
 
Page 1 of 7 – Final Order 

BEFORE THE LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF OREGON 

 
IN THE MATTER OF: 
 
 
GURMAIL SINGH 
SURINDER KAUR 
DBA GPS MARKET 
 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

FINAL FINDINGS OF FACT 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
AND ORDER 
OLCC-10-V-042 
OLCC-10-V-042A 

 
HISTORY OF THE CASE 

 
On July 15, 2010, the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) issued a Violation 

Notice to Gurmail Singh and Surinder Kaur (Licensees), doing business as GPS Market, located 
at 1655 Queen Avenue SW, Albany, Oregon.  The notice alleged that Licensees’ employee 
Diana Thomas knowingly sold or otherwise made alcoholic liquor available to a visibly 
intoxicated person in violation of ORS 471.410(1).  The notice proposed a penalty of a 10-day 
suspension or a civil penalty of $1,650 for the alleged violation.  Licensees filed a timely hearing 
request. 
  

OLCC referred the case to the Office of Administrative Hearings on August 13, 2010.  A 
contested case hearing was held in Salem, Oregon, on October 27, 2010, before Administrative 
Law Judge James W. Han.  Attorney Michael Mills represented Licensees.  Anna Davis 
presented the case for OLCC.  The following witnesses testified for OLCC: Albany Police 
Officers Roy Wright and Alex Johnson and OLCC Inspector Christine Gittins.  Diana Thomas 
testified for Licensees.  The record closed at the conclusion of the hearing on October 27, 2010. 

 
The Administrative Law Judge considered the record of the hearing and the applicable 

law and issued a Proposed Order mailed December 6, 2010. 
 

Licensees filed Exceptions to the Proposed Order on December 21, 2010. 
 

On February 18, 2011, the Commission considered the record of the hearing, the 
applicable law, the Proposed Order of the Administrative Law Judge, Licensees’ Exceptions to 
the Proposed Order and the Administrative Law Judge=s Response to Licensees’ Exceptions.  
Based on this review and the preponderance of the evidence, the Commission enters the 
following: 
 

ISSUES 
 

1. Whether Diana Thomas knowingly sold or made alcoholic liquor available to a 
visibly intoxicated person.  ORS 471.410(1).   
  

2. If the violation is proved, what is the appropriate penalty? 
   
 /  /  /  /  / 
/  /  /  /  /  
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EVIDENTIARY RULING 
 

Exhibits A1 through A7 were admitted in evidence at the hearing without objection. 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

1. Gurmail Singh and Surinder Kaur are licensees doing business as GPS Market in 
Albany, Oregon.  Gurmail Singh has been licensed since September 2003; Surinder Kaur has 
been licensed since September 2006.  (Ex. A1 and A2.)  They have no record of license 
violations.  (Ex. A1.) 
 

2. At about 9 p.m. on June 22, 2010, John Conser entered GPS Market, went to the 
beer cooler at the rear of the store, and brought a 24 ounce can of beer to the check-out counter 
where Licensees’ employee Diana Thomas was working.  (Test. of Thomas.)  Conser had been 
drinking and was intoxicated.  His clothes were dirty, he had urinated and defecated in his pants, 
his eyes were bloodshot and glassy, and he gave off a strong odor of alcoholic liquor.  (Test. of 
Wright and Johnson.) 
 

3. Conser placed coins on the counter to pay for the beer.  He glared and stared at 
Thomas, making her uneasy.  Thomas counted the coins and put the can in a paper bag.  Conser 
took the bag, walked to the door, then turned around and returned to the counter where he told 
Thomas about a robbery of a store in Portland.  (Test. of Thomas; Ex. A7.)  Conser then left the 
store but stood nearby drinking the beer.  (Test. of Thomas.) 
 

4. Thomas then locked the market’s entrance door to prevent Conser from re-
entering the market.  She called the Albany police at 9:06 p.m. to report that an intoxicated 
person had refused to leave the premises and was harassing customers.  Thomas unlocked the 
door when another customer appeared.  (Test. of Thomas and Ex. A4 at 1.) 
 

5. Officer Johnson arrived at 9:12 p.m. (Test. of Johnson.)  On seeing the police 
arrive, Conser opened the market’s door and asked Thomas whether she had called the police.  
Thomas told Conser not to bring his cigarette into the store.  (Test. of Thomas.)  Johnson saw 
Conser walk unsteadily out of the market.  Johnson knew Conser from previous interactions.  
Johnson saw that Conser had defecated and urinated in his pants, had bloodshot and watery eyes, 
and “reeked of alcohol.”  Conser slurred his speech and Johnson could understand only half of 
what Conser said.  Johnson helped Conser to sit on the curb so Conser would not fall over.  
(Test. of Johnson.) 
 

6. Officer Wright arrived at 9:25 p.m.  He saw Conser had a “stuporous look.”  
Wright smelled a strong odor of alcoholic liquor and an overwhelming odor of urine and feces 
coming from Conser.  Wright ordered Conser to leave the market’s premises.  Conser made 
several attempts to stand up from the curb before he succeeded and staggered to a dumpster, 
where he picked up and drank from a can in a paper bag.  (Test. of Wright.) 
 

7. While Officer Johnson remained with Conser outside the market, Officer Wright 
entered the market and talked to Thomas.  Thomas admitted to Wright that she sold Conser a can 
of beer and that Conser “was like that” when he bought the beer.  Thomas asked whether Wright  
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intended to arrest her and she said, “I’m sorry, I was scared.”  Wright issued a citation to Thomas 
for furnishing alcohol to a visibly intoxicated person in violation of ORS 471.410.  (Test. of 
Wright.) 
 

8. At 10:16 p.m., Officer Wright dictated a report of the incident.  (Ex. A4.)  At 
10:51 p.m., Wright, responding to a dispatch call, saw Conser lying on the pavement in a fetal 
position next to the wheels of a parked car a block away from the market.  Vomit was next to 
Conser and an empty can of beer that looked like the can Conser had bought at the market earlier 
that night.  (Test. of Wright and Ex. A5.) 
 

9. On June 29, 2010, OLCC Inspector Gittins interviewed Thomas about the 
incident.  Thomas admitted that before she sold the beer to Conser she knew Conser was 
intoxicated, that she could smell the odor of an alcohol beverage coming from him, and that she 
saw he had urinated on himself.  Thomas told Gittins that she sold the beer because she was 
scared of Conser and wanted him to leave.  (Test. of Gittins.)  Gittins signed her report of the 
interview on July 10, 2010.  (Ex. A3 at 4.) 

 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 
1. Diana Thomas knowingly sold or made alcoholic liquor available to a visibly 

intoxicated person, in violation of ORS 471.410(1).   
  

2. The appropriate penalty for the violation is a 10-day license suspension or a civil 
penalty of $1,650. 
 

OPINION 
 
Violation 

 
The Oregon Liquor Control Act provides that “[n]o person shall sell, give or otherwise 

make available any alcoholic liquor to any person who is visibly intoxicated.”  ORS 471.410(1).  
OLCC has the power and the duty to enforce the Act, including regulating the licensing of 
persons to sell alcoholic liquors.  ORS 471.730.  Under that authority, OLCC may cancel or 
suspend any liquor license and may impose a civil penalty if it finds or has reasonable ground to 
believe the licensee: 
 

Knowingly has sold alcoholic liquor to persons under 21 years of age or to 
persons visibly intoxicated at the time of sale or has knowingly allowed the 
consumption of alcoholic liquor on the licensed premises by a person who is 
visibly intoxicated at the time of consumption.   

 
ORS 471.315(1)(a)(G).  Although a licensee may not have personally committed the violation, 
the licensee may be held responsible for the acts or omissions of its agents or employees in 
violation of any law or regulation affecting the license.  OAR 845-006-0362.1 

 
1 OAR 845-006-0362 provides:  “Each licensee may be held responsible for * * * any act or omission of 
his servant, agent, employee, or representative in violation of any law, municipal ordinance, 
administrative rule, or regulation affecting his license privileges.” 
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To establish a violation of ORS 471.410(1), OLCC must show: (1) a sale or service of or 

making available alcoholic liquor; (2) by an on-duty licensee, permittee, or agent or 
representative of a licensee; (3) to a person who showed visible signs of intoxication before the 
sale or service.  The Wild Rose (OLCC, Final Order, 97-V-057, August 1998); Mark Edward 
Hess (OLCC, Final Order, 85-V-057, February 1986).  In addition, the licensee, permittee, or the 
licensee’s agent or representative must have known the person was visibly intoxicated; and the 
person must have actually been intoxicated.  Manila Express (OLCC, Final Order, 91-V-055, 
March 1992). 
  

OLCC has concluded that a visibly intoxicated person is one whose physical and mental 
control is diminished by alcohol or drugs to a point where such diminished control can be seen or 
observed.  Portland Civic Stadium (OLCC, Final Order, 85-V-032, January 1986).  Signs of 
visible intoxication include, but are not limited to, slurred speech, a heavy odor of alcohol, 
difficulty in handling money or lighting cigarettes, swaying or unsteadiness, watery or glassy 
eyes, disruptive or loud behaviors, argumentativeness, and spilling drinks.   Jody’s Restaurant & 
Lounge (OLCC, Final Order, 97-V-015, August 1997). 

 
To prove a sale or service was made “knowingly,” OLCC must show that before the sale 

or service of alcohol the patron showed signs of visible intoxication, the licensee or permittee 
had the opportunity to observe the signs, and the licensee or permittee either actually observed 
the signs or knew of a circumstance from which knowledge of visible intoxication may be 
inferred (a knowing “flag factor”).  Cheers to You  (OLCC, Final Order, 00-V-070, October 
2001).  The knowing “flag factors” include, but are not limited to, the following: 

 
 Actual interaction with the patron while the patron was showing signs of visible 

intoxication; 
 Knowledge of the patron, including drinking patterns and alcohol tolerance from prior 

occasions; 
 The number of drinks served during an identifiable time frame; 
 Notifying the patron at the time of service that he or she is cut-off or has reached his 

or her maximum; 
 Contemporaneous statements by the server about the patron’s condition; 
 Admissions or stipulations by the server or patron that the patron was visibly 

intoxicated or should not have been served; or 
 One or more signs of intoxication so open and notorious that it or they could not be 

reasonably missed. 
 
Cheers to You (OLCC, Final Order, 00-V-070, October 2001).   
 

There was no dispute that Licensees’ agent, Thomas, sold alcoholic liquor to Conser 
when Thomas was on-duty.  Licensees asserted that before the sale Conser did not show visible 
signs of intoxication and Thomas did not know Conser was visibly intoxicated.  At the hearing, 
Thomas denied admitting to Officer Wright and Inspector Gittins that she knew Conser was 
visibly intoxicated.  Licensees’ counsel argued that the market’s video recording of the 
transaction was the most compelling evidence that Conser did not show signs of intoxication that 
were visible to Thomas. 
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The video recording was not helpful in determining whether Conser displayed signs of 
intoxication.  The video showed only the entrance door and counter area; Conser entered the 
market and immediately walked out of the camera’s view as he went to the rear of the store.  The 
single camera lens pointed downward from above Conser’s head and showed only his profile at 
the counter.  The video’s resolution was poor and showed only two frames a second so that 
movements were jerky.   
 

The most probative evidence was Officer Wright’s and Officer Johnson’s descriptions of 
Conser’s condition when they met him at the market; Thomas’s own action in calling the police 
minutes after the sale; Wright’s report of his interview with Thomas less than a half hour after 
the sale; and Inspector Gittins’s testimony regarding Thomas’s admissions on June 27, 2010, five 
days after the sale.  

 
Officer Wright contacted Conser less than 15 minutes after the sale and Johnson arrived 

less than 15 minutes later.  They immediately saw signs of Conser’s intoxication: Conser slurred 
his speech, had a heavy odor of alcohol, swayed and staggered on his feet, and had watery and 
glassy eyes.  These signs were very likely also evident to Thomas when she sold him the liquor.   

 
Minutes after Conser left the store, Thomas called the police and reported that Conser 

was intoxicated.  Before she called the police, Thomas’s only contact with Conser had been 
during the sale.  Thus, it was more probable than not that Thomas made the sale knowing Conser 
was intoxicated. 

 
Officer Wright reported that Thomas admitted she sold Conser a can of beer and that 

Conser “was like that” when he bought the beer.  Although the phrase was somewhat ambiguous, 
more likely than not Thomas was referring to Conser’s visibly intoxicated appearance.  Thomas 
also asked Wright whether he would arrest her and apologized for selling alcohol to Conser, 
thereby indicating she knew her sale had violated the law.  Thomas also admitted to Gittins that 
she knew Conser was intoxicated before she sold the beer and that she made the sale in the hope 
of getting Conser to leave the store.   
 

Officer Wright’s and Inspector Gittins’s reports were more reliable than Thomas’s 
testimony at the hearing, during which she denied making the admissions to Wright and Gittins.  
Wright interviewed Thomas shortly after he arrived and dictated his report less than an hour after 
he issued his citation to Thomas.  Gittins interviewed Thomas five days after the incident and 
signed her written report of the interview less than two weeks later.  There was no evidence that 
Wright or Gittins presented false testimony nor did the Licensees suggest any reason to doubt the 
accuracy of their reports.  In Dirty Bar & Grill (OLCC Final Order 09-V-101, April 2010) and 
Wolf Den (OLCC Final Order, 89-V-021, July 1989), OLCC found that a licensee’s admission to 
inspectors made immediately after the incident was more credible than the licensee’s testimony 
at the hearing several months later because the licensee had not had time to fabricate a story, the 
inspectors had no reason to lie about the licensee’s admission, and the inspectors’ report 
documenting the licensee’s statements was completed just days after the incident.  The same 
reasons apply in determining the reliability of the evidence in this case.   
 

Licensees argued that Thomas’s fear of Conser could have “masked” the visible signs of 
intoxication and that even if Thomas knew Conser was intoxicated it was not reasonable, given 
Thomas’s fear, to require Thomas to call the police before the sale.  Thomas testified that she 
was scared because of Conser’s glaring at her and his mentioning a store robbery.  The argument 
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and testimony were not persuasive.  Contrary to Thomas’s testimony, the video of the sale 
showed nothing menacing or belligerent in Conser’s conduct at the counter.  And Thomas had 
already concluded the sale and Conser started to leave the store when he returned to talk to 
Thomas. 

 
Licensees asserted that Thomas “made a good faith effort under OAR 845-006-0345 to 

not allow the sale to a ‘VIP.’”  The “good faith effort” defense provided in OAR 845-006-
0345(9) and ORS 471.412(2) may apply where a licensee is being charged with allowing a 
visibly intoxicated person to drink alcoholic beverages.  It does not apply to an off-premises sale 
such as occurred here. 
 

Licensees also asserted that Thomas was “protected by the choice of evils defense found 
in ORS 161.200.”  That defense applies to conduct “necessary as an emergency measure to avoid 
an imminent public or private injury.”2  As just discussed, there was no evidence that Thomas 
faced a threat of imminent injury. 
 

Licensees also asserted the defense that its “employee did not allow an intoxicated person 
to consume or drink alcoholic beverages on the licensed premises.”  The defense is inapplicable 
because OLCC has not charged or alleged that Licensees committed such a violation. 
 
Penalty 
 

OAR 845-006-0500(7)(a) sets forth categories of license violations.  Under that rule, a 
sale to a visibly intoxicated person in violation of ORS 471.315(1)(a)(G) and 471.410(1) is a 
Category III violation, “[v]iolations that create a potential threat to public health or safety.”  
Exhibit 1 of the rule lists guidelines for the applicable sanctions within each category.  If OLCC 
finds aggravating or mitigating circumstances, it may assess a greater or lesser sanction.  OAR 
845-006-0500(7)(c). 
 

OLCC’s violation notice proposed to impose a civil penalty of $1,650 or a 10-day 
suspension for the violation in this case, which is the standard penalty for the first Category III 
violation within two years.  Licensees argued that a lesser sanction should be imposed because 
Thomas “called the police immediately after the sale, thus mitigating any possible damages.”  
The argument was not persuasive because the evidence did not establish mitigating 
circumstances.   
 
 

 
2 ORS 161.200 provides: 

(1) Unless inconsistent with other provisions of chapter 743, Oregon Laws 1971, defining 
justifiable use of physical force, or with some other provision of law, conduct which would otherwise 
constitute an offense is justifiable and not criminal when: 

(a) That conduct is necessary as an emergency measure to avoid an imminent public or private 
injury; and 

(b) The threatened injury is of such gravity that, according to ordinary standards of intelligence 
and morality, the desirability and urgency of avoiding the injury clearly outweigh the desirability of 
avoiding the injury sought to be prevented by the statute defining the offense in issue. 

(2) The necessity and justifiability of conduct under subsection (1) of this section shall not rest 
upon considerations pertaining only to the morality and advisability of the statute, either in its general 
application or with respect to its application to a particular class of cases arising thereunder. 
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OLCC has held that a licensee’s actions after the sale and the patron’s departure from the 
store may be considered in assessing a penalty.  See Brother’s Market & Deli (OLCC Final 
Order, 00-V-044, February 2000).3  In that case, the licensee asked for the minor’s identification, 
looked at it but failed to notice that it showed the minor to be under 21 years old, and sold a 
bottle of wine to the minor.  After the minor left the store, the licensee realized the minor’s age, 
ran out of the store, took the bottle out of the minor’s hands, asked to see her identification again, 
told the minor she could not buy the wine, and gave back the minor’s money.  OLCC concluded 
that the licensee’s “immediate and responsible actions” after the sale justified a lesser sanction. 

 
Here, Thomas sold the liquor to Conser knowing he was intoxicated and to get him out of 

the store.  She then called the police—not because she sold the beer to him but because Conser 
stood outside the store drinking the beer and harassing customers.  Thomas’s sale likely 
contributed to the fact that later that evening he vomited and lay sleeping or unconscious on the 
pavement next to a parked car.  Thomas’s sale directly increased the “potential threat to public 
health or safety” that the law against selling liquor to visibly intoxicated persons was intended to 
prevent.  These facts did not support a mitigation of the penalty.  Thus, the standard penalty is 
appropriate.   
 

FINAL ORDER 
 
 The liquor license of Gurmail Singh and Surinder Kaur will be suspended for 10 days or 
they shall pay a civil penalty of $1,650.   
 

If you choose to pay the fine, it must be paid within ten (10) days of the date of this 
Order; otherwise, the suspension must be served. 
 

It is further ordered that notice of this action, including the reasons for it, be given. 
 

Dated this 24th  day of February, 2011. 
 
 
 

/s/ Stephen A. Pharo 
Stephen A. Pharo 
Executive Director 
OREGON LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 

 
Mailed this 24th  day of February, 2011. 
 
THIS ORDER IS EFFECTIVE ON THE DATE MAILED.  Any monetary fine or civil penalty 
set out in the order shall be due and payable 10 days after the date of mailing. 
 
NOTICE: You are entitled to judicial review of this Order.  Judicial review may be obtained 

by filing a petition for judicial review within 60 days from the service of this Order. 
Judicial review is pursuant to the provisions of ORS Chapter 183. 

                                                           
 
3 The order in Brother’s Market & Deli also concluded that the licensee’s actions did not “undo” the 
violation and should not be considered in determining whether a violation occurred.   


