
THINGS TO KNOW BEFORE PURCHASING A FIREARM IN THE STATE OF OREGON 
 

Knowing what to expect and how that information will apply to your specific situation can be very useful when 
going through a background check for a firearms purchase.  A firearms background check involves accessing 
criminal records from all 50 states and the federal government.  If you have a potential disqualifier on your 
record it will be researched no matter how old the event is.  It is important to note that records reported by 
criminal justice agencies often do not have specific details about a crime as it pertains to firearms laws, and 
because both federal and state disqualifications can include crimes that may not be obvious within the 
categories listed below, it is a good practice to become aware of the details that could prevent an immediate 
approved background check response. 

 
FEDERAL DISQUALIFICATION CATEGORIES 
• CONVICTION (Felony or Misdemeanor) where the crime has a maximum imprisonment term exceeding 

1 year (even if you did not receive actual imprisonment exceeding 1 year) 
• WARRANT(Felony or Out of State Misdemeanor) 
• FELONY PRE-TRIAL RELEASE 
• MISDEMEANOR CRIMES OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE 
• RESTRAINING/STALKING/PROTECTION ORDER 
• MENTAL HEALTH ADJUDICATION OR COMMITMENT  
• UNLAWFUL USE OR ADDICTED TO A CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE (Including Marijuana)  
• DISHONORABLE DISCHARGE FROM THE ARMED FORCES 
• RENOUNCED US CITIZENSHIP 
• ILLEGAL ALIEN 
 
OREGON SPECIFIC DISQUALIFIERS (In addition to the above federal disqualifiers) 
• CONVICTION of a violent misdemeanor within the previous 4 years 
• PROBATION with conditions limiting possession of a firearm 
 
 

POSSIBLE BACKGROUND CHECK RESULTS 
 
One of the following 3 determinations will be provided within 30 minutes or less to the transferor at the time 
the background check is requested, as required by Oregon law.  

 
1. APPROVED:  OSP will provide the transferor with a unique approval number indicating that the 

purchaser is qualified to complete the transfer. (approx. 94% of backgrounds are approved within minutes 
of initiation) 
 

2. DENIED:  OSP will notify the transferor that the purchaser is denied.  No further information is provided to 
the transferor. (approx. 1% of backgrounds are denied within minutes of initiation) 
 

3. PEND/DELAY:  If OSP is unable to determine if the purchaser is qualified or disqualified within 30 
minutes of the request, OSP is required to notify the transferor and provide an estimate of the time when 
OSP will complete the background check. (approx. 5% are placed in pend/delay status at the time the 
check is initiated due to missing information about a potential disqualification) 
 
While the decision to transfer a firearm after the statutorily allowable period is solely up to the transferor 
(should OSP fail to provide a unique approval number or notify the transferor that the purchaser is 
disqualified), OSP will continue work to complete the requested background check until resolved or 
cancelled by the transferor. 
 

 
Additional details about eligibility and the background check process can be found at:  
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/ID/docs/Background%20Check%20Outline_What%20to%20Expect_Master%20
Copy%20032615.pdf      
 
For further information or questions about Oregon’s program, please call the CJIS Division at 503-373-
1808 or contact the Firearms Unit by email at osp.firearms@state.or.us 
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