-O RE G O N www.oregon.gov/OLCC

The Oregon Liquor Control Commission is an independent state agency under the Governor.
The Commission is the agency responsible for regulating the sale and service of alcoholic
beverages in Oregon by administering the state’s Liquor Control Act and regulating the sale of
recreational marijuana in Oregon through the Control, Regulation, and Taxation of Marijuana
and Industrial Hemp Act. Five citizen commissioners set policy for the OLCC and are appointed
by the governor to four-year terms, subject to Senate confirmation. Each commissioner represents
a U.S. Congressional District within the state, with one coming from the food and beverage
industry. The agency is headquartered in Portland with regional offices in Bend, Eugene, Medford
and Salem.

HiStOl‘y The Oregon Liquor Control Commission was created in 1933 by a special session of the Legislature after
national prohibition ended. In the early 1980s, Oregon transitioned the last state-owned liquor store to
private independent contractors to sell distilled spirits.

In 1985, Oregon became the first state in the country to require training for all of its alcohol servers.

Oregon law expanded in 2008 to allow business opportunities for craft distillers, and to help promote the
industry.

Oregon became the third state in the nation to allow recreational marijuana sales after the passage of the
Taxation of Marijuana and Industrial Hemp Act in 2014.

Net Revenue | $435,500,000 2013-2015 Biennium Licensing and

of Oregon From 2004 through June 2015, the OLCC has Enforcement

contributed close to $1.8 billion to the state.

The Commiission grants liquor licenses and

Revenue per capita for spirits sales: $55.94* alcohol service permits. The Commission is
Revenue per capita for wine sales: $2.53* also the entity responsible for enforcement.
It has a Public Safety Division with 12
Population 21 I 2,941,000 offices across the state to handle license
and over (Estimate 2015) . .. ]
investigations, respond to complaints, and
Oregon distributes its net revenue into six avenues: sttt ligpow v,
® State General Fund (56.8%) e Counties (8.9%)
® City Revenue Sharing Account* (12.4%) ® Mental Health, Alcoholism, Does your jurisdiction allow the sale of
and Drug Services (4.0%) Splr}tuous Liquor in
® Oregon Wine Board (0.1%) SOEIENES S N

*City Revenue Sharing - funds that go to all Oregon cities
** Incorporated Cities — cities that are incorporated

@ Incorporated Cities** (17.7%) Oregon’s First Call Program provides

4.0% licensees with the necessary resources and
AN knowledge to be successful in their business
operation and to establish and maintain an

excellent record of compliance.

Does the number of wet versus dry jurisdictions
require local option votes in counties,
cities, or municipalities? Yes

Figures are from 2013-2015 Biennium NABm




Distribution

N

Does jurisdiction
allow direct shipping
of wine? Yes

Spirits are only sold in retail liquor locations operated and managed by state-appointed
liquor agents who act as independent contractors. The OLCC ships to its contract
retail stores, though the retail stores may also pick up the product, if desired. Bars and
restaurants purchase spirits from the retail stores. Generally, they pick up their orders,

but delivery is allowed.

Beer and wine are handled through private distributors who generally deliver products
to the retailers. Bars and restaurants also receive their goods from the distributors. Retail
to retail or retail to bar is not allowed, as the seller would be acting as a wholesaler, an
activity for which they do not hold a license.

Oregon Liquor Control Commission in Action:

The commission focuses public safety efforts on addressing alcohol sales to minors and visibly intoxicated people.

® Developed a statewide radio campaign targeted at encouraging Oregonians to enjoy college football season by
tailgating responsibly. Partner agencies include Oregon Department of Transportation, Oregon State Police, and
paid through an educational grant from the National Alcohol Beverage Control Association.

® Sales to the Pseudo-Intoxicated Mystery Shoppers decreased 34% (48% to 14%) from 2011 to 2015

® Oregons compliance rate for not selling alcohol to minors is 81%

® The OLCC offers a free training course on how to check ID’s

Outlets

Tax per beverage gallon:
Spirits:$10.44

Wine: $0.67

Beer: $0.08

Grocery
Store Sales

Oregon has control of spirits at wholesale and has 248 privately owned contract stores. The
number of off-premise outlets for beer and wine are 4,621.

Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premise
outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area?

No.

For every 100,000 residents ages
21 and older, there are
8.4 spirits outlets.

Is the sale of alcoholic beverages permitted in grocery stores? Yes

What types of alcohol are permitted?

Beer, Wine and Cider permitted with liquor license.

Grocery stores can apply for a retail sales agent agreement to sell distilled spirits when an opening is
available.

Definitions: Control systems -- jurisdictions that directly control the distribution and sale of beverage alcohol in their borders.

Three-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States. Producers/manu-
facturers (first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell to retailers (third tier).

Revenue Per Capita -- revenue per person.

Sources: 2013-2014 Survey Book, State Alcohol Tax Rates (Spring 2014), Educational Awards Program Reports for 2013, g
Oregon Liquor Control Commission*, The Beverage Information Group’s 2014 Fact Book, The Beverage Information

Group 2014, Portland State University population reports NABm
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