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The Commission grants liquor licenses and 

alcohol service permits. The Commission is 

also the entity responsible for enforcement. 

It has an Enforcement and Compliance 

Division with 13 offices across the state 

to handle license investigations, respond 

to complaints, and investigate liquor law 

violations.

Agency 

OREGON

$202,600,000 Net Revenue 
of Oregon

      State General Fund (57.0%)

      City Revenue Sharing Account* (12.4%)

      Oregon Wine Board (0.1%)

      Incorporated Cities** (17.7%)

      

      Counties (8.8%)

      Mental Health, Alcoholism, 		
      and Drug Services (4.0%)

*City Revenue Sharing – funds that go to all Oregon cities
** Incorporated Cities – cities that are incorporated

Distribution

Oregon distributes its net revenue into six avenues:

History

(Estimate) (2011)

Licensing and 
Enforcement

in FY 2012-2013

The Oregon Liquor Control Commission is an independent state agency under the 
Governor that promotes the public interest through the responsible sales and service of 
alcoholic beverages. Five citizen commissioners set policy for the OLCC and are appointed 
by the governor to four-year terms, subject to Senate confirmation. Each commissioner 
represents a U.S. Congressional District within the state, with one coming from the food and 
beverage industry. The agency is headquartered in Portland with regional offices in Bend, 
Eugene, Medford and Salem.

From 2003 through June 2013, the OLCC has 
contributed close to $2 billion to the state. 

Revenue per capita for spirits sales: $56.16
Revenue per capita for wine sales: $3.08

The Oregon Liquor Control Commission was created in 1933 by a special session of the Legislature 
after national prohibition ended. In the early 1980s, Oregon allowed supermarkets and private 
retailers to sell beer and wine. 

In 1985, Oregon became the first state in the country to require training for all of its alcohol servers. 

Oregon law expanded in 2008 to allow business opportunities for craft distillers, and to help promote 
the industry.

Oregon’s First Call Program provides 

licensees with the necessary resources and 

knowledge to be successful in their business 

operation and to establish and maintain an 

excellent record of compliance.

Does your jurisdiction allow the sale of 
Spirituous Liquor in 

convenience stores? No

Figures are from FY 2012-2013

2,963,000

Population 21 
and over

57.0%

12.4%

17.7%

8.8%

4.0%

0.1%

Does the number of wet versus dry jurisdictions 
require local option votes in counties, 

cities, or municipalities? Yes

www.oregon.gov/OLCC



	

Oregon has control of spirits at wholesale and has 248 privately owned contract stores. The 
number of off-premise outlets for beer and wine are 4,368.

Outlets

OREGON
Distribution

For every 100,000 residents ages 
21 and older, there are 

8.4 spirits outlets.

Oregon Liquor Control Commission in Action:

Spirits are only sold in liquor stores operated and managed by state-appointed liquor 
agents who act as independent contractors. The OLCC ships to its contract retail 
stores, though the retail stores may also pick up the product, if desired. Bars and 
restaurants purchase from the retail stores. Generally, they pick up their orders, but 
delivery is allowed.

Beer and wine are handled through private distributors who generally deliver products 
to the retailers. Bars and restaurants also receive their goods from the distributors. Retail 
to retail or retail to bar is not allowed, as the seller would be acting as a wholesaler, an 
activity for which they do not hold a license.

Sources: 2012 Survey Book, The Effects of Privatization of Alcohol Control Systems; Third Edition, State Alcohol Tax Rates 
(June 2013), Educational Awards Program Reports 2012, Oregon Liquor Control Commission, The Beverage Information 
Group’s 2012 Fact Book, The Beverage Information Group 2013 Handbook

Created a DVD, It’s Your Call, 
showing the effects of alcohol and 
the challenges servers face when 
selling alcohol and determining if 
a customer is visibly intoxicated

Does jurisdiction 
allow direct shipping 

of wine? Yes 

Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premise 
outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area?    

Is the sale of alcoholic beverages permitted in grocery stores? Yes

What types of alcohol are permitted? 
Beer, Wine and Cider

Tax per beverage gallon: 
Spirits:$10.44

Wine: $0.67
Beer: $0.08

Oregon’s compliance rate for not 
selling alcohol to minors is 80.3%

The OLCC offers a free training 
course on how to check ID’s

Sales to the Pseudo-Intoxicated 
Mystery Shoppers decreased 12% 
(48% to 34%) from 2011 to 2012

The commission partnered with the Responsible Retailing Forum on a 
Pseudo-Intoxicated Mystery Shoppers program.   The results: 

Grocery 
Store Sales

No.

LIQUOR

Definitions:   Control systems -- jurisdictions that directly control the distribution and sale of beverage alcohol in their borders.
		
	           Three-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States. Producers/manu-	
	           facturers (first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell to retailers (third tier). 

	           Revenue Per Capita -- revenue per person. 

WEST


