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OLCC Commissioners approve test of beer & wine sales in liquor stores 
and approve a bottle redemption center in Bend 

 

Portland, OR - At their monthly meeting September 12, the Commissioners of the Oregon Liquor Control 
Commission deemed the test to allow four liquor stores to sell beer and wine as non-exclusive stores as 
successful.  As a result, the Commissioners acknowledged that they would be willing to consider 
applications from other liquor store owners who are interested in the same business model.  The rule 
change that took effect March 2012 not only allowed for some liquor store owners to apply to sell beer and 
wine, but also allows for corporations, such as grocery stores, to apply for a liquor store contract to sell 
distilled spirits. 
 
“Oregonians pride ourselves on our pioneering spirit,” says Chair Rob Patridge.  “This is the first step of 
many in improving the shopping experience for our customers.” 
 
The Commissioners adopted the following temporary administrative rule change:  

OAR 845-005-0440 Temporary Sales Licenses – This temporary amendment to the rule allows the 
holders of a Temporary Sales license to sell wine, malt beverages, and cider in securely covered 
containers provided by the consumer (also known as growlers), in quantities of not more than two 
gallons each.  The temporary amendment brings the rule into compliance with the passage of Senate 
Bill 795.  OLCC staff will begin rulemaking to permanently amend the temporary sales licenses rule. 
 

The Commissioners approved the following Beverage Container Redemption Center: 
 BottleDrop Redemption Center, 755 NE 2nd Street, Bend; Oregon Beverage Recycling Cooperative 

(OBRC) 
 
The Commissioners ratified the following sanctions based on stipulated settlement: 

Spofford Station Foothills Vineyards, 85131 Elliot Road, Milton-Freewater; will pay a fine of $825 or 
serve a five-day liquor license suspension for failing to submit an annual tax statement within the 
timeframe allowed.  Licensee is JLC Winery, LLC; Lynne Chamberlain, member. 
 
Darcelle XV, 208 NW 3rd Ave., Portland; will serve a 21-day liquor license suspension for permitting 
unlawful activity when employees provided security services as private security professionals without 
being certified to do so. Licensee is Darcelle XV, LLC; Walter Cole, member. 
 
Downtown Market Co., LLC; 231 E. Main Street, Medford; will serve a 30-day liquor license 
suspension for failing to maintain liquor liability insurance or a bond with a corporate surety in the 
amount of not less than $300,000.  Licensee is Downtown Market Co, LLC; Nora La Brocca and Brian 
Witter, members. 
 
Mangosteen Bistro, 2130 NE Griffin Oaks Street #200, Hillsboro; will serve a 30-day liquor license 
suspension for failing to maintain liquor liability insurance or a bond with a corporate surety in the 
amount of not less than $300,000.  Licensee is Mangosteen Bistro, LLC, Tai Dang, Hue Le, Thien Le, 
members. 
 



I Love Sushi, 3655 SW Hall Blvd., Beaverton; will pay a fine of $5,280 or serve a 32-day liquor license 
suspension for two violations of permitting an employee to mix, sell, or serve alcoholic beverages, or 
supervise those who do, without a valid service permit.  Licensee is I Love Sushi, Inc.; Jung Lee and 
Jonathan Yun, corporate principals. 
 
Vault Martini, 226 NW 12th, Portland; will pay a fine of $2,640 or serve a 16-day liquor license 
suspension for two violations.  The first violation is for permitting disorderly activity on the licensed 
premises when they failed to take steps to prevent or stop an altercation that started inside the 
premises.  The second violation is for permitting an employee to mix, sell, or serve alcoholic 
beverages, or supervise those who do, without a valid service permit.  Licensee is Vault Martini, Inc.; 
Casey Hopkin and Carlos Cronquist, corporate principals. 
 
Round Table Pizza #491, 16444 SW Boones Ferry Road, Lake Oswego; will pay a fine of $2,640 or 
serve a 16-day liquor license suspension for two violations.  The first violation is for failing to verify the 
age of a minor before allowing him to buy or be served an alcoholic beverage when he reasonably 
appeared under 26 years old.  The second violation is for permitting an employee to mix, sell, or serve 
alcoholic beverages, or supervise those who do, without a valid service permit.  Licensee is Round 
Table Development Company; Robert McCourt, James Robertson, William Foley, Thomas Guilford, 
Renae Scott, Ted Storey, Donald Davis, Eric Bjerkholt, James Fletcher, Robert Fox, Henry Klyce, Jr., 
Peter Mattson, Peter Sealey, Round Table Pizza, Inc.; corporate principals.  
 

 
The Commissioners ratified the following stipulated settlements for failing to verify the age of a minor before 
allowing him or her to buy or be served an alcoholic beverage when he or she reasonably appeared to be 
under 26 years of age: 

 
Drunken German, 115 SE Church Street, Mt. Angel; will pay a fine of $330 or serve a two day liquor 
license suspension and will install age verification equipment and will use the equipment to verify the 
age of every customer who reasonably appears to be under 26 years old.  Licensee is Drunken 
German, Inc.; David Borchers, corporate principal. 
 
Hubbard Market, 3574 Pacific Hwy 99E, Hubbard; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a nine-day liquor 
license suspension.  Licensee is Robert Kim. 
 
River Lodge & Grill, #6 Marine Drive NE, Boardman; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a nine-day 
liquor license suspension.  Licensee will also be removed from the Responsible Vendor Program. 
Licensee is NorPac Management, LLC, North Pacific Management, Inc., member; and TG Hotel, LLC, 
Howard Talbitzer and Mary Talbitzer, members.  
 
 

The Commissioners ratified the following stipulated settlement for permitting an employee(s) to mix, sell, or 
serve alcohol or supervise those who do without a service permit: 

Thunderegg Coffee Co, 125 Main St., Nyssa; has paid a fine of $1,485.  Licensee is Chris J. Haun. 
 
Cinebarre, 501 Marion Street NE, Salem; will pay a fine of $4,455 or serve a 27-day liquor license 
suspension.  Licensee is Cinebarre, LLC; Terrell Braly and Regal Entertainment Group, members. 
 
 

The five citizen commissioners are the policy-making body of the OLCC.  They meet monthly for one or two days to make decisions on liquor 
licenses, rules, contested case hearings and appointments of liquor store agents.  Commission meetings are held every other month at OLCC's 
main office, 9079 SE McLoughlin Blvd., Room 103A in Portland.  Subsequent months, the meetings are held via phone.  Agenda items can be 
obtained on-line at http://www.oregon.gov/OLCC/public_meetings.shtml  
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