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Supplier – Retailer Guidelines 
 
Oregon law prohibits a supplier from giving financial assistance to a retailer, and a retailer cannot 
accept financial assistance from a supplier. “Supplier” refers to manufacturers, wholesalers, and 
their respective agents.  
 
A supplier may promote its products, but cannot promote a retailer’s business or underwrite a 
retailer’s business expenses.  
 
This publication provides guidelines for what suppliers may provide and the conditions under 
which they may provide them. 
 
Law references for financial assistance are Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 471.398 and 
471.400, and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) Chapter 845 Division 13. 
 
PENALTY: Providing or accepting financial assistance is a Category III violation. Sanctions 
range from a 10-day suspension or civil penalty of $1,650 for a first offense to license 
cancellation for a fourth offense. Both the retailer and the supplier can be ticketed for financial 
assistance violations. 
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Money, Credit, Discounts 
OAR 845-013-0020 

 
 
Supplier may give credit or cash for malt beverages or wine that retailer returns with OLCC’s 
prior written approval, only in the following circumstances: 

• Retailer terminates the business 
• Retailer temporarily stops operating due to natural disaster 
• Retailer stops operation for more than 29 days 
• After a Temporary Sales License event (except for Full On-Premises Sales licensees) 

 
Supplier may give credit for malt beverage or wine that is leaking, deteriorating, near/past shelf 
life, damaged container, delivered in error, has bad labels, when no saleable product is available 
for exchange: 

• Credit must be applied to the retailer’s next purchase 
• OLCC’s prior written approval must be obtained (for more than one case) 
• Credit is limited to retailer’s original purchase price for product 

  
Supplier may sell a retailer existing vintage-dated wine for future delivery by written contract 
prior to winery release 

• Opportunity must be offered to all retail licensees at same general time 
• Supplier keeps a copy of the contract 
• Supplier keeps a record of how and to whom this opportunity was offered 

 
 
 

Prices 
OAR 845-010-0200, 845-010-0210 

 
 
Supplier must maintain price lists. Price lists mush show the following: 

• Every brand and type of product offered 
• Price for each size container 
• Effective date of each price 
• Allowance granted for returnable containers 
• Handling fee on wine sold in less than the smallest multi-pack 
• Transportation costs 
• If supplier decreases the price, it must not increase the price for 14 days 

 
Supplier must charge same price to all retailers 

• Excluding transportation costs (must be separately itemized on invoice) 
• Quantity discounts are prohibited 
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Substantial Gratuities 
OAR 845-013-0010 

 
 
Supplier may provide food and beverages to a retailer for immediate consumption at: 

• Business meetings 
• Conventions, where it is offered to all participants 
• Sports/entertainment events when supplier attends with the retailer 

 
Supplier may provide items at a convention 

• Items must be available to all convention participants 
 
Supplier may provide tickets and admission fees (includes green, court and lane fees) 

• Only if supplier accompanies retailer to the sports or entertainment event and does not pay 
associated costs (e.g. travel expenses) 

 
Supplier may provide gifts to acknowledge a grand opening, birthday, anniversary, etc. 

• Gifts may not exceed $30 fair market value in a calendar year  
• Gifts may not include cash 

 
Supplier may provide campaigns for responsible use 

• Only promoting responsible use and containing no reference to retailer 
• May provide inexpensive items such as buttons and posters  
• May provide a person/celebrity as part of the campaign at a licensed premises, as long as: 

 The event is not advertised 
 There is only a brief performance, if any 
 The supplier does not provide alcohol to any customers 
 The supplier provides only one promotion per year, per retailer 

 
 
 

Advertising 
OAR 845-013-0040  

 
 
Suppliers may advertise their products apart from a retailer’s premises 

• Advertising must only refer to the supplier’s product 
• A specific retailer may not be mentioned 
• Supplier may make lists of retailers that sell its products available to customers 
• Retailer lists may not include prices and must include every retailer that sells suppliers products 

 
Suppliers may purchase advertising space or time for an event from certain retail licensees: 

• Limited and Full On-Premises Sales licensees with a capacity exceeding 3,000 persons 
• Limited and Full On-Premises Sales licensees owned by the U.S. Government or a public body 
• Limited and Full On-Premises Sales licensees that are registered non-profit organizations 
• Temporary Sales licensees that are registered non-profit organizations 
• Event must be held on licensee’s annually licensed premises 
• Licensee must serve other brands of alcoholic beverages 
• There must be a written agreement between supplier and retailer 
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Fixtures, Furniture & Furnishings 
OAR 845-013-0030 

 
 
Supplier may provide bins or display racks valued at $300 or less  

• Only one bin or rack per trade name, per retailer at any given time 
• Bin or rack is permanently marked with brand name or trade name of supplier 
• Retailer only uses bin or rack for named product  

 
 
 

Schematics 
OAR 845-013-0075 

 
 
Schematics are proposals that recommend the placement of a supplier’s products on a 
retailer’s shelves. 
 
Suppliers may use schematics only to promote their products to a retailer. 

• Retailer remains responsible for deciding what products are actually sold 
• Includes schematics provided by a third party 

 
 
 

Items of Nominal Value 
OAR 845-013-0060 

 
 
Basic items that support supplier’s products can be provided, such as: 

• Tastings or samples of distilled spirits 
 Only if retailer does not carry the product, and only if 50 ml or less 

• Tastings or samples of wine or malt beverages 
 Only if retailer doesn’t already carry the brand 
 Must not exceed 1 gallon of malt beverage 
 Must not exceed 5 liters of wine 
 Sample containers must be marked “SAMPLE – NOT FOR RESALE” 

• For Draft Systems:  
 Tavern Heads (one per calendar year; trade-in of tavern head at fair market value as 

partial payment when retailer replaces draft system), washers and Thomas valves, and 
new and used empty shells/bags (for returning retailer’s empty containers) 

 
Supplier may provide items made of inexpensive material that provide information to 
customers, (“consumer takeaways”) such as: 

• Items for off-premises use, including sports/entertainment schedules, calendars and recipes 
• Beer, wine and spirits lists which may include any alcohol sold at the premises and generic 

references to food 
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Point of Sale Material 
OAR 845-013-0050 

 
 
Supplier may provide material that functions to advertise the alcoholic beverage product at the 
retailer’s premises 

• Retailer may use material only for promotional display on licensed premises 
• Such materials include coasters, napkins, table tents and items of like value 
• Supplier may provide signs (e.g. neon, electrical, mechanical, or inflatable) 
• Interior point of sale items may include the name and address of the retailer 
• Supplier may not require a minimum purchase in order for a retailer to receive point of sale 

items 
  
Supplier may provide exterior point of sale material 

• Only for supplier’s alcoholic beverage product 
• Must not exceed 2160 square inches 
• May not be customized to retailer 

 
 
 

Services of Nominal Value 
OAR 845-013-0070 

 
 
Supplier may provide basic services that support products on draft, such as:  

• Inspecting equipment for sanitation and quality control 
• Performing emergency repairs on draft equipment 
• Instructing retailers how to care for draft and cooling systems 
• Tapping kegs during regular delivery calls 

 
Supplier may install, clean and repair point of sale material 
 
Supplier may provide marketing support service, such as: 

• Delivering to a designated place on the retailer’s premises  
 Only for supplier’s alcoholic beverage products  
 Supplier may provide employees to sell or serve at the approved event 

• Moving product to a nearby store (for chains) 
 Only when a store closes, and only for supplier’s alcoholic beverage products 
 **Retailers may not move product between stores 

• Rearranging/replenishing product 
 Only supplier’s own product 

• Pricing own brands  
 No repricing 

• Exchanging product delivered in error 
 Both supplier and retailer must keep a record of transaction 
 Exchanging product that is leaking, deteriorating, near/past shelf date, has damaged or 

missing labels, or damaged containers 
 Product must not have been damaged by the retailer or the retailer’s customer 
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Items & Services to Non-Profit Temporary Sales Licensees 
OAR 845-013-0090 

  
 
The licensee must be a non-profit or charitable organization registered with the state, a political 
committee that has a current statement of organization filed under ORS 260.039 or 260.042, an 
agency of the state, or a local government, agency or department of a local government.  
 
A supplier may give, sell or discount the following to a non-profit temporary sales licensee: 

• Any product the supplier normally sells 
• Supplier may pick up excess malt beverage product at the end of a qualifying special event 
• Supplier may give credit or cash for returned product 
• Services that support the beverage 
• Supplier may provide employees to sell or serve at the approved event 
• Employee must have a valid service permit or have successfully complete an approved alcohol 

server education course within the last five years 
• Banners for interior/exterior display that advertise the special event - no size limitation 
• Equipment (such as picnic pumps, cold plates, etc.) for the event (not to exceed 10 days) 

 
 
 

Items & Services to For-Profit Temporary Sales Licensees 
OAR 845-013-0080 

 
 
Supplier may provide advertising with the retailer’s name, location, and supplier’s products 

• Retailers: Temporary Sales License, Temporary Use of an Annual License (TUAL), Special 
Event Brewery Public House License (SEBPH) 

• Supplier may provide advertising of a temporary special event that lists the name and location of 
the event along with the name of the supplier’s product. 

• Advertising must be paid to third party provider, not the retailer 
• Alcoholic beverages must be sold at posted wholesale prices and may not exclude other 

suppliers’ products 
• Supplier must follow all other financial assistance rules 

 
 
Private Labels 
OAR 845-010-0206 

 
 
Supplier and Retailer may enter into an agreement for a private label product 

• Retailer must pay all costs for the development and production of the label 
• Out-of-State manufacturer must sell through an independent wholesaler 
• Product may not be a new malt beverage or wine 
• Private label product must be identical to supplier’s existing product 
• Identical product must be reasonably available to other retailers 
• Supplier must sell product for at least the wholesale cost 
• Commission must approve the private label and the private label agreement 
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Additional Prohibitions 
 

• No supplier may buy food, beverages or anything of value on a retailer’s premises for customers 
who are not his/her personal acquaintances (ORS 845-013-0110). 
 

• No promotional activities for alcohol may be conducted on any college or university campus 
(ORS 845-006-0349). 
 

• Rebate coupons for distilled spirits are prohibited except for purchases at liquor stores (OAR 
845-015-0165, -0175 and -0177). 
 

• Licensees and their employees and agents may not sell alcoholic beverages at both wholesale 
and retail (OAR 845-013-0100). 
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Guidelines for Malt Beverage, Wine, and Cider Tastings  
at Licensed Retail Businesses 

OAR 845-005-0427 & 845-006-0450 
 
Manufacturers: Defined as Winery, Brewery, Brewery Public House, Grower Sales Privilege, and 
Warehouse licensees; and Certificate of Approval holders (which includes some, but not all, Oregon 
wholesalers) 
 
Manufacturer-Conducted Tastings 
 
License:  Manufacturers do not need a special or temporary license to conduct a tasting on 

a licensed retail premises. 
 
Alcohol:  Manufacturers must provide the samples and must remove any leftover alcohol at 

the end of the tasting. 
 
Size of samples:  No more than 1.5 ounces for wine or cider and 3 ounces for beer.  
 
Servers:  Must have service permits. Manufacturers must provide or pay for the servers who 

must be the manufacturer’s employees or agents. Manufacturers may not pay or 
compensate any employee or agent of the retailer to participate in the tasting. 

 
Length:   May not exceed 2 consecutive days. 
 
Number:  No more than 8 times per calendar year at each retail premises, including both 

manufacturer-conducted tastings and retail-conducted tastings at which the 
manufacturer assists (see below). 

 
Frequency:   Tastings must be at least 4 weeks apart. 
 
Advertising:  Manufacturers may not advertise the tasting. Retailers may advertise the tasting 

only inside the business. 
 
Records:  Manufacturers must keep records of each tasting they conduct, including the date, 

location, products served, and names of servers. 
 
 
Retailer-Conducted Tastings 
 
Manufacturers (including wholesalers) may be involved in a retailer-conducted tasting only under the 
following conditions: 
 
License: Full On-Premises Sales, Limited On-Premises Sales, Off-Premises Sales. Off-

Premises Sales licensees must apply for a tasting privilege (ORS 471.186(2); OAR 
845-006-0450). Off-Premises Sales licensees must identify the tasting area 

 
Alcohol: Retailer must provide the alcoholic beverages for sampling.   
 
Size of samples:  No more than 1.5 ounces for wine or cider and 3 ounces for beer. 
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Servers:  Servers must have service permits. 
 
Assistance:  Manufacturers may provide an employee to assist at the tasting. This may include 

pouring tastings if the employee has a service permit. 
 
Number: Retailers may conduct their own tastings as often as they want, but a manufacturer 

may be in each retail premises no more than eight times per calendar year for 
tastings, including both manufacturer-conducted tastings and retail-conducted 
tastings at which the manufacturer assists. 

 
Advertising:   Retailers may advertise their own tastings. 
 
 
 

Guidelines for Distilled Spirits Tastings 
OAR 845-005-0428 

 
Full On-Premises Sales licensees may allow a distillery to participate in distilled spirits sample 
tasting events for the retailer’s customers under the following conditions: 
 
License: Event must be sponsored by the Full On-Premises Sales licensee and must be 

held on its permanently licensed premises. Sample tastings must be held in an 
area prohibited to minors. 

 
Alcohol:  Distillery products must be approved for sale in Oregon. Distillery must provide the 

sample tastings of approved distilled spirits and remove any remaining product at 
the end of the tasting.  

 
Size of samples: Samples are limited to one quarter (0.25) ounce of distilled spirits. No more than 

one half (0.5) ounces to each customer per day. The spirits may be mixed with 
nonalcoholic beverages; however, the total volume cannot exceed two (2) ounces. 

 
Servers: Server must have a valid Oregon Alcohol Service Permit. Distillery must pay for 

person to serve the tasting. The person serving may not be an employee of the 
retail licensee. 

 
Number:   Eight sample tastings are allowed per year, per retail premises. 
 
Advertising: Distillery must not advertise the sample tasting. Retailer may advertise sample 

tasting only inside the licensed premises. 
 
Assistance:  Distillery must not compensate the licensee in order to participate in the tasting 

event. Except for serving the sample tastings, the distillery must not be involved 
with the sale or service of alcoholic beverages or any other service normally 
provided by the retailer on the licensed premises.  
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Records: The retailer must keep a record of each tasting event it holds for one year from the 
date the tasting was held. Records must include the date and location of each 
event, the products served, and the names of servers. 

 
 
Promotional Dinner Events (OAR 845-005-0428(8)): events sponsored by the Full On-Premises 
retail licensee on the permanently licensed premises where meals are served and multiple 
servings/samples of distilled spirits accompany the meal.  
 
License: Event must be sponsored by the Full On-Premises Sales licensee and must be 

held on its permanently licensed premises. Retailer must meet OLCC food service 
standards. 

 
Alcohol:   Retailer must purchase the distilled spirits from the OLCC 
 
Size of samples: Samples are limited to one quarter (0.25) ounce of distilled spirits. The spirits may 

be mixed with nonalcoholic beverages; however, the total volume cannot exceed 
two (2) ounces. 

 
Servers: Server must have a valid Oregon Alcohol Service Permit. Distillery must pay for 

person to serve the tasting.  The person serving may not be an employee of the 
retail licensee. 

 
Number:  Each retailer may sponsor no more than eight promotional dinner events per year 

on the licensed premises.  
 
Advertising:  Retailer may advertise the event; distillery must not pay for advertising 
 
Assistance:   Distillery may only provide education for products it represents 
 
Records: The retailer must keep a record of each promotional dinner it holds for one year 

from the date of the dinner. Records must include the date and location of each 
event, proof of purchase of each distilled spirit served at the event, and the 
distilleries represented and the names of participating distillery employees or 
agents. 
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Coupon Guidelines 
 

For Manufacturer-Issued Rebates Associated with  
Malt Beverages, Wine, and Cider 

OAR 845-007-0015 
 
For the purpose of ORS 845-007-0015, coupons are any material that a person may use to obtain a price 
reduction or rebate offered by an alcohol supplier. 
 
All rebate coupons offered by manufacturers must meet the following requirements: 

• Be redeemable only by mail 
• Bear an expiration date 
• Require proof of purchase; and 
• Valid only for adults of legal drinking age 

 
Manufacturers must furnish rebate coupons to all licensees carrying the product for off-premises 
consumption.  
 
Mail-in progressive-type coupons which provide a larger rebate when progressively more alcohol is 
purchased are permitted. 
 
Mail-in rebate coupons for cross-promotional products that provide a discount or rebate on food, non-
alcoholic beverages or non-food items with or without the purchase of an alcoholic beverage product are 
permitted.  
 
Manufacturers may offer instantly redeemable coupons for products sold to consumers under the 
manufacturer’s retail privileges at the manufacturer’s licensed premises. 
 
 

For more information 
 
If you have questions regarding any of the information in this publication, please contact Kelly Routt at 
503-872-5007 or kelly.routt@state.or.us. 
 

OREGON LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 
9079 SE MCLOUGHLIN BLVD., PORTLAND, OR 97222-7355 

PO BOX 22297, MILWAUKIE, OR, 97269-2297 
503-872-5000 | 800-452-OLCC (6522) 
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