who bill DMAP

— To be eligible for increased payment retroactive to Jan. 1,
providers need to submit their attestation by Mar. 31

« CCO/ MCO providers: Plans will develop their own

attestation process for providers on their panels who do
not bill DMAP

* Providers who bill DMAP and CCO/ MCO(s): use
DMAP’s attestation form; DMAP will share the
Information reported with your Plan(s)

* https://survey.emp.state.or.us/cgi- Oregon
bin/gwebcorporate.dll?idx=PBUQJ2 H ealth
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Click “Next” to

<}: certify and submit esseeiens

your form

Oregon Medicaid Online Self-Attestation Form for Primary Care Providers

you should not self-attest. This form works best in Internet Explorer § or higher.

Are you Board.-certified in a
Your practitioner type: qualifying specialty? [-sic
| Physician | Yes ¥

[Doctor. Daniel D 123456789

Your National Provider Identifier (NPI):

123456789
Do you have more than

one Oregon Medicaid ID?
Your Oregon Medicaid ID:

Oregon
DMISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAMS H e alt | |

Complete and certify this 2-page form to self-attest that you qualify for the increased reimbursement rate allowed under Section 1202 of
the federal Affordable Care Act. If you do not practice in Family Medicine, General Internal Medicine, or Pediatric Medicine,

Complete all fields so we can:
Your name (Last, First Mi): Your Tax Identification Number (9.digit EIN or SSN): * Find your prOVider record in
<:: our system, and
» Correctly update it to show
you are ACA-qualified

[dan doctor@email.com 503-555-5555

Attestation - Answer “Yes" or “No" for the statement(s) listed below. Click the “"Next" button at the top
or bottom of this screen to certify and submit your attestation.

| practice Family Medicine, General Internal Medicine or Pediatrics @ Yes € No

| am certified by an eligible certification Board. (xeie) CYes & No

Select the certifying Board for your specialty. |Amem:an Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) ;]

Enter the effective dates of your Board certification |1/1/2m3. 12/31/2014

How to self-attest with DMAP

Go to the online form at https://survey.emp.state.or.us/cqi-

|123456 [No =

Your Primary Practice Address: City, State, ZIP:

[123 Main Street |Salem, OR 97301

Your e-mail address: Your telephone number (include area code):

Do you qualify? Any "No™ statement below
means you do nof qualify for the increase.

Yes, if you attest to Board-certification in an eligible

specialty or adequate eligible codes paid by Medicaid.

bin/qwebcorporate.dll?idx=PBUQJ2. Complete all fields so appropriate

qguestions appear for your provider type, Board certification and/or time

billing Medicaid. Click “Next” to certify your attestation.

12

Any “No”

listed here
< |I: means you

do not qualify
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How to self-attest with DMAP, continued

The information you enter in the top half of the form determines the statements
you attest to at the bottom of the form

PCP type Additional information | Statement
regtiired®

PA or NP

Physician,
Board-certified
in primary care
specialty

Physician, not
Board-certified
in primary care
specialty

Supervising physician’s
name, NPI and Oregon
Medicaid ID

Certifying Board

Effective dates of
certification

Length of time billing
Medicaid

| am directly supervised by a physician who has self-
attested with DMAP and qualifies for the increased fee-
for-service rate.

| practice Family Medicine, General Internal Medicine or
Pediatrics.

| am certified by an eligible certification board.

| practice Family Medicine, General Internal Medicine or
Pediatrics.

| have rendered eligible services that equal at least 60
percent of codes paid by Medicaid for the previous
[calendar year or month, depending on how long you
have billed Medicaid].”

*All providers are required to submit their name, NPI, Oregon Medicaid 1D, Oregon
additional IDs if any, primary practice address, and contact information e a t
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Click “Review” to make sure

the information you are

<=

rrrrrrrrrn

submitting to us is accurate

DIVISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAMS

Certification - Please certify that each statement below is true and accurate by selecting “Yes" for each
statement. Each statement must be certified for the attestation to be completed.

| authorize the Oregon Health Authority’s Division of Medical Assistance Programs (DMAP) to verify the information
submitted in this attestation form.

| certify that the information in this attestation is to the best of my knowledge true, correct, and complete. If | become

aware that any information in this attestation form is not true, correct or complete, | agree to submit a new attestation to
DMAP immediately.

| certify that | am the individual practitioner who is attesting to eligibility for the increased payment allowed by Section
1202 of the Affordable Care Act.

| understand that any intentional false statement, omission or misrepresentation of a material fact may result in recovery
of funds paid for the affected dates of senvice that were paid as a result of such a false statement, omission or
misrepresentation and may also result in prosecution under state and federal laws.

calth

Do you
cenify'?

Yes v

=

Yes v

[VesHd|

You must
select “Yes”
for each
statement
before you
can submit
your
attestation

Thank you for completing and certifying your self-attestation to DMAP. Before you submit your attestation, please review

your answers and make any corrections you need.

How to self-attest with DMAP, continued

Read each statement on the Certification page, and select “Yes”
for each statement. Click “Review” to review the information entered on
your attestation.

14
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After reviewing/
saving/ printing
your answers, click
“Complete your é Print E Save Summary wp Complete vour attestation
attestation” to Your attestation has not been submitted. Click the "Complete your attestation" link to continue. -

return to the form Your Current Responses for "Primary Care Practitioner Self-Attestation Form"

Page 1 o

Your practitioner type:

{Choose one}

(*) Physician

() Physician Assistant or Certified Nurse Practitioner

Are you Board-certified in a qualifying specialty?
{Choose one}

(*) Yes

() No

Your name (Last, First MI):
{Enter text answer}
[ Doctor, Daniel D ]

Your Tax Identification Number (9-digit EIN or SSN): Scroll down to the

{Enter text answer}

[ 123456789 ] bottom of the page :>

: . . to review all your
Your National Provider Identifier (NPI): -

{Enter text answer} answers
[ 123456789 ]

Your Oregon Medicaid ID:
{Enter text answer}
[ 123456 ]

How to self-attest with DMAP, continued

Review all your answers on this page. You can click “Complete your
attestation,” then use the Back button to make corrections if needed. If -

your answers are correct, you can print your answers or save them as Orecon 1
Jregc t I

an HTML or text file.
-Authc rity
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'_E Click “Finish” to submit the form

rrrrrrrrrn
( ):‘: On
DVISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAMS ‘ a t
Aut hority

Certification - Please certify that each statement below is true and accurate by selecting "Yes" for each Do you
statement. Each statement must be certified for the attestation to be completed. certify?

| authorize the Oregon Health Authority’s Division of Medical Assistance Programs (DMAP) to verify the information ITSLI

submitted in this attestation form.

| certify that the information in this attestation is to the best of my knowledge true, correct, and complete. If | become

aware that any information in this attestation form is not true, correct or complete, | agree to submit a new attestation to IYes 'I
DMAP immediately.

| certify that | am the individual practitioner who is attesting to eligibility for the increased payment allowed by Section m
1202 of the Affordable Care Act.

| understand that any intentional false statement, omission or misrepresentation of a material fact may result in recovery
of funds paid for the affected dates of senvice that were paid as a result of such a false statement, omission or [ 'I
misrepresentation and may also result in prosecution under state and federal laws.

Thank you for completing and certifying your self-attestation to DMAP. Before you submit your attestation, please review
your answers and make any corrections you need.

How to self-attest with DMAP, continued

Click the “Finish” button to submit your attestation. You will be

directed to DMAP’s ACA Primary Care Reimbursement page once you
submit the form.

qu()n 1 th

-Author ity
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PLAN RESPONSIBILITIES




CCO/ MCO responsibilities

Plans are required to:

— Develop an attestation process for providers who do
not bill DMAP

— Reimburse their panel providers according to this rule

— Develop their own process to determine appropriate
primary care payment for their provider panels
(DMAP will have compliance oversight)

Health
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Tools to stay informed

RESOURCES




Webinar information

An FAQ based on gquestions and answers from the webinar will be
published on our ACA primary care website:

http://www.oregon.gov/oha/healthplan/pages/tools prov/pcp-
rates.aspx

A recording of the webinar will be posted on the OHA YouTube
channel:

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7mua 4kMbMaalLyOgARba
M-WWn7P-27-S

Health
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Sources and links

Provider communications
Dec. 28, 2012 Primary care provider definition and rate change effective January 1, 2013

Jan. 26, 2013 Clarification about how new CMS definition of primary care affects Oreqon primary care
providers — This supersedes the Dec. 28 announcement

Federal Register/ Vol. 77, No. 215
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkag/FR-2012-11-06/pdf/2012-26507.pdf

Q&A on Increased Medicaid Payments for PCPs
http://medicaid.gov/State-Resource-Center/Frequently-Asked-Questions/CMCS-Ask-Questions.html

DMAP Attestation form

https://survey.emp.state.or.us/cqi-bin/qwebcorporate.dl?idx=PBUQJ?2

Existing FFS reimbursement for primary care providers
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/healthplan/data pubs/feeschedule/2011/primary-care.pdf

Web page on ACA Primary Care Reimbursement T
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/healthplan/pages/tools prov/pcp-rates.aspx |—| e alth
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Contacts

General guestions:
Provider Services Unit
1-800-336-6016

dmap.providerservices@state.or.us

Training information:
DMAP Provider Training
1-503-945-6549

provider-trng.dmap@state.or.us
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