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OLCC Commissioners issue sanctions, approve liquor licenses, adopt rules and appoint 
retail liquor agents 

 
 
PORTLAND, Ore. – At their monthly meeting June 17, 18, the commissioners of the Oregon 
Liquor Control Commission ratified the following sanctions based on stipulated settlements: 

Los Dos Amigos Hacienda, 3103 Main Street, Sweet Home; will pay a civil penalty of 
$2,145 or serve a 13-day suspension for permitting employees to mix, sell, or serve 
alcohol or supervise those who do without a valid service permit.  Licensee will install age 
verification equipment and will use the equipment to verify the age of every person who 
buys alcohol who appears to be under 26 years old as a result of failing to verify the age 
of a minor before allowing him to be served alcohol when he reasonably appeared under 
26 years old.  Licensee is Dos Hermanos, Inc.; Rafael Mora and Olga Mora, corporate 
principals. 

Harrison Bar & Grill, 550 Harrison Blvd. NW, Corvallis; has paid a fine of $5,280 for two 
violations.  The first violation is for permitting two minors to buy or be served alcoholic 
beverages.  The second is for permitting two minors to be on the licensed premises that 
is prohibited to minors.  Licensee is Yeung’s Investment, Inc.; Tatman “Jason” Yeung, 
corporate principal. 

 
For an employee(s) failing to verify the age of a minor before allowing him/her to buy or be served 
an alcoholic beverage when he/she reasonably appeared to be under 26: 

 

Rumors, 250 NW 6th Street, Redmond; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a nine-day 
suspension.  Licensee is Brosis, Inc.; Shawn Wallace, corporate principal. 

Walery’s Premium Pizza, 1555 Edgewater NW, Salem; will pay a $1,485 civil penalty or 
serve a nine-day suspension.  Licensee is S-W Pizza, Inc.; David Walery, James Campbell 
and JoAnn Campbell, corporate principals. 

Kendall Market, 8635 SE 82nd Street, Happy Valley; will pay a civil penalty of $330 or 
serve a two-day suspension.  Licensee will also install age verification equipment to verify 
the age of every patron who reasonably appears to be under 26 years old.  All alcohol 
sales will be run through the registers at which age verification equipment is installed. 

Roth’s IGA Foodliner, 4746 Portland Rd. NE, Salem; has paid a fine of $1,485.  Licensee 
will also be removed from the Responsible Vendor Program.  Licensee is Roth IGA 
Foodliner, Inc.; Michael Roth, Melinda Roth and Orville Roth, corporate principals. 

Thai Beer Restaurant, 101 Wallace Road NW, Salem; has paid a $1,815 civil penalty.  
Licensee is Parichat Dhevaphalin. 

R Mart, 2646 W Harvard, Roseburg; will pay a fine of $3,795 or serve a 23-day suspension.  
Licensee is Paramjit Kaur. 



 

For permitting an employee(s) to sell, mix, or serve alcohol or supervise those who do without a 
service permit: 

Cypress, 820 Main Street #D, Oregon City; will pay a $2,145 civil penalty or serve a 13-
day suspension.  Licensee is Cypress Management Group, LLC; Shawn Carey, Hythum 
Ismail, Khaled Houdroge and Jon Ottman, members. 

Raphael’s Restaurant & Catering, 233 SE 4th Street, Pendleton; will pay a fine of $1,815 
or serve an 11-day suspension.  Licensee is Raphael’s Restaurant & Catering, Inc.; 
Raphael Hoffman and Robert Hoffman, corporate principals. 

DJ Bar & Grill, 3393 River Road North, Keizer; has paid a $1,485 civil penalty.  Licensee is 
DJ Bar & Grill Corporation, Phong Hoang and Nhung Vo, corporate principals. 

 

The OLCC commissioners voted in favor of granting the following liquor licenses: 

US Market #210, 1245 Columbia St. NE, Salem was granted an Off-Premises liquor 
license from a vote of 4-1. Licensee is Rajinder S. Johal. 

Walgreen’s #06140, 1620 NE Grand, Portland was granted an Off-Premises liquor license 
with restrictions from a vote of 5-0.  Licensee is Walgreen Co. 

Ocean City, 3016 SE 82nd Ave., Portland; was granted an F-Com (Full-Commercial On-
Premises) liquor license with restrictions from a vote of 4-1.  Licensee Ocean City Seafood 
Restaurant, Inc. 

 

The OLCC commissioners voted to adopt the following new rules: 

Approved Seller Training Programs (OAR 845-009-0150) – This new rule provides 
information on Commission-approved training programs that can be used by alcohol sellers 
to receive a reduced criminal penalty when they sell to a minor.  The 2009 legislature 
passed House Bill (HB) 3343, effective January 1, 2010, giving sellers this new option.  HB 
3343 creates a new provision for employees of a liquor licensee or retail sales agent who 
sell, serve, give or otherwise make alcohol available to a minor.  These employees may 
receive a reduced criminal penalty (a violation for the first two convictions) if they either 
hold a valid service permit or have a completed a Commission-approved training session. 

Advertising (OAR 845-013-0040) – This rule describes the types of advertising that 
manufacturers or wholesalers are allowed to provide to retailers under the limited 
exceptions in the financial assistance statutes.  The revisions to the rule allow wineries, 
breweries, and other suppliers of wine and malt beverages to make available to their 
customers a listing of all the retailers who carry their products. By making these lists 
available, a consumer who is looking for a retail store where they can purchase a specific 
Oregon winery’s products, for example, would then be able to get that information directly 
from the winery. 

Certificate of Approval for Distilled Spirits (OAR 845-006-0380) – The 2009 legislature 
passed Senate Bill (SB) 135 which created new statutory provisions and amended ORS 
471.404 effective January 1, 2010.  These changes created a new certificate of approval 
for distilled spirits (plus grain & ethyl alcohol) which authorizes their import into Oregon for 
sale in the state.  The new rule clarifies that a certificate of approval will be automatically 
issued by the OLCC to all manufacturers, importers and vendors who import distilled spirits 
(or grain & ethyl alcohol) into Oregon with no application process or fee.  The rule also 
establishes financial assistance violations as grounds for suspension or revocation of the 
certificate of approval. 

 



 

The commissioners of the OLCC appointed the following liquor store agents:  

 Medford, North, Store #1131; Robert Wallace 

 Redmond, North, Store #1246; Catherin Daw 

Retail liquor agents are independent contractors; they are not state employees.  The Retail 
Services Division of the OLCC works closely with liquor agents to help them understand and 
follow liquor regulations and store operating procedures. 

 

The commissioners appointed the following retail distillery agent:  

 Stone Barn Brandyworks, Portland; Sebastian Degens   

Distillery retail agents have the ability to allow sales of their own distilled spirits products at the 
location of their distillery. 
 
 
 
The five citizen commissioners are the policy-making body of the OLCC.  They meet monthly for one or two days to make 
decisions on liquor licenses, rules, contested case hearings and appointments of liquor store agents.  Commission 
meetings are held every other month at OLCC's main office, 9079 SE McLoughlin Blvd., Room 103A in Portland.  
Subsequent months, the meetings are held via phone.  Agenda items can be obtained on-line at 
http://www.oregon.gov/OLCC/public_meetings.shtml  
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