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OREGON LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 

 
The Commission proposes to amend the following  

Oregon Administrative Rules: 
 

 845-005-0410 - Full or Limited On-Premises Licensee Large-Scale Private Catered Events 

and Temporary Use of an Annual License for Events at Another Location 

 845-005-0413 - Special Events Distillery License 

 845-005-0414 - Special Events Brewery-Public House License 

 845-005-0415 - Special Event Winery and Special Event Grower Sales Licenses 

 845-005-0440 - Temporary Sales Licenses 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 
 

Date and Time: 10:00 a.m. on Thursday May 21st 2015 

Location: Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
 9079 SE McLoughlin Blvd. 
 Portland, OR 97222 

Presiding Officer:  Bryant Haley 
 Phone: (503) 872-5136 or call toll free at 1 (800) 452-6522 
 Fax:  (503) 872-5110 
 E-mail: bryant.haley@state.or.us  

Auxiliary aids for persons with disabilities are available upon advance request. 

 
CAPTION:  
Amends five rules eliminating the 31 day special license limit to allow more business 
opportunities. 
 
RULE SUMMARY:  

OAR 845-005-0410, 005-0413, 005-0414, 005-0415, and 005-0440 limit the number of 
days a Special License may be obtained. Currently, these rules limit a person from 
obtaining a special event license to sell alcohol at the same address to only 31 license 
days in a calendar year.  Eliminating the 31 days limit will allow more business 
opportunities. 

There are three primary measures already in place that give the Commission the ability 
to control these licenses: (1) The applicant must still obtain the local government’s (city 
or county) approval of each application. (2) The Commission won’t approve the 
application until there is a control plan approved by the Commission. (3) There is a limit 
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on the number of licensed days per application (the limit is 5 days or 7 days, depending 
on the type of application).  This limit allows the Commission to monitor an event, and if 
necessary, require an enhanced control plan for future events. 

 
HOW TO OBTAIN THE PROPOSED RULE LANGUAGE:  
A copy of the proposed rule language, dated April 8, 2015, is attached to this Notice. 
Alternatively, you may obtain a copy of the proposed rule language by calling the 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission at either of the phone numbers listed above. For 
your convenience, the proposed rule language is also available on our website at 
http://www.oregon.gov/OLCC/pages/index.aspx. Go to the “Laws and Rules” tab on the 
left side of the screen, and then follow the link to the “Proposed Rulemaking” section of 
our website. You will find all of the relevant rulemaking documents, including the 
proposed rule language, under the “Special Licenses Package” section of this webpage. 
 
HOW TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: 
During the hearing, you may present oral or written testimony that includes opinions, 
information, concerns or proposals related to this rulemaking matter. The Commission 
also requests comments on whether other options exist and/or should be considered for 
achieving the rule’s substantive goals while reducing the negative economic impact of 
the proposed rule on business.   
 
After the hearing, you may submit written comments in person, by mail, by fax or by  
e-mail (see above for relevant contact information). However, all written comments 
must be received by 5:00 p.m. on Friday June 5th 2015. 
 
The Commission reserves the right to request and receive additional comments at any 
time on or before the date the Commission takes final action on this rulemaking matter. 
 
STATEMENT OF NEED AND FISCAL IMPACT: 
 
In the Matter of:  
 
The proposed amendments to: 
845-005-0410 - Full or Limited On-Premises Licensee Large-Scale Private Catered Events and 

Temporary Use of an Annual License for Events at Another Location 
845-005-0413 - Special Events Distillery License 
845-005-0414 - Special Events Brewery-Public House License 
845-005-0415 - Special Event Winery and Special Event Grower Sales Licenses 
845-005-0440 - Temporary Sales Licenses 
 
Statutory Authority: ORS 471, 471.030, 471.040, 471.190, 471.730(1) & (5) 

 
Other Authority: None. 
 
Statutes Implemented: ORS 471.184(2), 471.190, 471.200, 471.223, 471.227, 471.230, 
471.360, 471.482 
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Need for the Rule:  

OAR 845-005-0410, 005-0413, 005-0414, 005-0415, and 005-0440 limit the number of 
days a Special License may be obtained. Currently, these rules limit a person from 
obtaining a special event license to sell alcohol at the same address to only 31 license 
days in a calendar year.  Eliminating the 31 days limit will allow more business 
opportunities. 

Documents Relied Upon and Where They Are Available:  
 
Fiscal Impact Statement written with Advisory Committee and rule file is available at 
OLCC Headquarters 9079 Se Mcloughlin Blvd. Portland, Oregon 97222.  
 
Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement:  
This statement takes into account the fiscal impact on: (a) Liquor Licensees; (b) Local 
Government; (c) State Agencies; and (d) the Public. 
 
(a) Liquor Licensees.  
 
The Commission anticipates a positive fiscal impact on liquor licensees from the 
proposed amendments because the proposed amendments expand Temporary Sales 
License privileges.  
 
(b) Local Government.  
 
The Commission anticipates no new fiscal impact on local government from the 
proposed amendments. 
 
(c) State Agencies.  
 
The Commission anticipates no new fiscal impact on outside state agencies from the 
proposed amendments. 
 
(d) The Public.  
 
The Commission anticipates a positive fiscal impact on the public from the proposed 
amendments to the extent that an expansion in Special Licenses privileges provides the 
public with increased access to desired goods and services without compromising 
public health and safety interests.  
 
Statement of Cost of Compliance:  
1. Impact on state agencies, units of local government and the public (ORS 
183.335(2)(b)(E)):  
 
The Commission anticipates no new costs to comply with the proposed amendments for 
outside state agencies, units of local government or members of the public. 
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2. Cost of compliance effect on small business (ORS 183.336): 
 
a. Estimate the number of small businesses and types of business and industries with 
small businesses subject to the rule: 
 
The Commission assumes that the majority of its licensees are small businesses. 
However, the Commission does not categorize its licensees, or applicants for a liquor 
license, according to the size of their underlying business operations. Consequently, the 
Commission is unable to accurately estimate the number of small businesses that might 
hold, or be seeking, a Special License. However, the Commission anticipates no new 
costs of compliance to comply with the proposed amendments for businesses of any 
size because the proposed amendments do not impose any new compliance costs on 
the holder of a Special Sales License.  
 
b. Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative activities required for 
compliance, including costs of professional services: 
 
(See above.) 
 
c. Equipment, supplies, labor and increased administration required for compliance:  
 
(See above.) 
 
How were small businesses involved in the development of this rule? 
On March 24th, 2015, the OLCC held an Advisory Committee on this rules package. 
Several businesses spoke about how this would allow for more business opportunities. 
Further, small businesses as well as interested licensees, industry representatives, law 
enforcement agencies, public safety organizations, members of the public, and other 
interested parties will have an opportunity to comment on the proposed amendments at 
the public hearing that will be held in May of 2015.   
 
Was an administrative rule advisory committee consulted? 
Yes. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
(This Notice was sent on April 9th, 2015) 


