
 

LAW ORIENTATION FOR RETAILERS 
 

 
SELF TEST 

 

Instructions:  Using the LAW ORIENTATION FOR RETAILERS booklet, answer all 38 
questions.  Fill out your information at the top of the test, and sign your name and 
date the test at the end. 
 
Name of applicant/manager        Date     
 
Business name          
 
Business address          City, Zip    
          
Your license year is the 12 month period from           to     
 
 

ALCOHOL AND PREGNANCY WARNING SIGN 
 
1. I must post one warning sign about the danger of alcohol consumption for pregnant 

women at my business.  There are two acceptable locations: 
 
   a. on the counter or at the point of sale 
   b. outside or inside 
   c. at the entrance or at the point of sale 
   d. at the point of sale or the alcohol cooler  
 
 

WHAT YOUR LICENSE ALLOWS 
 

2. In Oregon, I may legally sell alcohol between the hours of: 
 
   a. 7am to 2:00am 
   b. 7am to 2:30am 
   c. 8am to 5:00pm 
   d. none of the above 
 
 
3. During business hours, licensees must have someone available who can 

communicate effectively with customers and OLCC employees.  “Communicate 
effectively” means: 

 
   a. knowing how to sell/serve alcohol lawfully 
   b. explaining laws to customers 
   c. communication with OLCC staff  
   d. understanding and speaking English 
   e. all of the above 
 
 

OFF-PREMISES SALES LICENSE 



Law Orientation Off-Premises Sales License – Self Test 
Page 2 of 8 
 
4. I am applying for an Off-Premises Sales License.  This license allows sale of only 

beer (malt beverages) wine, and cider.  My employees who sell alcohol must be at 
least     years old. 

 
   a. 16 
   b. 18 
   c. 21 
   d. 26 
 
 
5. I may not permit the drinking of alcohol on my licensed premises, except: 
 
   a. on special occasions 
   b. when the business is closed 
   c. for tastings 
   d. all of the above 
 
 
6. OLCC requires clerks to read the brochure What Every Store Clerk Needs to Know 

About Selling Alcohol.  I will verify my clerks have read and signed the brochure by: 
 
   a. keeping the brochure on file as long as the clerk works for me 
   b. being with them when they read it 
   c. watching them sign it 
   d. both a and b 
 
 

RENEWING YOUR LICENSE 
 
7. What happens if I don’t renew my license by the time it expires? 
  
   a. your license will be canceled 
   b. you must stop selling and serving alcohol 
   c. you will receive a fine 
   d. all of the above 
 
 
8. Who from the licensed premises must sign the renewal application before I send it 

and my check to OLCC? 
 

a. all individuals listed as licensees on the renewal form or any 
member of my licensed entity (corporation, limited liability company) 

   b. all of my employees 
   c. my spouse  
   d.  the server education designee 
   e. all of the above 
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CHECKING ID 
 
9. A person must be    years old to purchase alcohol. 
 
   a. 18 
   b. 21 
   c. 26 
   d. 16 
 
 
10. I must check the ID of anyone who looks to be under    years old. 
 
   a. 30 
   b. 24 
   c. 26 
   d. none of the above 
 
 
11. OLCC and police agencies may use people (minor decoys) under 21 years old to 

attempt to purchase alcohol from your business.  It is very important to check 
identification of young appearing customers who want to buy alcohol.  Oregon law 
says there are only 4 kinds of acceptable ID to prove someone’s age.  They are:  

 
 a. valid driver license        d. valid VISA           f. valid passport   

b. valid birth certificate      e. valid U.S. military ID     g. valid state-issued DMV ID 
c. valid consular card  
 
 

12. How do I tell if the ID is valid?  Circle five: 
 
 a. check expiration date   e. ask the person questions 

b. have person sign name    f. have them show you their check book 
 c. compare person to information on ID g. look & feel for signs of altered ID 
 d. examine ID in good light 
 
 
13. If a driver’s license has expired, is it a valid piece of ID that I may accept? 
 
   a. yes 
   b. no 
 
 
14.   What should I do if I believe the ID is false? 
 
   a. try to keep the ID for OLCC or DMV 
   b. sell them alcohol 
   c. refuse to sell them alcohol 
   d. both a and c 
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THE LAW, YOU, AND VISIBLY INTOXICATED PERSONS 
 
15. “Visibly intoxicated” means a person is showing signs of using alcohol or other drugs.  

Circle five signs of visible intoxication: 
 
 a. slurred speech  d. loud speech  g. sense of humor 
 b. bloodshot eyes  e. tired    h. swaying, staggering 
 c. happy    f. fumbles with money  i. messy clothing   
  
 

MONITORING CUSTOMERS  
INSIDE AND OUTSIDE YOUR BUSINESS 

 
16. It is a violation to sell alcohol to a customer showing signs of visible intoxication.  

What other types of problems do I need to be aware of and avoid while operating my 
Off-Premises business?  Circle six: 

 
 a. patrons drinking on the street        f. noise/disturbances from patrons outside 
 b. motorcycles         g. alcohol containers or litter on street 
 c. alcohol or litter in neighbors’ yard   h. nearby pets 
 d. drug dealing or drug use outside      i. adults purchasing alcohol for minors 
 e. parking 
 
 

PROHIBITED CONDUCT 
 
17. Who is responsible for any disturbance or criminal activity my employees allow? 
 
   a. my employees 
   b. me (the licensee) 
   c. a only  
   d. both a and b  
 
 
18. If I have an Off-Premises Sales License, is it legal for customers to drink alcohol on 

my property, outside of the store? 
 
   a. yes 
   b. no 
 
 
19. Is it legal to allow a patron to leave my business with an open container of alcohol? 
 
   a. yes 
   b. no  
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20. Is it legal for my employees to drink alcohol while on break or lunch? 
  
   a. yes 
   b. no 
 
 
21. May I sell alcohol through a drive-up window? 
 
   a. yes 
   b. no 
 
 
22. Is it legal for me to give alcohol as a prize? 
 
   a. yes 
   b. no 
 
 
23. Do I have to let OLCC employees or police officers in to inspect my business? 
 

a. yes 
b. no 
 
 

24. Am I responsible for my employees’ activities when I’m not at the business? 
 
   a. yes 
   b. no    
 
 

OWNERSHIP OF YOUR BUSINESS 
 
25. What must I do before allowing anyone to purchase all or part of my business, 

purchase stock in my corporation or become a member of my limited liability 
company? 

 
   a. notify OLCC of any change in owners, stockholders or 
    members  

b. get approval from OLCC 
   c. notify the Secretary of State Corporation Division 
   d. all of the above 
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26. If I own the business in my own name and want to form a corporation, what must I 

do? 
 
   a. notify OLCC 
   b. file a change of ownership application with OLCC 
   c. notify the Secretary of State Corporation Division 
   d. get approval from OLCC 
   e. all of the above 
 
 

CHANGES IN OPERATION 
 
27. If I change the trade name of my business, am I required to notify OLCC? 
 
   a. yes 
   b. no 
 
 

CLOSING YOUR BUSINESS 
 
28. I must notify the OLCC in writing when my premises will be closed for more than  
  .    
 
   a. 24 hours 
   b. 10 days 
   c. 14 days 
   d. 6 months 
 
 

ADVERTISING 
 
29. Is it legal for me to advertise alcohol by posting flyers or leaflets on public property? 
 
   a. yes 
   b. no 
 

FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE 
 
30. Can a Wholesaler or Manufacturer (W/M) give me gifts that are valued at more than 

$30 for the calendar year? 
 
   a. yes 
   b. no 
 
 
 
 
 



Law Orientation Off-Premises Sales License – Self Test 
Page 7 of 8 
 
31. It is a violation to pay a W/M with a NSF (Non Sufficient Funds, bounced, or bad) 

check? 
 
   a. yes 
   b. no 
 
 
32. Do I need OLCC approval before returning (not exchanging) alcohol products to a 

W/M? 
 
   a. yes 
   b. no 
 
 
33. If I hold a tasting, when can the Manufacturer be involved? 
 

a. When I (the retailer) provide the alcohol 
b. When the Manufacturer provides an employee to assist  

in the tasting 
c. When I pay for any advertising of the tasting 
d.  If the Manufacturer has not had more than 8 tastings at my 

premises in a year 
e. All of the above 

 
 

HEARINGS 
 
34. If OLCC refuses my license request, or if I get a ticket for violating a liquor law, do I 

have a chance to contest the refusal or ticket in a hearing? 
  
   a. yes 
   b. no 
 
 

VIOLATION & PENALTY SCHEDULE 
 
35. If I or my employees violate liquor laws, I understand that I may get a penalty.  The 

maximum civil penalty OLCC charges per violation is    .  In an extreme case, 
the license may be cancelled. 

 
   a. $3500 
   b. $1500 
   c. $4950 
   d. $ 500 
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RESPONSIBLE VENDOR PROGRAM 
 
36. Qualifying licensees may participate in the Responsible Vendor Program and be 

eligible for reduced penalties. 
 
   a. true 
   b. false 
 
 

THE BOTTLE BILL 
 
37. The types of containers included in Oregon’s Bottle bill are – circle three: 
 
 a. wine bottles    d. water/flavored water   
 b. beer/malt beverages  e. carbonated beverages 
 c. fruit/vegetable juices    
    
 
38. You must accept cans and bottles with a little water, original liquid or dust in them. 
 
   a. true 

b. false 
 
 
 
 
I certify that I have personally reviewed the OLCC Law Orientation materials and that I have 
personally answered all 38 questions. 
 
 
              
Signature        Date     
 

Revised 11/2010 


