News Release

,\' Oregon Liguor Control Commission
9079 SE McLoughlin Blvd., Portland, OR 97222-7355
1-800-452-6522

For more information: Christie Scott, Public Affairs Specialist, (503) 872-5002
Carl Lewis, Regional Enforcement Manager, (503) 872-5191
www.oregon.gov/olcc

For immediate release: Thursday, August 27, 2009

Fifty eight percent of businesses in Portland pass OLCC minor sales check

Portland, OR — Seven out of 12 businesses in Portland passed a check for alcohol sales to minors Aug. 20.
The sales check was performed by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission and Portland Police Bureau.

The 58 percent compliance rate was significantly below the 2008 statewide average of 78 percent.

“Underage drinking is an issue that needs to be taken seriously,” said Carl Lewis, Regional Enforcement
Manager. “Teenage binge-drinking can cause long-term damage leading to adult alcohol dependency and
depression.”

The commission performs the minor sales checks in an effort to reduce drinking by minors, which is a
serious problem throughout the state. The OLCC tests about 1,800 licensed liquor businesses each year.
Licensees or their employees can be held liable for alcohol-related damages and injuries if they serve or sell
alcohol to a minor.

Businesses that passed:

Justin Market, 3734 NE 42™ Ave. The Nest, 1801 NE Alberta

Toro Bravo, 120A N. Russell St. Union Market, 3837 NE MLK Blvd

Marina Market, 1811 SW River Dr. LV’s Sport Bar Restaurant & Lounge, 3530 N.
Red Flag, 344 NE 28" Vancouver

Business that failed:

MLK Liquor Store, 3532 NE MLK Jr. Bivd Alberta St. Market, 909 NE Alberta

The Original Halibuts, 2525 NE Alberta Hiroshi’s Anzen, 736 NE MLK Jr. Blvd.

Russell St. BBQ, 325 NE Russell

Under Oregon law, businesses in cities with a population of 20,000 or more have an equal chance of being
randomly selected for a minor decoy compliance check. A business can also be selected for a compliance
check if there is a documented complaint of sales to minors. Businesses in cities with a population under
20,000 and unincorporated areas in counties are not subject to these selection requirements.

The OLCC offers a free training course on how to check ID’s. Participants learn how to identify false
identification and the laws regarding minors and alcohol. Additional training opportunities are available
including classes for store clerks and service permit holders. Interested persons can call the local OLCC
office to schedule a training session.

During the sales checks, a minor volunteer attempts to purchase alcohol from a licensed business to see if
staff are checking ID’s correctly and refusing to sell alcohol to anyone under 21. Commission inspectors or
other law enforcement officers supervise the minor volunteers. The volunteers carry their own legal ID that
identifies them as under 21 and do not disguise their age or lie to encourage the sale of alcohol.
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