OREGON DRUG EVALUATION & CLASSIFICATION PROGRAM
2016 DRE SCHOOL APPLICATION

INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS OR THOSE MISSSING ANY SIGNATURES WILL NOT BE CONSIDERED.

Name: Rank: DPSST#:
Agency: Hire date:
Agency Address:

Current Assignment: Work Telephone#:
Email Address:

The Oregon Drug Evaluation Classification (DEC) Program has received national acclaim for its success in
identifying the drug-impaired driver. Officers trained as Drug Recognition Experts (DREs) are frequently
called upon to differentiate between drug influence and medical and/or mental disorders. The certified DRE
is an extremely valuable tool in combating the adverse impact of drug and alcohol impaired driving in our
communities.

DRE School is extremely demanding. To receive certification as a DRE, three phases of training must be
completed. The following summarizes each phase:

ACADEMIC TRAINING (Phase I & II):

This phase is typically conducted over nine days (72 hours). It includes courses in physiology, vital signs,
standardized field sobriety testing (SFST), and extensive material on each of the seven categories of the drugs
of abuse. The training includes three written examinations, an SFST proficiency examination and five written
quizzes. Students must achieve a minimum of 80% average on the five quizzes, 80% on the three
examinations, and must demonstrate proficiency in administering SFST's.

CERTIFICATION PHASE (Phase III):

This phase is typically conducted over five days (40-50 hours). After successfully completing the academic
portion, the students must complete the certification phase. It is the student's responsibility to complete the
certification requirements within six months following the DRE School. These requirements include:
conducting a minimum of 12 drug influence evaluations while under the supervision of a DRE instructor;
identifying subjects under the influence, and attaining a 80% toxicological confirmation rate. In addition, the
student must maintain a progress log, rolling log and submit a written curriculum vitae. Finally, the student
must pass a comprehensive final knowledge examination, and obtain the written endorsement of two
certified DRE instructors.

The International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) and the Oregon DECP Policies & Procedures Manual
are the regulating bodies for the DEC Program. Certification is valid for two years. In order to maintain
certification, DRE's must conduct a minimum of four evaluations (one observed in front of an instructor)
every two years, submit an updated rolling log and curriculum vitae, and attend 8-hours of re-certification
training.
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To be considered for DRE training, the applicant must meet the following criteria:

Must have a minimum of two years of law enforcement service.

Must be off probation with your agency.

Must be working in patrol with your agency.

Must be SFST, DID (Drugs that Impair Driving), and Intoxilyzer 8000 certified.
Must have a reasonable background and experience level of making DUII arrests.
Must have a written endorsement/recommendation from your local prosecutor.
Must have written endorsements/recommendations from two local DREs.

Must submit two actual DUII arrest reports for review.

To assist in the selection of quality personnel for the Oregon DEC Program, please complete the following
information:

Date of most recent SFST training: [ 14 hr Refresher [ ]16hrs []24 hrs
Have you attended ARIDE? [ ] Online ARIDE [INo []Yes Training date:
DUII arrests in career: DUII arrests in last 2 years:

Possession of a Controlled Substance (PCS) arrests in the last 2 years:

Summarize your prior assignments related to, or of interest to, the DRE Program:

Summarize your formal education, work or practical experience, and training that may be related to, or may
be of interest to, the DEC Program (EMT training, college, etc.):

How do you expect DRE training to benefit you and your Department?
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Is there anything else you would like the DRE Selection Committee to know about your interest in DRE?

List two DREs who recommend you for DRE training (Enclose written recommendations):

List a local prosecutor who recommends you for DRE training (enclose written recommendation):

I have read and understand the Oregon DECP Policies and Procedures regarding the DRE Training and
Certification Process.

Applicant’s signature: Date:

If a student withdraws from the DRE full school, DRE Field Certifications, and/or the final knowledge exam
(excludes DRE PRE-School) or is unwilling to complete the training process for any reason except for those
outlined in the Oregon DECP Policies & Procedures Manual, the sponsoring agency is responsible for
reimbursing the Oregon DECP for any expenses accrued.

[ understand and agree that any certified Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) with our agency will be available to
other law enforcement agencies to perform a DRE Evaluation. If overtime is accrued, the DRE overtime grant
will pay for the callout. (Commanding Officer’s initials)

INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS OR THOSE MISSSING ANY SIGNATURES WILL NOT BE CONSIDERED.

I have read the listed requirements and I recommend this officer for DRE training,

Supervisor's signature: Date:
Commanding Officer's signature: Date:
Commanding Officer’s name (printed): Title:

Return completed applications to:
Sergeant Evan Sether

Oregon State Police

4th Floor

255 Capitol Street NE

Salem, OR 97310
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