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Program Overview The Loan Guarantee and the General (Lease) Guarantee Programs provide guarantees to 
lenders to assist in the financing of new housing construction or for the acquisition and/or 
rehabilitation of existing housing for lower income families. Guarantees may be up to 25 
percent of the original principal amount of a loan. To participate, the lender submits an 
application for the loan guarantee for the project that requires the credit enhancement 
necessary to obtain the loan. Preference is given to projects offering long term affordability and 
a resident services program. The annual charge for the guarantee is one percent of the 
guarantee amount. The loan amount is determined through the underwriting process.  
 
Visit the webpage for full program details at:  
http://www.oregon.gov/ohcs/Pages/multifamily-housing-loan-guarantee.aspx  

Eligibility Requirements Eligible lenders include state and federal regulated banks, credit unions, savings and loans, savings 
banks, finance companies, life insurance companies, pension funds, mortgage bankers, public or 
private lending consortiums, etc. Government entities that offer loan funds are also eligible as 
lenders. 
 
All lenders shall be subject to the approval of Oregon Housing and Community Services 
Department (OHCS). OHCS reserves the right to restrict the servicing of loans to lenders who have 
significant experience in the administration of multifamily housing loans and leasing. Servicers are 
expected to have an experienced staff in addition to adequate delinquent loan monitoring, record 
keeping and control systems. 
 
Permanent (term) loans are eligible for the program. Construction loans are eligible if the 
construction loan has a take-out or permanent loan commitment. Loans can originate from any of 
the sources included under eligible lenders and can include proceeds from bond sales provided 
the property is adequately secured. All loans must be recourse and may not be amortized for 
more than 35 years. Purchase or acquisition, rehabilitation and/or new construction loans or 
leases are eligible to receive a Loan or Lease Guarantee. 
 
Eligible properties must be located within the State of Oregon. The site and building must be free 
of hazardous or toxic materials and comply with all applicable state and federal requirements, 
including, but not limited to: Americans with Disabilities Act requirements, Uniform Federal 
Accessibility Standards, and Fair Housing Guidelines. 
 
Eligible borrowing entities include individuals, partnerships, joint ventures, corporations, 
government entities, leasing company and any combination thereof. Additionally, both nonprofit 
and for-profit borrowers are eligible for Loan Guarantee under the program. 

 

Program Requirements OHCS may provide guarantees for the partial repayment of loans made by lenders to finance the 
construction, development, acquisition, rehabilitation and/or for the partial repayment of leases 
made by sponsors or leasing companies to facilitate the equipping, development and operation of 
affordable housing. Low-income household is defined as a person(s) at or below 80 percent of the 
area median income as published annually by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban 
Development (HUD). The program does not require that the entire development be dedicated to 
lower very low-income households, although the amount of the Guarantee will be based 
proportionally on the qualifying low- and very low-income units. 
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Charges  The nonrefundable application charge is $500 and is due at time of application submission to the 
Department. 
 
Annual charge is one percent of the guaranteed amount. 

 For construction loan guarantees the one percent is due at the time of construction loan 
closing. If construction loan closing does not occur within three months of the executed 
date of the Loan Guarantee Commitment, then an extension charge will be due. 

 For permanent loan guarantees, the one percent annual charge is due at the time the 
Loan Guarantee Commitment is executed to hold the reservation of the guarantee 
amount until the permanent loan is funded. 

 The charge is due even if the borrower is in default, or is in arrears in payments. Once set, 
the charge will remain constant over the life of the loan.  

Learn More Visit the webpage for full program details at:  
http://www.oregon.gov/ohcs/Pages/multifamily-housing-loan-guarantee.aspx 
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