
        

OLCC’s alcohol service permits are designed to ensure that 
eligible, trained people sell, serve or mix alcohol at licensed 
businesses that allow on-premises alcohol consumption 

responsibly and in compliance with Oregon’s liquor laws. 

Responsible alcohol service
Serving alcohol is serious business. Responsible alcohol service 
ensures that Oregon restaurants, bars, clubs and taverns watch 
out for the safety of their customers, neighbors, and communities. 
A decision to sell or refuse alcohol sales to underage customers or 
intoxicated persons can literally be a life-or-death decision. Oregon law 
recognizes the importance of responsible alcohol service by requiring 
an alcohol service permit for people who mix, sell or serve alcohol 
to customers at on-premises licensed businesses where customers 
can legally drink alcoholic beverages. People who manage alcohol 
servers are also required to have a permit. Servers must be at least 
18 years old, but are limited in their duties until they are 21. Currently, 
there are approximately 158,000 valid alcohol service permit holders 
(permittees) in Oregon. This year the OLCC expects to process more 
than 36,000 service permit applications.

 
Application process 
A person applies for a permit by completing an application form that 
includes identifying information and questions about any criminal or 
drunk-driving convictions the applicant may have. People who have 
not previously had an alcohol service permit application denied or a 
service permit canceled are allowed to work as alcohol servers as soon 
as they have completed an application and it has been endorsed by 
their employer. The employer is responsible for immediately sending 
the completed application and $23 fee to the OLCC. If a person is not 
currently employed but wants to apply for a permit, they can bring the 
completed application to their local OLCC office along with the $23 fee 
and an OLCC employee can endorse the application.   

Background checks 
The OLCC reviews applicants for eligibility requirements, and conducts 
background checks to verify that applicants have accurately reported 
their criminal history. Not every person qualifies for an alcohol service 
permit. People who have recent or multiple convictions for driving under 
the influence of intoxicants (DUII), violating liquor laws, felony drug 
crimes, felony crimes of violence, or felony driving-while- suspended 
or revoked may not qualify for a service permit. In addition, persons 
who have a habit of abusing alcohol or controlled substances may not 
qualify for a permit, unless they can establish that they are no longer 
using these substances, and are participating in or have completed a 
state-approved alcohol or drug treatment program, and have completed 
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any parole or probation requirements. If the OLCC proposes to deny an application, the applicant has the right 
to an a administrative hearing to contest the agency’s action.  

Alcohol server education course and test 
All applicants must take an OLCC-approved alcohol server education course - in person or online - and pass a 
test no later than 45 days after the OLCC receives their application. The course teaches students about Oregon’s 
alcohol service laws and covers key concepts of responsible alcohol sales and service, including recognizing 
signs of intoxication, checking identification, and preventing alcohol sales to minors and intoxicated persons. At 
the end of the course, students demonstrate their knowledge of the course materials by taking a scored exam. 
Applicants now have the option of taking the course and exam at a live in-class format or online.

Results and renewals
Applicants who meet the eligibility requirements for a permit, take the alcohol server education course, and pass 
the exam are issued an alcohol service permit. The permit is valid for five years from the date of completion 
of the alcohol server education course. Applicants who have taken and passed the initial class within the past 
seven years may renew their service permit by either repeating the initial class or taking a renewal course. The 
passing exam score is higher for a renewal course.

Public safety 
The alcohol server education course increases an alcohol server’s awareness of the problems associated with 
alcohol over-service and abuse, and gives the server information and skills needed to sell and serve alcohol 
responsibly. Trained servers are less likely to sell to minors or intoxicated persons, and are better able to detect 
and prevent alcohol-related problems. Permittees who violate liquor laws are subject to OLCC administrative 
penalties. These penalties range from written reprimands to fines, or the suspension or cancellation of a service 
permit. Eligibility requirements for holding a permit help the OLCC ensure that people who serve alcohol are 
likely to follow alcohol laws and rules. As a result, the vast majority of OLCC-licensed businesses sells alcohol 
safely and responsibly, and they don’t create problems for their customers, neighbors or communities.
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