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73% of businesses checked in Tualatin pass OLCC check for alcohol sales
to minors

PORTLAND, OR — Eight out of 11 businesses visited in Tualatin passed a check for
alcohol sales to minors by refusing to sell alcohol to a minor volunteer. The sales
checks were performed February 22, 2014 by the Tualatin Police Department and
Oregon Liquor Control Commission.

The sales check resulted in a compliance rate of 73 percent which is below the 2013
statewide average of 84 percent.

The commission performs the minor sales checks in an effort to reduce drinking by
minors, which is a serious problem throughout the state. The OLCC tests licensed liquor
businesses throughout the year. Licensees or their employees could be held liable for
alcohol-related damages and injuries if they serve or sell alcohol to a minor.

“Taking at least ten seconds to get a really good look at the ID presented can make a big
difference,” says Shannon Hoffeditz, Portland Regional Manager. “OLCC minor decoys
use their real Oregon ID - but many teens around the state try to use a fake, or someone
else’s driver license. Getting in the habit of really looking can prevent an alcohol sale to
a minor.”

The OLCC offers a free training course on how to check ID’s. Participants learn how to
identify false identification and the laws regarding minors and alcohol. Additional training
opportunities are available including classes for store clerks and service permit holders.
Interested persons can call the local OLCC office to schedule a training session.
(Samples of OR Driver Licenses for minor and adult
http://www.flickr.com/photos/oregonliquorcontrolcommission/sets/72157624623539267/)

During the sales checks, a minor volunteer attempts to purchase alcohol from a licensed
business to see if staff are checking ID’s correctly and refusing to sell alcohol to anyone
under 21. Commission inspectors or other law enforcement officers supervise the minor
volunteers. The volunteers carry their own legal ID that identifies them as under 21 and
do not disguise their age or lie to encourage the sale of alcohol. The Oregon Driver
license for a minor carries a red border around the picture with the words “Minor Until”
followed by the date of his/her 21* birthday.

Under Oregon law, businesses in cities with a population of 20,000 or more have an
equal chance of being randomly selected for a minor decoy compliance check. A



business can also be selected for a compliance check if there is a documented

complaint of sales to minors. Businesses in cities with a population under 20,000 and

unincorporated areas in counties are not subject to these selection requirements.

Minor Decoy Operation
February 22, 2014
Tualatin
11 premises visited: 8 No Sales, 3 Sales — Compliance rate of 73%

NO SALES

CHIPOTLE MEXICAN GRILL
7003 SW NYBERG #1015
TUALATIN

FRED MEYER #393
19200 SW MARTINAZZI
TUALATIN

EB SMOKEY’S
8503 SW WARM SPRINGS RD
TUALATIN

BUFFALO WILD WINGS GRILL & BAR
8505 SW TUALATIN SHERWOOD RD
TUALATIN

NO SALES

PLAID PANTRY #160

19405 SW BOONES FERRY RD
TUALATIN

LEE’S KITCHEN
8147 SW NYBERG RD
TUALATIN

76 OF TUALATIN
20599 SW 115™ AVE
TUALATIN

APPLEBEE’S NEIGHBORHOOD GRILL & BAR
8559 SW TUALATIN SHERWOOD RD
TUALATIN

SALES
BUSHWHACKERS
8200 SW TONKA
TUALATIN

7-ELEVEN STORE #2362-23726B
6630 SW NYBERG RD
TUALATIN

SALES

TUALATIN CHEVRON

9770 SW TUALATIN SHERWOOD RD
TUALATIN

“Promoting Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service”

Did you know that in the last two years, the OLCC distributed more than $397 million to Oregon's General

Fund, Cities, Counties, and Drug and Alcohol Abuse Programs?
See the distribution of dollars on OLCC's Website.
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http://www.oregon.gov/OLCC/pages/allocation_of_liquor_revenue.aspx

