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100% of businesses checked in Gresham and NE Portland pass OLCC 

check for alcohol sales to minors  
 
 
 
PORTLAND, OR – All 16 businesses visited in Gresham and Northeast Portland passed 
a check for alcohol sales to minors by refusing to sell alcohol to a minor volunteer.  The 
sales checks were performed April 18, 2014 by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission.  
 
The sales check resulted in a compliance rate of 100 percent which is well above the 
2013 statewide average of 84 percent.    
 
“Congratulations to all of these businesses for being responsible and taking the time to 
check ID,” says OLCC Portland Regional Manager, Shannon Hoffeditz. “These are the 
results we hope to see every time our inspectors conduct a minor sales check. 
Responsible businesses make good neighborhood partners.”   
 
The commission performs the minor sales checks in an effort to reduce drinking by 
minors, which is a serious problem throughout the state.  The OLCC tests licensed liquor 
businesses throughout the year.  Licensees or their employees could be held liable for 
alcohol-related damages and injuries if they serve or sell alcohol to a minor. 
 
The OLCC offers a free training course on how to check ID’s.  Participants learn how to 
identify false identification and the laws regarding minors and alcohol.  Additional training 
opportunities are available including classes for store clerks and service permit holders.  
Interested persons can call the local OLCC office to schedule a training session.  
(Samples of OR Driver Licenses for minor and adult 
http://www.flickr.com/photos/oregonliquorcontrolcommission/sets/72157624623539267/) 
 
During the sales checks, a minor volunteer attempts to purchase alcohol from a licensed 
business to see if staff are checking ID’s correctly and refusing to sell alcohol to anyone 
under 21.  Commission inspectors or other law enforcement officers supervise the minor 
volunteers.  The volunteers carry their own legal ID that identifies them as under 21 and 
do not disguise their age or lie to encourage the sale of alcohol.   The Oregon Driver 
license for a minor carries a red border around the picture with the words “Minor Until” 
followed by the date of his/her 21st birthday. 
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Under Oregon law, businesses in cities with a population of 20,000 or more have an 
equal chance of being randomly selected for a minor decoy compliance check.  A 
business can also be selected for a compliance check if there is a documented 
complaint of sales to minors.  Businesses in cities with a population under 20,000 and 
unincorporated areas in counties are not subject to these selection requirements.   

 
 

Minor Decoy Operation 
April 18, 2014 

Gresham, Portland 
16 premises visited: 16 No Sales, 0 Sales – Compliance rate of 100% 

NO SALES 
SIDEKICKS 
953 NE HOGAN DR 
GRESHAM 
 
BOCCELLI’S RISTORANTE 
246 N MAIN ST 
GRESHAM 
 
LA TIENDA DE GUADALUPE 
847 E POWELL BLVD 
GRESHAM 
 
WALL STREET PIZZA 
201 N MAIN 
GRESHAM 
 
STANDING ROOM ONLY 
400 NW MILLER AVE 
GRESHAM 
 
SAFEWAY STORE #1070 
1001 SW HIGHLAND DR 
GRESHAM 
 
7-ELEVEN STORE #2363-16619D 
1430 NE 181ST 
PORTLAND 
 
GIUSEPPE’S ITALIAN RESTAURANT 
17937 SE STARK ST 
PORTLAND 
 
CHANCE’S ARCO 
18030 E BURNSIDE 
PORTLAND 
 
PLAID PANTRY #113 
13521 SE POWELL BLVD 
PORTLAND 

NO SALES 
CHANG’S MONGOLIAN GRILL 
2502 E POWELL BLVD 
GRESHAM 
 
DOTTY’S #38 
2420 SE BURNSIDE 
GRESHAM 
 
DOWNTIME DELI 
40 NE 2ND ST 
GRESHAM 
 
EL PUEBLITO MARKET 
68 NE DIVISION 
GRESHAM 
 
HEIDI’S OF GRESHAM 
1230 NE CLEVELAND AVE 
GRESHAM 
 
ROLL YOUR OWN MART #2 
13737 SE POWELL BVLD 
PORTLAND 
 

 “Promoting Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service” 
 

Did you know that in the last two years, the OLCC distributed more than $397 million to Oregon's General 
Fund, Cities, Counties, and Drug and Alcohol Abuse Programs? 

 See the distribution of dollars on OLCC's Website. 
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http://www.oregon.gov/OLCC/pages/allocation_of_liquor_revenue.aspx

