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Rules and Statutes  
It is very important when one considers application for a promoter license, to take the time to 
familiarize oneself with the laws and rules of Oregon pertaining to combative sports.  
  
Oregon State Athletic Commission statutory authority is contained in Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 
Chapter 463 – Boxing, Mixed Martial Arts and Entertainment Wrestling, these laws can be found online 
at:   https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors463.html 
 
Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) is the official compilation of rules and regulations having the force of 
law in Oregon.  These are the regulatory and administrative corollary to the Oregon Revised Statutes, 
and can be found at:    http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_200/oar_230/230_tofc.html  
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Pre- Event Preparation 
 
STEP 1:  Submit at least 60 days prior to event 
Check 
Submit: Requirements: 

 Event Application       
 Seating Plan Filed w/ Director  
 Register Fight Card w/ ABC  
 Fight Card Weights 
 
Event applications should be submitted a minimum of 60 days prior to the event date.  A seating plan 
must accompany an event application.  Upon submission of the event application, OSAC staff will 
immediately ask physicians and officials for their availability.  Once a physician has accepted the event, 
and there are sufficient officials available for the event, OSAC will email the promoter an official event 
approval.  This approval will provide event details including date, time and location of weigh-in and pre-
fight medicals as approved by the director.  Please take the time to review the details to avoid any issues 
as the event date approaches. 
 
MMA Event Application  
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/901_1_Promoter_Event_Application_MMA.pdf  
 
 
Upon approval of the event and the seating plan, we ask that the promoter register their fight card on 
the ABC Mixed Martial Arts Database.  It is very important that as bouts are scheduled, cancelled and as 
competitors change, the ABC site continues to be updated.  The Executive Director must approve all 
bouts and is unable to do so if the card is not maintained on ABC.    
Letter to Promoters https://abc.mixedmartialarts.com/includes/downloads/PromotersLetter.pdf  

Instructions   https://abc.mixedmartialarts.com/includes/downloads/PromotersManual.pdf  
Login   http://abc.mixedmartialarts.com    
 
Weights and weight class information is not relayed over the ABC MMA Database; please forward 
competition weights for each bout scheduled to OSAC.   
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Event Prep Deadline 
STEP 2:  Submit a minimum of 4 working days prior to event 
Check 
Submit: Requirements: 

 Licensing of Competitors - Complete 
 Licensing of Professional Seconds - Complete 
 Hotel reservations for officials if applicable 
 Pro Competitor Contracts 
 Pay Officials Fees 
 Medical Insurance / Pre-filled and Signed Claim Form 
 Paramedic  and Dedicated Ambulance 
 Pre-fight Plan 
 

LICENSING OF COMPETITORS 

OSAC understands that the process of ensuring all competitors are licensed is a challenging and stressful 
affair for promoters.  Promoters are encouraged to require competitors to become licensed as a 
precursor to being added to the fight card.  It is our strong belief that in doing so, card modifications will 
be greatly reduced, competitor training time will be increased, and preparation for the official weigh-in 
can be conducted more safely over a longer period of time.  A decrease in the need for last minute 
substitutions due to incomplete license applications would greatly reduce promoter stress. 

All applications for competitor licensure must be complete 4 days prior to the commencement of the 
event.  OSAC may make adjustments to this deadline based on holiday schedules or multiple events 
scheduled for the same date.  As a benefit to the promoter, OSAC will provide a weekly update to the 
Competitor Requirements Form, with more frequent updates the two weeks leading up to the event.   

NO MONEY OR PAPERWORK WILL BE ACCEPTED AFTER THE CUTOFF DATE OR AT WEIGH-INS 

License Requirements:  All competitors are required to hold a National MMA ID card and be licensed by 
the Oregon State Athletic Commission to participate in MMA events in Oregon.  Requirements for 
licensure vary based upon license type.   Both are issued by the athletic commission.    The National ID is 
valid for 5 years.  The OSAC license is valid for 1 year from issuance.    
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National MMA ID Card (required for all MMA competitors)  
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/302_ABC_MMA_Application.pdf  
No Fee  
2 forms of valid government issued ID 
Photo 
 
Amateur MMA  
Oregon Application for Amateur MMA  
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/301_Amateur_MMA_License_Application.pdf 
Photo 
$10 Fee (Can be paid by phone) 
Blood Results collected within the past 30 days 

HIV: HIV 1/2 serium AB (HIV 1/2 antibodies, EIA with confirmation, CPT Code 86703) 
Hepatitis B: HBsAg (Hepatitis B surface antigen, CPT Code 87340) 
Hepatitis C: HCAb (Hepatitis C antibody, CPT Code 86803)  

Note:  To avoid timing issues, competitors should get blood drawn and submit blood results and 
application as soon as possible. 
 
Pro MMA   
Oregon Application for Professional MMA 
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/201_Pro_MMA_License_Application.pdf 
Photo 
$15 Fee (Can be paid by phone) 
Blood Results collected within the past 30 days 

HIV: HIV 1/2 serium AB (HIV 1/2 antibodies, EIA with confirmation, CPT Code 86703) 
Hepatitis B: HBsAg (Hepatitis B surface antigen, CPT Code 87340) 
Hepatitis C: HCAb (Hepatitis C antibody, CPT Code 86803) 

Report of Physical Exam (completed by physician within 30 days of the application submission date) 
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/101_Report_of_Physical_Exam.pdf   
Note:  To avoid timing issues, competitors should get blood drawn, physical exam and submit with blood 
results and application as soon as possible. 
 
PROFESSIONAL SECONDS/MANAGERS  
*All Seconds/Managers for Professional bouts are required to be licensed by the Oregon State Athletic 
Commission or they will not be allowed to accompany the competitor to the cage, enter the cage 
between rounds, or sit cage side to coach a professional competitor. 
 
Oregon Application for Professional Seconds  
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/1103_Seconds_License_Application.pdf  
$15.00 Fee (Can be paid by phone) 
Photo 
 
Managers Application  
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/1101_Manager_Application.pdf   
Photo 
$40.00 (Can be paid by phone) 
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HOTEL RESERVATIONS FOR OFFICIALS 
Two weeks prior to the event, OSAC will provide the promoter with a list of officials requesting hotel 
accommodations. Hotel information should be provided to OSAC for notification to impacted officials. 
 
 
 
 
 
OFFICIALS FEES INVOICE 
Approximately 2 weeks prior to the event OSAC will provide the promoter with an invoice for officials 
fees to be paid by the promoter in the form of an official check or by credit/debit card 4 days prior to 
the event commencement.  
 
Fees are calculated as follows:  
Referee:   $.25 per mile* 
Judge:  $.25 per mile* 
Timekeeper: $.25 per mile* 
Inspector: $50 + $.25 per mile* 
Physician: $300  
 
*Mileage is calculated at $0.25 per mile round trip from home address to venue and return to home 
address.  Mileage is only applied to person’s living  > 40 miles round trip from the venue.  This number is 
calculated using map quest by OSAC staff. 
 
The number of officials scheduled is based on the scope and scale of the event and any special 
circumstances/requirements of the event/venue.  Televised events, pro bouts on the card, larger 
number of bouts on the card, etc., may require additional officials.  OSAC strives to control costs to the 
promoter by assigning officials that live in close proximity to the event, but it is not always possible. 
 
NOTE: Please be aware that these fees are subject to change as we continue to review and revise our 
administrative rules.  We welcome the public to be involved in this rule making process.  Licensed 
promoters are already receiving notification of the dates and times of meeting of the Rules Advisory 
Committee, meetings of the board that makes up the Oregon State Athletic Commission as well as 
Notifications of Public Hearings for rule changes.  These meetings are also posted to the OSAC website 
calendar of events. 
 
 
At a minimum there will be the following officials assigned to each event:  1 Referee 
          3 Judges 
          1 Timekeeper 
          4 Inspectors 
          2 Doctors 
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PRO FIGHTER CONTRACTS 
Contracts for professional competitors must be submitted for approval 4 days prior to the 
commencement of the scheduled event.  Each contract must be signed by the promoter and the 
competitor.  
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/MMA_Fighter_Promoter_Contract.pdf  
 
Contracts must contain at least the following components: 

• Total Purse Amount 
• The scheduled date, location and time of the contest or exhibition 
• A 20% penalty for failure to make the agreed upon weight limit at the official weigh in 

conducted by the commission. 
• Any deductions from the competitor’s purse must be stipulated in the contract, or will not be 

allowed. 
Competitors shall be paid in full according to their contracts.  Any deduction from the purse for any 
reason must be documented in the contract and approved by the Executive Director. 
 
MEDICAL INSURANCE 
The promoter of any Mixed Martial Arts event shall provide insurance coverage for each competitor to 
provide medical, surgical and hospital care for the competitors who are injured while engaging in a 
contest or exhibition.   
 
 
 
Professional Coverage Minimums:   

• $20,000 for medical treatment of injuries sustained by the competitor while participating in the 
event. 

• $50,000 death benefit payable to the estate of any competitor should death occur from injuries 
received while participating in a mixed martial arts contest or exhibition. 

Amateur Coverage Minimums:  
• $10,000 for medical treatment of injuries sustained by the competitor while participating in the 

event. 
 

The competitor may not be required to pay a deductible for the medical, surgical or hospital care for 
injuries the competitor sustains while engaging in a contest or exhibition. 
 
Please submit a prefilled and signed insurance claim form to save time in providing the information to 
an injured competitor after a bout. 
 
PARAMEDIC AND DEDICATED AMBULANCE 
It is the promoter’s responsibility to ensure safety for the competitors, officials and spectators.  This 
includes the responsibility to provide an onsite ambulance.  There must be at least one licensed 
paramedic. 
 
PRE-FIGHT PLAN 
There must be a written pre-fight plan and route to remove an injured competitor from the ringside and 
arena.  The promoter shall provide a copy of the plan to the Director no later than 4 days prior to the 
commencement of the event.  The plan must include the location of nearest continuously physician-
staffed emergency room and the location of the nearest neurosurgical facility.  
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Private Security 
Private Security Services – Anyone performing these duties must be licensed by the state of Oregon to 
perform such duties. 
 
Means the performance of at least one of the following activities:  
(a) Observing and reporting unlawful activity;  
(b) Preventing or detecting theft or misappropriation of any goods, money or other items of value;  
(c) Protecting individuals or property, including, but not limited to proprietary information, from harm 
or misappropriation;  
(d) Controlling access to premises being protected or, with respect to a licensee of the Oregon Liquor 
Control Commission, controlling access to premises at an entry to the premises or any portion of the 
premises where minors are prohibited;  
(e) Securely moving prisoners;  
(f) Taking enforcement action by detaining persons or placing persons under arrest under ORS 133.225; 
or  
(g) Providing canine services for guarding premises or for the detection of unlawful devices or 
substances.  
 
Certification/Licensure Types 
"Private Security Professional" means an individual who performs, as the individual's primary 
responsibility, private security services for consideration, regardless of whether the individual, while 
performing private security services, is armed or unarmed or wears a uniform or plain clothes, and 
regardless of whether the individual is employed part-time or full-time to perform private security 
services. 
"Executive Manager" means a person:  
(a) Who is authorized to act on behalf of a company or business in matters of licensure and certification;  
(b) Who is authorized to hire and terminate personnel;  
(c) Whose primary responsibility is the management of certified private security professionals; and  
(d) Who has final responsibility for a company’s or business’s compliance with the ORS 181.870 to 
181.991.  
Each business, employer or entity with private security professional staff of at least one person must 
designate an individual to perform the duties of an executive manager as described in these rules. This 
provision applies to any business, employer or entity that provides private security services within this 
state, regardless of whether the business, employer or entity is located in or out of this state. 
"Supervisory Manager" means an employee of, or a person supervised by, an executive manager who 
has as a primary responsibility the supervision of certified private security professionals. 

You may contact the DPSST with any private security questions – Private Security at 503-378-5831 for 
information or check the website at http://www.oregon.gov/DPSST/PS/pages/index.aspx   
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Exemptions 

There is an exemption for individuals that are providing crowd management or guest services.  This 
would be described as a ticket taker, an usher, a parking attendant, or event staff. 

This section applies only: 

(a) To a person who is not: 

(A) Armed; 

(B) Permitted to initiate confrontational activities, including physical contact and the confiscation of 
property; or 

(C) Hired with the primary responsibility of taking enforcement action as described in ORS 181.870 (8)(f); 

(b) If there is at least one person on-site who is certified or licensed under ORS 181.878 for every 10 or 
fewer uncertified persons performing the services described in subsection (1)(k) of this section; 

(c) If any enforcement action, as described in ORS 181.870 (8)(f), other than incidental or temporary 
action, is taken by or under the supervision of a person certified or licensed under ORS 181.878; and 

(d) During the time when a crowd has assembled for the purpose of attending or taking part in an 
organized event, including pre-event assembly, event operation hours and post-event departure 
activities. 

 

Additional Requirements 

 (1) A person performing crowd management, event or guest services who is armed, permitted to 
initiate confrontational activities, hired with the primary responsibility of taking enforcement action as 
described in ORS 181.870(8)(f), or performing any other private security service must be certified or 
licensed as described in the Act and these rules. (meaning certified as a private security professional and 
meeting the requirement with having an executive manager) 

(2) Crowd Management, Event Services, or Guest Service managers, contractors or companies who 
employ individuals to provide private security services must:  
(a) Employ or contract with a licensed executive manager;  
(b) Require individuals performing or expected to perform private security services obtain certification;  
(c) Require all individuals who supervise certified private security professionals or crowd management, 
event or guest services staff to be licensed in accordance to OAR 259-060-0130;  
(d) Provide one certified private security professional on-site for every 10 or fewer crowd management 
or event staff;  
(e) Provide documentation confirming private security certifications, licenses and appropriate staffing 
ratio found in (1)(d) upon request; and  
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(f) Provide crowd management staff technological communication or visibility of a certified private 
security professional when action is needed as required in ORS 181.871.  
 
(3) Pursuant to ORS 181.871, non-certified and non-licensed staff performing crowd management can 
only be used during a time when a crowd has assembled for the purpose of attending or taking part in 
an organized event, including pre-event assembly, event operation hours and post-event departure 
activities.  
 
(4) Civil penalties may be assessed for violation of these rules in accordance with OAR 259-060-0450.  
 

Compliance 

(1) The Department may cause administrative proceedings or court action to be initiated to enforce 
compliance with the Act and these rules.  

(2) Violations. The Department may find violation and recommend assessment of civil penalties upon 
finding that a private security provider, individual, business or entity has previously engaged in or is 
currently engaging in any of the following acts:  
(a) Providing private security services without valid certification or licensure or Temporary Work Permit;  
(b) Failure to submit properly completed forms or documentation in a time frame as designated by the 
Department;  
(c) The falsification of any documents submitted to the Department;  
(d) Failure to cease providing private security services upon issuance of a cease and desist order, 
expiration of certification or licensure, notice of termination, suspension, denial or revocation;  
(e) Failure to complete required training as prescribed in OAR 259-060-0060;  
(f) Failure to report criminal charges as required in ORS 181.885;  
(g) Providing training without a valid certification;  
(h) Failure of a private security instructor to instruct the full Department-approved curriculum;  
(i) Failure to terminate employment as a private security provider of an individual whose application has 
been terminated, or whose certification or licensure has been suspended, denied or revoked, upon 
notice from the Department to do so;  
(j) Employing private security providers who have not completed the training and application process 
required under the Act and these rules;  
(k) Failure to employ a licensed executive manager;  
(l) Failure to provide technological communication or visibility of a certified security professional to 
crowd management staff;  
(m) Failure to provide documentation of one certified security professional to ten crowd management 
staff;  
(n) Expecting crowd management staff to perform security services duties other than the duties 
incidental to crowd management; or  
(o) Any other violation of requirements of the Act or these rules.   
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Weigh-In 
STEP 3:  Weigh In (OAR 230-030-150) 
Check 
Submit: Tasks: 

 Date/Time/Location approved by OSAC 
 Table and chairs for commission use 
 Flat area surface for the official scale  
 
See OAR 230-030-150 for additional information regarding weigh-in requirements. 

• No competitor will be allowed to weigh-in unless properly licensed. 
• The official weigh-in must be within 24 hours of the commencement of the event. 
• The weigh-in time and place must be approved by the Director, and conducted in the presence 

of the Director or an authorized representative. 
• Scales approved by the Director shall be utilized for the official weigh-in. 
• Championship or title bouts are not allowed a 1 pound allowance, the competitors must be at or 

below the agreed upon weight. 
• Professional boxing or MMA competitor who fails to make the weight agreed upon in his or her 

bout agreement forfeits 20% of his or her purse to his or her opponent, if they are unable to 
make the agreed upon weight in the allotted time period, and the bout takes place.  If the 
professional competitor is able to make the agreed upon weight or weighs less than 1 pound 
outside the agreed limits, no forfeit may be imposed or fine assessed upon the competitor. 

• Any competitor late to the weigh-in may face disciplinary action for both the competitor and the 
competitor’s manager.  

• If competitor is 5% or more over the agreed upon weight, competitor may be disqualified and 
both competitor and manager may face disciplinary action. 

• If competitor shows evidence of significant dehydration, of having taken diuretics or other drugs 
or having used any other harsh modality, the examining physician or medical personnel may 
disqualify the competitor and recommend disciplinary action. 

• There is one official weigh in, no exceptions will be made for individuals unable to attend the 
official weigh in. 
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Pre-Fight Medicals 

STEP 4:  Prefight Medical Exams 
Check 
Submit: Tasks: 

 Date/Time/Location approved by OSAC 
 Restroom Access 
 Space w/ table and chair for physician 
 Privacy 
 

• Competitors must be properly licensed to participate in Pre-Fight medical Exams 
• Any competitor late to the pre-fight medical exams may face disciplinary action for both the 

competitor and the competitor’s manager.  
• If competitor shows evidence of significant dehydration, of having taken diuretics or other drugs 

or having used any other harsh modality, the examining physician or medical personnel may 
disqualify the competitor and recommend disciplinary action. 

Event Day Requirements 
STEP 5:  Event Day 
Check 
Submit: Tasks: 

 Provide Access passes for officials 
 Inspection of the cage & secure fenced area (230-140-0040) 
 Official fight cards for OSAC officials at rules meeting (15-20) 
 Rules Meeting (230-030-0280) 

 Meeting with licensed security staff   
 Water ringside for officials  
 Cleanser for Cage (bleach solution in chemical sprayer with wand is ideal) & 

dedicated person to clean 
 Towels for cage side  (25) 
 Dressing rooms for Red/Blue  
 Dedicated person to control the cage door 
 Alcohol: only serve in paper/plastic cups (no cans/bottles allowed in venue) and 

no alcohol allowed inside secure fenced area. 
 No one under 18 allowed within the secure fenced area 
 Immediately after event, disburse any purses to Pro-competitors w/ OSAC Rep 
 
ACCESS PASSES 
Promoter shall provide access passes to the OSAC representatives for each official. 
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DISBURSMENT OF PURSE/WIN MONEY TO PRO COMPETITORS 
Checks for Pro-Competitors should be ready and given to OSAC representative before commencement 
of the event.    OSAC will disburse purse and any applicable win money after the completion of the 
event.  Professional competitors will sign a purse receipt in approval of the amount and proof of receipt. 

Post Event Requirements 
 
STEP 6:  Post Event (within 72 hours of event end) 
Check 
Submit: Tasks: 

 Submit Ticket Sales and Gross Receipts Form 
 Submit 6% Gross Tax on Receipts Calculated on “Ticket Sales and Gross 

Receipts Form” 
 Review commissions noted concerns for future event improvement 
 
 
TICKET SALES / GROSS RECEIPTS 
Ticket stubs not audited by the Director’s office must be retained by the promoter for six months, each 
show stored separately and available upon request.  
 
ORS 463.320, the amount of the tax is six percent of the total gross receipts from the sale of tickets or 
other fees charged for admission to the event.  The written report and six percent is due within 72 hours 
of the completion of the event.  
 
Promoter’s Ticket Sales and Total Gross Receipts Tax Report 
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/901_4_Ticket_Sales_and_Gross_Receipts.pdf 
Event financial information must be retained for a period of no less than 5 years. 
 
Ticket stubs are to be kept for 6 months, each event stored separately, and available for review at the 
request of the commission.   
 
Event records are to be kept and available for review for 5 years, and available for review at the request 
of the commission.   
  
 
Disclaimer: This promoter checklist is merely a tool to assist in the promoter’s event planning process.   
It does not replace any governing rules or statutes set forth by the Oregon State Athletic Commission 
to regulate professional boxing, mixed martial arts, or entertainment wrestling.   
There is no substitute for familiarizing yourself with the governing rules and statutes.   
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