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OLCC Commissioners take next step in learning about recreational marijuana at monthly 
Commission meeting 

 
Portland, OR – At their monthly meeting Friday, January 30, 2015, the Commissioners of the Oregon 
Liquor Control Commission voted to request that the Legislature give OLCC some kind of peace officer 
authority in order to adequately enforce the rules under Measure 91.  
 
“We don’t want the agency to be a paper tiger when it comes to enforcing the law,” said OLCC Chairman 
Rob Patridge. 
 
Agency peace officers would facilitate coordination with local law enforcement on matters ranging from 
minor decoy operations to criminal investigations. The agency currently employs 45 peace officers in its 
alcohol public safety division. 
 
The Commissioners also invited representatives from local government and law enforcement as well as 
experts from the marijuana industry to provide testimony on the implementation of Measure 91, the 
recreational marijuana law passed by voters in November.  
 
“We heard a lot of unanimity on some key issues,” Patridge said. “Law enforcement, local government 
and industry agree that we need to ensure that product advertising and packaging does not appeal to 
minors. And we heard broad agreement that our rules need to establish bright lines for effective 
enforcement and regulation.” 
 
The Commissioners ratified the following fines and liquor license suspensions based on stipulated 
settlement: 

Golden Valley Brewery & Pub, 980 E. 4th Street, McMinnville; will pay a fine of $2,310 or serve a 
14-day liquor license suspension for two violations.  The first violation is for failing to verify the age of 
a minor before allowing him to buy or be served alcoholic beverages.  The second violation is for 
permitting an employee to mix, sell, or serve alcoholic beverages, or supervise those who do, without 
a valid service permit.  Licensee is Golden Valley Beverage Company, Peter Kircher and Celia 
Kircher, corporate principals. 
 
Pacific Breeze, 11525 SW Durham #D3-D5, Tigard; will pay a fine of $4,950 or serve a 30-day liquor 
license suspension for failing to maintain liquor liability insurance or a bond with a corporate surety of 
$300,000 or more.  Licensee is Pacific Breeze, Inc.; Ha Thi Doan, corporate principal.  
 
The Boardwalk Restaurant, 30 N. Prom, Seaside; will pay a fine of $1,815 or serve an 11-day liquor 
license suspension for making alcoholic beverages available to a visibly intoxicated person.  Licensee 
is Seaside Restaurant Corp., Mark Hemstreet, Christopher Campbell, David Forni, and Shilo Inn 
Seaside Ocean Front, LLC, corporate principals.  



 
The Summit Saloon & Stage, 125 NW Oregon Ave., Bend; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a nine-
day liquor license suspension for drinking on duty.  Licensee is Oregon Street Pub, Inc.; Matthew 
Gordon, John Simak, Matthew Ashbaugh and Scott Howard, corporate principals.  
 
The Nest Lounge, 2715 SE Belmont, Portland; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a nine-day liquor 
license suspension for permitting noisy activities on the premises when noise disturbances, including 
amplified music, were plainly heard after 10:00 p.m. in a nearby residential unit.  Licensee is JMHL, 
LLC; John Crockett and Michelle Gillies-Crockett, members. 
 
Papa Haydn, 5829 SE Milwaukie, Portland; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a nine-day liquor 
license suspension for permitting noisy activities when music and amplified sounds were heard more 
than one block from the premises.  Licensee is Papa Haydn, Inc.; Evelyn Franz, Michael Gibbons, 
and Papa Haydn Holdings, Inc., corporate principals.  
 
Lydia’s, 18330 E. Burnside, Portland; will pay a fine of $2,310 or serve a 14-day liquor license 
suspension for two violations.  The first violation is for an employee drinking on duty.  The second 
violation is for employees permitting a minor to be in an area of the business that is prohibited to 
minors.  Licensee is Kim Chray, LLC; David Ly, Alice Ly, and Kunavuth Thor, members. 
 
Jay’s Bar & Grill, 11595 SE 82nd, Happy Valley; will serve a 44-day liquor license suspension or pay 
a fine of $9,900 and serve a 14-day liquor license suspension for two violations.  The first violation is 
for employees making false representations or statements to the Commission in order to induce or 
prevent action by the Commission.  The second violation is for permitting unlawful activity by allowing 
an employee to provide private security services without being certified to do so.  Licensee is Jay’s 
Bar & Grill, Inc.; Lap Law, Lai Lam, Julia Law, and Jenny Law, corporate principals.  
 
 

The Commissioners ratified the following stipulated settlements for failing to verify the age of a minor 
before allowing him or her to buy or be served an alcoholic beverage when he or she reasonably 
appeared to be under 26 years of age: 
 Woodpecker Sports, 10610 SE Main Street, Milwaukie; will pay a fine of $1,815 or serve an 11-day 

liquor license suspension.  Licensee is Woodpecker Sports, LLC; Cindy Kauffman, member. 
 

 Troutwood Chevron, 1260 NW Frontage Road, Troutdale; will pay a fine of $3,795 or serve a 23-
day liquor license suspension. Licensee is Troutwood, Inc.; Gerald Brawley and Louise Brawley, 
corporate principals.  

 
 Hilyard Street Market, 1698 Hilyard Street, Eugene; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a nine-day 

liquor license suspension.  Licensees are Chuck Yu and Youngsim Yu. 
 
 Shari’s of Milwaukie, 11030 SE Oak Street, Milwaukie; will install age verification equipment and will 

use the equipment to verify the age of anyone purchasing alcohol who reasonably appears to be 
under 26 years old.  Licensee is Shari’s Management Corp.; Bruce MacDiarmid, B. Ray Damron, 
Alan Hartley, and Richard Olson, corporate principals.  

 
 Roberts Shell, 516 E. 3rd, Lafayette; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a nine-day liquor license 

suspension.  Licensee is Roberts Shell, LLC; Daniel Roberts and Taunja Roberts, members. 
 
 Duniway Delicatessen & Grocery, 2417 SW 5th Ave., Portland; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a 

nine-day liquor license suspension.  Licensee is Mohamad Bonie. 
 
  
The Commissioners ratified the following stipulated settlements for permitting an employee(s) to mix, sell, 
or serve alcohol or supervise those who do without a service permit: 



 Beaches Restaurant & Bar, 7000 NE Airport Way #T-2422, Portland; will pay a fine of $1,485 or 
serve a nine-day liquor license suspension.  Licensee is Beaches, PDX, Inc.; Mark Matthias, 
corporate principal. 

 
 Francis Xavier’s Restaurant, 1933 NE 181st Ave., Portland; will pay a fine of $2,145 or serve a 13-

day liquor license suspension.  Licensee is Reivax, Inc.; Francis Gaudette and Kim Gaudette, 
corporate principals.  

 
 The Reserve Vineyards & Golf Club, 4805 SW 229th, Aloha; will pay a fine of $2,475 or serve a 15-

day liquor license suspension.  Licensee is The Reserve Vineyards & Golf Club, LLC; D.S. Parklane 
Development, Inc., Westhood, Inc., and Jin Park, members. 

  
 

The five citizen commissioners are the policy-making body of the OLCC.  They meet monthly for one or two days to make decisions on 
liquor licenses, rules, contested case hearings and appointments of liquor store agents.  Commission meetings are held every other 
month at OLCC's main office, 9079 SE McLoughlin Blvd., Room 103A in Portland.  Subsequent months, the meetings are held via 
phone.  Agenda items can be obtained on-line at http://www.oregon.gov/OLCC/public_meetings.shtml  
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