
        

The alcohol server education course is designed for Oregonians 
who hold on-premises liquor licenses, their managers, and 
employees who mix, sell or serve alcohol. The purpose of the 

program is to ensure that certified instructors give quality instruction 
based on a state-issued model curriculum covering Oregon’s alcohol 
laws and responsible service strategies. The alcohol server education 
course enforces standards under ORS 471.542. 

Reducing alcohol-related problems
Established in 1987, this first-in-the-nation mandatory program is based on 
the concept that people who serve alcohol professionally can be a positive 
force in reducing alcohol-related problems and enhancing public health 
and safety.

Alcohol server education includes instruction on Oregon liquor laws, 
drunk-driving laws, effects of alcohol on the body, strategies for dealing 
with intoxicated and underage customers, and responsible marketing and 
management techniques.

All alcohol servers, managers and business owners are required to attend 
an alcohol server education course and pass a 50-question, multiple-
choice test. Under the program:

 An alcohol server applies for a service permit on the first day of   
   employment at a licensed business.

 The class is taken within 45 days of permit application.

 Permits are renewed every five years. Renewing servers may 
   repeat the initial class or take a shorter class and pass with
   a higher exam score.

Private-sector providers and instructors
Alcohol server education courses are taught by private providers and 
their instructors who are certified by the OLCC. They must use a training 
curriculum, teaching methods and class materials that meet standards 
developed by the OLCC.

Fees for the class are set by the provider and generally range from 
$15-$30 per person. To qualify to teach in the program, instructors must 
have experience or post-secondary education in the hospitality industry, 
teaching or other fields related to alcohol service.

The end-of-course examination is designed to reinforce the learning 
process. More than 98% of those taking the test pass.

This first-in-the-nation mandatory 
program is based on the concept 
that people who serve alcohol 
professionally can be a positive 
force in reducing alcohol-related 
problems and enhancing public 
health and safety. 

For more information contact:

Jolienne Helmig
jolienne.helmig@state.or.us

phone: 503-872-5200
toll free: 503-452-6522

The mission of the OLCC is to
promote the public interest through

the responsible sale and  service
of alcoholic beverages.

www.oregon.gov/OLCC
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OLCC program representatives monitor alcohol server education courses to ensure they meet training standards and 
evaluate instructors annually. The OLCC may sanction a provider or instructor for failing to meet program standards.

Professional alcohol servers
Since its inception in 1987, the alcohol server education program has trained approximately 350,000 servers through 
a network of in-person classroom instructors throughout the state and through OLCC-approved online courses. 
Annually, about 35,000 students complete the alcohol server education class. In-person classes are offered in English, 
Spanish and Chinese.

This training has increased alcohol servers’ awareness of problems associated with alcohol abuse and gives servers 
the information and skills they need to sell alcohol responsibly. Trained, professional servers have learned to deny 
service to minors and to visibly intoxicated persons. As a result, the vast majority of OLCC-licensed businesses sell 
alcohol safely and responsibly and do not create problems for their patrons or communities.
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