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Outline for Firearms Background Checks in Oregon – What Can I Expect? 

February 2014 

 

 

THINGS TO KNOW BEFORE STARTING 

 

 Private party selling/transferring a firearm at a gun show?  A background check is required. 

ORS 166.438, 166.441 and 166.470 

 Private party selling/transferring a firearm and NOT at a gun show?  You may request a 

background check, however a check is not required  ORS 166.436 and 166.470 

 Federally Licensed Gun Dealers selling/transferring to a non-dealer are required to do a 

background check.  ORS 166.470 and 18 U.S.C. § 921 

 Identification required:  ORS 166.436 and 166.412 

 The identification presented by the recipient must meet the requirements of ORS 

166.412 (4)(a) Identification required of the purchaser shall include one piece of 

current identification bearing a photograph and the date of birth of the purchaser that: 

 Is issued under the authority of the United States Government, a state, a 

political subdivision of a state, a foreign government, a political subdivision of 

a foreign government, an international governmental organization or an 

international quasi-governmental organization; and 

 Is intended to be used for identification of an individual or is commonly 

accepted for the purpose of identification of an individual. 

 If the identification presented by the purchaser does not include the current 

address of the purchaser, the purchaser shall present a second piece of 

current identification that contains the current address of the purchaser. The 

Superintendent of State Police may specify by rule the type of identification 

that may be presented under this paragraph. 

 OSP may require that the dealer verify the identification of the purchaser if 

that identity is in question by sending the thumbprints of the purchaser to the 

department. 

 Age requirement: 

 Federal - must be 18 years old to purchase long gun, 21 years old to purchase hand 

gun  18 U.S.C. § 922 (b)(1) 

 Oregon - must be 18 years old to purchase a firearm ORS 166.470; however federal 

law requires the stricter law supersedes for purpose of a handgun 

 

 Handgun: purchaser must be a resident of Oregon.  18 U.S.C. § 922 (b)(3) 

 Long gun: purchaser must follow their state of residence laws regarding eligibility outside of 

their state.   ORS 166.490/ 18 U.S.C. § 922 (b)(3) 

 For private party transfers, the purchaser must be present.  ORS 166.436 

 The fee for a firearms background check is $10.  ORS 166.414 

 Payment for private party background checks are currently only accepted by 

credit/debit card.  Information for payment will be taken over the phone. 

 FFL’s can pay by credit/debit card or request a monthly billing. 
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THE ACTUAL BACKGROUND CHECK STARTS HERE 

 

The person selling/transferring a firearm must provide the following information to initiate the 

background check:   ORS 166.436, 18 U.S.C. § 922 (t)(1)(c) and 27 CFR 178.124 (c) 

 

 The name, address and telephone number of the transferor; 

 The address of the place where the transfer is occurring;  

 The make, model, caliber and manufacturer’s number of the firearm being transferred; 

 This information is necessary to conduct the required stolen gun check 

 The name, date of birth, race, sex and address of the recipient; 

 The Social Security number of the recipient if the recipient voluntarily provides that number; 

 The type, issuer and identification number of a current piece of identification bearing a recent 

photograph of the recipient presented by the recipient.  

 

The FICS unit will determine from criminal records and other information available to it whether 

the purchaser/transferor is disqualified under state and federal law from completing the transfer 

or is otherwise prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm.  ORS 166.470, 

ORS 137.540 (1) (l) and 18 U.S.C. § 922   

  

 

 

 

FEDERAL AND STATE PROHIBITORS/DISQUALIFIERS 

 

 

FEDERAL CATEGORIES OF PERSON PROHIBITED FROM RECEIVING A FIREARM 

The federal disqualification criteria are as follows: 

 CONVICTION. A person who has been convicted in any court of a crime with a 
maximum punishment for imprisonment of a term exceeding one year.  18 U.S.C. § 922 
(g)(1) 

 WARRANT. Persons who are fugitives of justice—for example, the subject of an active 
felony or misdemeanor warrant. 18 U.S.C. § 922 (g)(2) 

 CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE. An unlawful user and/or an addict of any controlled 
substance; . 18 U.S.C. § 922 (g)(3) 

 For example, a person convicted for the use or possession of a controlled 
substance within the past year; or a person with multiple arrests for the use or 
possession of a controlled substance within the past five years with the most 
recent arrest occurring within the past year; or a person found through a drug test 
to use a controlled substance unlawfully, provided the test was administered 
within the past year 

 MENTAL HEALTH. A person adjudicated mental defective or committed to a mental 
institution.  18 U.S.C. § 922 (g)(4) 

 ILLEGAL ALIEN. A person who, being an alien, is illegally or unlawfully in the United 
States. 18 U.S.C. § 922 (g)(5) 
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 A person who, being an alien except as provided in subsection 18 U.S.C. § 922 
(y) (2), has been admitted to the United States under a non-immigrant visa. 

 DISHONORABLE DISCHARGE. A person dishonorably discharged from the United 
States Armed Forces. 18 U.S.C. § 922 (g)(6) 

 RENOUNCED CITIZENSHIP. A person who has renounced his/her United States 
citizenship. 18 U.S.C. § 922 (g)(7) 

 RESTRAINING ORDER. The subject of a protective order issued after a hearing in 
which the respondent had notice that restrains them from harassing, stalking, or 
threatening an intimate partner or child of such partner. This does not include ex parte 
orders. 18 U.S.C. § 922 (g)(8)(A-C) 

 DOMESTIC VIOLENCE. A person convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime which 
includes the use or attempted use of physical force or threatened use of a deadly 
weapon and the defendant was the spouse, former spouse, parent, guardian of the 
victim, by a person with whom the victim shares a child in common, by a person who is 
cohabiting with or has cohabited in the past with the victim as a spouse, parent, guardian 
or similar situation to a spouse, parent or guardian of the victim.  18 U.S.C. § 922 (g)(9) 

PRE-TRIAL RELEASE. A person who is under indictment or information for a crime 
punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year. 18 U.S.C. § 922 (n) 

 

OREGON SPECIFIC DISQUALIFIERS 

 
166.470 Limitations and conditions for sales of firearms. (1) Unless relief has been granted 
under ORS 166.274, 18 U.S.C. § 925(c) or the expunction laws of this state or an equivalent law 
of another jurisdiction, a person may not intentionally sell, deliver or otherwise transfer any 
firearm when the transferor knows or reasonably should know that the recipient: 
      (a) Is under 18 years of age; 
      (b) Has been convicted of a felony; 
      (c) Has any outstanding felony warrants for arrest; 
      (d) Is free on any form of pretrial release for a felony; 
      (e) Was committed to the Oregon Health Authority under ORS 426.130; 
      (f) After January 1, 1990, was found to be mentally ill and subject to an order under ORS 
426.130 that the person be prohibited from purchasing or possessing a firearm as a result of 
that mental illness; 
      (g) Has been convicted of a misdemeanor involving violence or found guilty except for 
insanity under ORS 161.295 of a misdemeanor involving violence within the previous four years. 
As used in this paragraph, “misdemeanor involving violence” means a misdemeanor described 
in ORS 163.160, 163.187, 163.190, 163.195 or 166.155 (1)(b); or 
      (h) Has been found guilty except for insanity under ORS 161.295 of a felony. 
      (2) A person may not sell, deliver or otherwise transfer any firearm that the person knows or 
reasonably should know is stolen. 
      (3) Subsection (1)(a) of this section does not prohibit: 
      (a) The parent or guardian, or another person with the consent of the parent or guardian, of 
a minor from transferring to the minor a firearm, other than a handgun; or 
      (b) The temporary transfer of any firearm to a minor for hunting, target practice or any other 
lawful purpose. 
      (4) Violation of this section is a Class A misdemeanor.  
 
 
137.540 Conditions of probation; evaluation and treatment; fees; effect of failure to abide 
by conditions; modification. (1) The court may sentence the defendant to probation subject to 
the following general conditions unless specifically deleted by the court. The probationer shall: 
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      (m) Not possess weapons, firearms or dangerous animals. 
 

POSSIBLE BACKGROUND CHECK RESULTS 

 

Unless a background check is cancelled by the requestor or stopped due to required information 

not being provided (such as identification does meet the requirements) one of the following 

determinations will be provided by OSP at the time the background check has been initiated. 

 

APPROVED:  If approved, OSP will provide the seller with a unique approval number indicating 

that the purchaser is qualified to complete the transfer.  ORS 166.412 

 Private Party only: The unique approval number is a permit valid for 24 hours for the 

requested transfer. If the firearm is not transferred from the seller to the purchaser within 

24 hours after receipt of the unique approval number, a new request must be made by 

the seller.  ORS 166.436 

 

DENIED:  If the purchaser is disqualified the seller will be notified that the purchaser is denied.  

No further information is provided to the seller. ORS 166.412 

 

PEND/DELAY:  If the department is unable to determine whether the purchaser is qualified or 

disqualified from completing the transfer within 30 minutes of receiving the request, the 

department shall notify the seller and provide an estimate of the time when the department will 

provide the requested information. ORS 166.412   

OSP provides each dealer with information regarding how the purchaser may contact OSP for 

further information about a denied or delayed result. 


