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OREGON LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 

CERTIFICATE OF APPROVAL (CERA) 
APPLICATION & AGREEMENT 

 
 
Your CERA will not be issued until we receive the following: 
 
 This completed and signed application. 
 $175 fee (enclose check made payable to OLCC). 
 
 
Applicant Name ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Trade Name  ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Business Address ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
City/State/Zip Code ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Mailing Address ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
City/State/Zip Code ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Email   ___________________________________ Fax ____________________________ 
 
Contact Person ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Contact Phone  ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
1.  If a corporation or limited liability company (LLC), name of President or Managing Member _______________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
The applicant or authorized corporate office or member of a partnership or limited liability company must 
sign this application. 
 
Placing your signature below confirms that you have read the Information Memo and Supplier and 
Retailer Guidelines and that the Applicant you represent agrees to comply with all the laws of the State of 
Oregon pertaining to the sale of malt beverages, cider or wine and all rules and regulations of the Oregon 
Liquor Control Commission.  
 
Print Name ________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Signature __________________________________________________   Date _________________________ 
 
RETURN to: 
 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
PO Box 22297, Milwaukie, Or 97269-2297 
Phone: 503-872-5123 Fax: 503-872-5018 
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CERTIFICATE OF APPROVAL (CERA) 
 

INFORMATION MEMO 
 
An Oregon wholesaler of wine, cider, or malt beverage may import the wine, cider, or malt beverage into Oregon only if 
one or both of the following applies: 
 
1. If the wine, cider, or malt beverage is being sent to the Oregon wholesaler from a person in the United States but from 

a state other than Oregon, the person sending the alcohol must have a valid CERA; or 
 
2. If the wine, cider, or malt beverage is being sent to the Oregon wholesaler directly from a person outside of the United 

States, the Oregon wholesaler must have a valid CERA. 
 
NOTE: A CERA is not needed for distilled liquor. 
 

WHAT ARE THE TYPES OF ALCOHOL IN OREGON? 
 
 “Cider” means an alcoholic beverage made from the fermentation of the juice of apples or pears and that 

contains not more than seven percent of alcohol by volume.  “Cider” may include flavored, sparkling, or 
carbonated cider; but “cider” does not include wine. 

 
 “Distilled liquor” means any alcoholic beverage that does not qualify as a wine, cider, or malt beverage.  

Other common names for “distilled liquor” are distilled spirits, hard liquor, and hard alcohol. 
 
 “Malt beverage” means an alcoholic beverage obtained by the fermentation of grain; and that contains not 

more than 14 percent alcohol by volume.  Other common names for “malt beverage” are beer, ale, porter, 
and stout.  “Malt beverage” does not include cider or an alcoholic beverage obtained primarily by 
fermentation of rice, such as sake. 

 
 “Wine” means any fermented liquor or fruit juice (but not cider; see the definition of “cider”) that is not a 

malt beverage and that contains not more than 21 percent alcohol by volume.  Wine may contain distilled 
liquor and still be considered “wine” as long as the final alcohol content of the wine is not more than 21 
percent alcohol by volume. 

 
WILL MY CERA EXPIRE? 

 
A CERA is valid for a period beginning on the date of issuance and ending on December 31st of the fifth calendar year.  
The fee is $175.00.  No OLCC bond is required.  Renewal notices will be mailed in October of the year your certificate of 
approval expires.  It is important that you notify the OLCC of any address change. 
 

DO MY EMPLOYEES OR AGENTS NEED AN OLCC LICENSE OR PERMIT? 
 
Your employees or agents who solicit wholesale orders for wine, cider, or malt beverage in Oregon are not 
required to have a license, provided they do not conduct tastings or pour or serve alcoholic beverages on a 
licensed premises.  However, your employees or agents who do conduct tastings or otherwise serve alcohol for 
consumption at any licensed business in Oregon must have a valid Oregon Service Permit. 
 

WHAT ARE THE RECORD KEEPING AND REPORTING REQUIREMENTS? 
 
You must submit a monthly report to the OLCC of all wine, cider, and malt beverage sales to wholesalers in Oregon.  The 
OLCC will send you the reporting forms within 30 days of issuance of your CERA.  Any questions regarding reporting 
requirements need to be directed to Lisa Paullin-Anzaldua at 503-872-5168. 
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WHAT IS A TERRITORIAL AGREEMENT? 
 
Oregon law prohibits an Oregon wholesaler from selling any brand of malt beverage (but only malt beverage) in 
Oregon unless there is an agreement between the Oregon wholesaler and either the manufacturer of the malt 
beverage or CERA holder authorizing sale by the Oregon wholesaler of the brand within a designated territory.  
This agreement is called a territorial agreement.  It must designate a wholesaler, territory, and each brand 
covered by the agreement.  Agreements must be signed by both parties or their authorized agents and a copy 
provided to the OLCC.  Any questions regarding a territorial agreement need to be directed to Kelly Routt at 503-
872-5007. 
 

WHAT ARE LABEL REQUIREMENTS IN OREGON? 
 
All labels must comply with Oregon law and have federal Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) 
approval.  Oregon law does not require you to obtain prior OLCC approval, unless the label is a private label.  
Private labels contain an Oregon retailer’s trade name, trademark, or other words or symbols identifiable with a 
retailer.  If you have questions about Oregon label requirements, please contact Kelly Routt at 503-872-5007. 
 
Wines: Generally, wine labels that receive TTB approval are legal for sale in Oregon.  If a wine has Oregon as an 
appellation of origin, it must also comply with the wine labeling requirements under Oregon rules. 
 
Malt Beverages: Generally, malt beverage labels that receive TTB approval are legal for sale in Oregon.  
However, if a malt beverage contains more than 6% alcohol by volume, the alcohol content must be stated 
conspicuously on the container in terms of volume and the product may not be labeled as “beer.” This required 
labeling may be on a sticker applied by the Oregon wholesaler. 
 
Bottle Bill Compliance: An Oregon refund statement of not less than 5 cents must be clearly indicated on the 
container of all malt beverages.  The refund statement can be in the form of a sticker and may be applied by the 
Oregon wholesaler.  Oregon law prohibits pull tabs or rings.  Any plastic rings connecting beverage containers 
must be biodegradable.  If you have questions about Oregon’s bottle bill you may contact Becky Voelkel at  
503-872-5132. 
 

SUPPLIER / RETAILER RELATIONSHIPS 
 
Oregon has guidelines and rules about promotions, advertising and financial relationships between 
manufacturers/importers/wholesalers and retailers.  Please read the following: 
 
Supplier and Retailer Guidelines 
 
If you need more information or have questions, please call Kelly Routt at 503-872-5007. 
 
 

http://www.oregon.gov/olcc/docs/publications/supplierretailerguidelines.pdf



