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OLCC efforts keep minors out of bars 
 
PORTLAND, Ore. – The Oregon Liquor Control Commission has issued 116 criminal citations 
statewide to minors using fraudulent identification to try to buy alcohol since January 1, 2012.  
More than 60 of the citations were in Downtown Portland. 
  
OLCC asks parents to be aware of the dangers of underage drinking and be informed that kids 
are gaining access to fake id’s or using older friends ID’s to get into clubs or buy alcohol at the 
store.  
 
According to a recent national report by Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration (SAMHSA), more than 11,000 adolescents aged 12 to 17 use alcohol for the first 
time on an average day in June and July. 
 
Earlier this summer, OLCC inspectors apprehended a 17-year-old girl trying to enter a bar by 
using someone else’s ID.  Previously, there was a report of an alleged sexual assault at this 
establishment.  The Liquor Enforcement Inspectors cited the juvenile for Using Another’s License 
(Class A Misdemeanor) and Attempting to Enter a Prohibited Area (Criminal Violation).  The 
juvenile was released to her parents. 
 
“Preventing minors from getting alcohol is one of the OLCC’s main priorities,” says Rudy Williams, 
OLCC Enforcement Director.  “With more free time on their hands, teens are engaging in riskier 
behavior during summer months.  That’s why it’s so important for us, the police, and businesses 
to work together to identify fake IDs and make certain that we keep alcohol out of the hands of 
minors.” 
 
OLCC Liquor Enforcement Inspectors investigate hundreds of cases involving the use of 
fraudulent identification each year. 
 
A minor is any person under the age of 21 and a juvenile is any person under the age of 18.  
 
If you have information of underage drinking or minors using fraudulent identification, please 
report the information to OLCC.  You can call 503-872-5253 or fill out our online complaint form.  
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Did you know that in the last two years, the OLCC distributed more than $370 million to Oregon's General Fund, 
Cities, Counties, and Drug and Alcohol Abuse Programs? See the distribution of dollars on OLCC's Website. 

http://cms.oregon.gov/OLCC/Pages/allocation_of_liquor_revenue.aspx#Details_for_Cities___Counties
cms.oregon.gov/olcc/Pages/reg_program_overview.aspx#Make_a_complaint
http://www.samhsa.gov/data/2k12/NSDUH080/SR080InitiationSubstanceUse2012.pdf
http://www.samhsa.gov/data/2k12/NSDUH080/SR080InitiationSubstanceUse2012.pdf

