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This guidebook was developed by the Office of State Fire Marshal, 
members of the Oregon fire service, and fireworks companies.   
 
The purpose of this guidebook is to provide information to retail 
operators to assist you in being compliant with fireworks laws and 
rules, and to ensure your tent/stand is operated as safely as possible.  
 
Included in this guidebook are informational pamphlets, laws and 
rules which will help with the proper set-up of your tent/stand. A 
worksheet of common inspection elements that fire departments may 
use as a baseline for their inspections is also included to ensure your 
tent/stand is set up properly before you are inspected by a fire 
department. 
 
There is also a Q&A section that addresses frequently asked 
questions. 
 
We encourage you to review this guidebook and contact your 
wholesaler or this office if you have any questions on how you should 
operate your tent/stand. 
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RETAIL SALES  
 

FIREWORKS BROCHURE 
 



Retailers who want to sell fireworks to the 
general public for personal use are required 
to obtain a retail sales permit from the Office 
of State Fire Marshal (OSFM). The permit 
allows the Permit Holder to purchase 
fireworks from an Oregon licensed 
wholesaler, sell fireworks to the general 
public, and store allowed fireworks in 
conformance with Oregon Administrative 
Rules 837-012-0600 through 837-012-0675. 
The permit is non-transferable, cannot be 
leased, sub-leased, contracted or sub-
contracted to any other person. 
 

APPLICATION PROCESS 
 

Applications may be obtained from the 
OSFM, the wholesaler the applicant intends to 
purchase fireworks from, or our website at 
www.oregon.gov/osp/sfm Applications may 
be submitted after January 1 of the year which 
the permit is requested. 

 
Applications must be completed in their 
entirety, including the signature of the 
appropriate fire authority in the jurisdiction 
where the retail fireworks will be sold. 
 
It is recommended that applications be 
submitted to the OSFM no later than April 15 
for the year in which the permit is being 
sought. Applications received after April 15 
are not guaranteed to be processed. 
 
Please allow a minimum of 30 days from the 
date the OSFM receives an application for the 
permit to be issued.  
 
 

FEE SCHEDULE 
 

Retail Sales Application Fee  - $100.00 
In the event an application is denied or the 
applicant withdraws the request, application 
fees will not be refunded. 
 

SIGNATURES REQUIRED 
 

INDIVIDUAL COMPLETING APPLICATION 
• The individual completing the application 

must sign the application; provide their 
address, phone number, and age. 

LOCAL FIRE AUTHORITY 
• Inside City Limits - signature of the Fire 

Chief or authorized representative. 
• Outside City Limits and Inside Rural 

Fire Protection District - signature of the 
District Chief or authorized representative. 

• Outside City Limits and Outside Rural 
Fire Protection District - signature of 
area Deputy State Fire Marshal. 

 
DOCUMENTS 

 

The following documents will be required by most 
local fire authorities before they sign an 
Application for Retail Sales of Fireworks Permit. 
• Photo identification of the person responsible 

for sales 
• Proof of insurance 
 
APPLICABLE STATUTES, RULES AND 

OTHER REFERENCES 
 

Oregon Revised Statutes 480.110 through 
480.165, and 480.990. 
National Fire Protection Association 
Standard (NFPA) 10 

 
 
 

SALES SITES 
 

Outside Stand 
• One exit opening or outward swing exit 

door for each 1,000 square feet or each 20 
feet of structure length is required. 

• Exit openings shall be at least 2 feet wide 
and 5 feet high. 

• Trailers shall have their wheels blocked or 
removed or the tongue locked and the 
trailer disconnected from any source that 
can move it. 

• All fuel tanks, including propane, shall be 
empty or removed. 

• Tents, canopies or tables may be used if 
they comply with Oregon Fire and 
Building Code requirements. 

• Tents, canopies, sawdust, etc., shall be 
treated to be fire retardant. 

• There shall be a minimum of one 2A rated 
water-type extinguisher or the equivalent, 
or as determined by the fire authority, at 
each sales site. 

• Sales structures shall be a minimum of: 
50 feet from flammable liquid/gas 
dispensers, 

 15 feet from streets or public right-of-way 
 10 feet from combustible structures 
 20 feet from sources of ignition. 
• Sales structures shall be a maximum of 

one story in height. 
• “NO SMOKING” signs shall be posted on 

all outside stand walls in red 2.5 inches 
high lettering on a white background. 

• Smoking, open flames, or use of fireworks 
is not allowed within 100 feet of the stand. 

 
 
 

http://www.oregon.gov/osp/sfm


Inside Sales 
• Sales areas shall be located in such a 

manner that during a fire they would not 
hinder or block any exit, including a 
required checkstand exit. 

• Excess fireworks shall be stored inside the 
structure only if separated from the 
fireworks sales area, exits, flammable 
liquids, highly combustible materials, and 
access by customers. 

• Fire extinguishers shall be provided at the 
sales site as required by National Fire 
Protection Association Standard 10 and 
local codes. 

• Indoor sales are not permitted in bars, 
taverns, single or multi-family 
residential structures or motor homes. 

• “NO SMOKING” signs shall be posted. 
 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
 

Retail sales are from June 23 through July 6. 
The person in charge of the stand must be at 
least 18 years of age and be in the stand at all 
times the stand is open. 
 
The retail permit holder or the individual 
responsible for sales shall be present at the 
retail sales outlet at least 50% of the outlet’s 
business hours each day. When not present at 
the outlet, the individual responsible for sales 
shall be readily available, day or night, by 
telephone or other reliable means of 
communication.  
 
The individual responsible for sales may be 
absent from the retail sales outlet for up to  
48 consecutive hours twice during the period  
of time the retail permit is valid. The two  

48-hour time periods shall not be consecutive. 
The individual responsible for sales, when not 
at the retail site, shall be available through 
their 24-hour contact number listed on the 
permit application. 
 
Any time the individual responsible for sales 
is not present at the retail sales outlet during 
the business hours of the outlet, at least one 
individual, 18 years of age and older, shall be 
present at the outlet. Such individual shall be 
an employee or volunteer of the retail permit 
holder’s volunteer non-profit organization. 
Such individual shall be directly responsible 
for, and in charge of, the retail sales outlet at 
all times. 
 
Individual members of the general public must be 16 
years of age or older to buy fireworks. 
 
All retail fireworks not sold during the time 
the retail permit is valid, shall be returned to 
the supplying wholesaler no later than July 31 
of the year in which the permit is valid. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
For more information or additional copies 
of this brochure, contact the Office of State 
Fire Marshal at (503) 934-8274.  
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GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR 
RETAIL SALES OF FIREWORKS AT STANDS/TENTS 

 
OREGON STATE POLICE 

OFFICE OF STATE FIRE MARSHAL 
4760 PORTLAND ROAD NE 

SALEM, OR  97305 
(503) 934-8274 

Fax:  (503) 934-8288 
 
 
RETAIL SALES ARE ALLOWED FROM JUNE 23RD THROUGH JULY 6. 
 
The general requirements listed in this document are excerpts from Oregon Administrative Rules Chapter 837, Division 12.  There 
are additional requirements that must be met.  A copy of the rules adopted under Chapter 837, Division 12, is available from the 
Office of State Fire Marshal or on line at:   

http://oregon.gov/OSP/SFM/Licensing_Fireworks_Retail.shtml. 
 
Violation of these requirements or the administrative rules adopted under Chapter 837, Division 12, may result in the suspension or 
revocation of a retail sales permit and the issuance of a civil penalty. 
 
 

PRIOR TO OPENING THE STAND/TENT: 
 

1) Obtain all local and state permits, approvals and licenses required (including building permits, 
electrical permits, temporary use permits). 

2) Ensure stand placement meets all local and state regulations. 
 
 
WHILE THE STAND/TENT IS OPEN: 
 

1) One person, at least 18 years old, must be in the stand at all times when it is open. 
2) The individual responsible for sales must be available for contact day or night. 
3) “NO SMOKING” signs shall be posted on all outside walls of the stand.  The signs shall be readily 

visible to all engaged in retail sales, customers and others near the sales outlet.  Sign lettering shall 
be red and be at least 2 1/2 inches high on a white background. 

4) One water-type, 2A fire extinguisher or equivalent water-type extinguishing system, as determined 
by local jurisdiction, must be at the stand at all times when the stand is open.  
See Tent Standards for Retail Sales of Fireworks Brochure for additional fire extinguisher 
requirements for tents. 

5) Sales to children less than 16 years of age are not allowed. 
6) Smoking, open flames or lighting fireworks within 100 feet of the stand is not allowed. 
7) Heaters having exposed electrical elements or open flames shall not be used. 
8) The area within 20 feet of the stand must be kept clean and orderly. 
9) The retail sales permit or a copy must be posted at the stand while it is open. 

 

http://oregon.gov/OSP/SFM/Licensing_Fireworks_Retail.shtml
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RETAIL SALES 

 
APPLICATION FOR  
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APPLICATION FOR RETAIL SALES 
OF FIREWORKS PERMIT 

OREGON STATE POLICE 
OFFICE OF STATE FIREMARSHAL 

(503) 934-8274 
Fax: (503) 934-8288 

Fee: $100 0230 
 
Permit No: 
 
 
Deputy: 
 
 
Issue   ______________ 
OSFM OFFICE USE ONLY 

RECOMMENDED SUBMITTAL DATE: 
 

APRIL 15 
 

MAIL APPLICATION AND FEE TO: 
 OFFICE OF STATE FIRE MARSHAL 
 License & Permits Branch 
 P.O. Box 4395 Unit 09 
 Portland OR 97208-4395 

A PERMIT ISSUED UNDER ORS 480.127 IS FOR THE SOLE USE OF THE PERMIT HOLDER AND IS NOT TRANSFERABLE: THE 
PERMIT RIGHTS CANNOT BE LEASED, SUBLEASED, CONTRACTED, OR SUBCONTRACTED TO ANY OTHER PERSON 
 

Important: It is recommended that completed applications and fee be submitted to the State Fire Marshal not 
later than April 15 of the year for which the permit is sought. Applications received after that date may not be 
processed. The retail permit shall be issued prior to any activities allowed by the permit being conducted. 
Please print except as noted. See reverse of form for information on completing each section of this form. 

PERMIT HOLDER INFORMATION 
PERSON (COMPANY, ORGANIZATION, OR INDIVIDUAL) TO WHOM PERMIT IS TO BE ISSUED 
Name:  
 
 
Mailing Address (Street, City, State, Zip Code) 
 
 

Work Phone Number 
 
Fax Number  
 
E-Mail Address 

INDIVIDUAL REPRESENTING COMPANY OR ORGANIZATION LISTED ABOVE 
Name:  
 
 
Mailing Address (Street, City, State, Zip Code) 
 
 

Home Phone Number 

INDIVIDUAL RESPONSIBLE FOR SALES 
INDIVIDUAL SHALL BE RESPONSIBLE FOR ONE LOCATION ONLY.  
Name:  
 
 
Mailing Address (Street, City, State, Zip Code) 
 
 

24-hour Number  
 
 

Age 

STORAGE INFORMATION 
ADDRESS(ES) WHERE FIREWORKS WILL BE STORED (Street, City, State, Zip Code) 
 

Phone Number 

LOCATION OF THE FIREWORKS AT STORAGE ADDRESS(ES)  
 U-Detached  M  S-1 

APPROXIMATE DATES THE FIREWORKS WILL BE AT THE STORAGE AREA(S) 
 
Beginning Storage Date:                                                   Ending Storage Date: 
LOCATION OF FIREWORKS TO OPEN FLAMES, EXPOSED HEATING ELEMENTS, AND DIRECT SOURCES OF IGNITION 
 

Indicate Which of the Following Apply:   None:        Distance in Feet:_____________  Type of Ignition Source:__________________________________ 

DESCRIBE FIRE EXTINGUISHING EQUIPMENT AVAILABLE AT STORAGE AREA(S).  
 

FIRE AUTHORITY SIGNATURE FOR STORAGE LOCATION 
Signature & Title of Fire Authority   Fire Department 

 
 

Printed Name of Fire Authority 
 
 

  Mailing Address of Fire Department 
 

Date Application Signed 
 

  Phone Number 
Fax Number 
E-Mail Address 

Identification Provided to Local Fire Official at Time of Application   Yes___   No___  

 



Signature & Title of Fire Authority   Fire Department 
 

 
Printed Name of Fire Authority 
 
 

 

  Mailing Address of Fire Department 
 

Date Application Signed 
 

  Phone Number 
Fax Number 
E-Mail Address 

Identification Provided to Local Fire Official at Time of Application   Yes___   No___  

 

RETAIL SALES LOCATION INFORMATION 
DO NOT SEND DIAGRAM ON SEPARATE PAPER 

NUMBERED STREET ADDRESS OF SALES (STREET, CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE) COUNTY Check One: Check One: 
 
 
 

  

 Inside Sales 
 Outside Sales 

 

 Tent 
 Stand 

REQUIRED INFORMATION FOR INSIDE SALES DIAGRAM REQUIRED INFORMATION FOR OUTSIDE SALES DIAGRAM 
Location of fireworks display inside the structure 
Location of all exits 
Distance (in feet) from fireworks to all exits 
Location of highly combustible materials, open flames, heating elements, 
or direct ignition sources within a 20 foot radius of fireworks display 

Location of outside sales stand or tent 
Location of all exits from the stand or tent 
Show the distance from tent or stand to the following: 
           Streets/sidewalks - minimum 15 feet 
           Buildings/combustible structures - minimum 10 feet 
           Dispensers of flammable liquids - minimum 50 feet 

DIAGRAM AREA 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Stand or Tent Dimensions:______________________________ 
 

WHOLESALE INFORMATION 
WHOLESALER FROM WHOM APPLICANT INTENDS TO PURCHASE ALLOWED FIREWORKS 
 
 
 

INDIVIDUAL COMPLETING APPLICATION INFORMATION 
NAME OF INDIVIDUAL COMPLETING APPLICATION  
Printed                                        Signature 
 
 
 
Address (Street, City, State, Zip Code) 
 
 
 
NOTE: By signing this application I verify that the information is true to the best of my knowledge. 

Phone Number 
 
 
Fax Number 
 
 
E-Mail Address 
 
 
Age 

FIRE AUTHORITY SIGNATURE FOR SALES LOCATION 

 



Information on completion of Retail Sales of Fireworks Permit Application 
Print or type application, except for signatures, completing all boxes. Do not use “same” to complete information requested. 
 

PERMIT HOLDER INFORMATION 
PERSON (COMPANY, ORGANIZATION, OR INDIVIDUAL) TO WHOM PERMIT IS TO BE ISSUED 
 Name: Company, organization, or individual to whom permit is to be issued. 
 Mailing Address: Address for the company, organization, or individual to whom permit is to be issued. 
 Work Phone Number: Number where the company, organization, or individual may be contacted. 
INDIVIDUAL REPRESENTING COMPANY OR ORGANIZATION 
 Name: Individual representing the company or organization. 
 Mailing Address: Mailing address for the person representing the company or organization. 
 Home Phone Number: Home phone number for the person representing the company or organization. 
 

INDIVIDUAL RESPONSIBLE FOR SALES 

NAME OF INDIVIDUAL RESPONSIBLE FOR SALES 
 Person shall be responsible for one location only. Must be 18 or older and at sales location frequently. This is 

the individual the State Fire Marshal and/or the local fire authority will expect to find at the sales location 
during hours the permitted sales location is open for business, for inspections, and to answer any questions 
regarding the sale of fireworks at the permitted location. 

 Mailing Address: This is the mailing address for the person responsible for sales. 
24-hour Number: The number where the individual responsible for sales may be contacted 24 hrs per day. 
Age: This is the age of the person responsible for sales. Must be 18 years of age or older. 
 

STORAGE INFORMATION 
ADDRESS WHERE FIREWORKS WILL BE STORED 

 Street, City, State, ZipCode: This is the street address where the fireworks will be stored.  

 Phone Number: This is the phone number at the storage location. 

Storage Requirements: Group H, Division 3 Occupancy Required in conformance with Oregon Fire Code and Oregon Structural Specialty Code requirements. 
Refer to Oregon Structural Specialty Code Section 307 for information on the types of occupancies that are allowed for the storage of fireworks from June 1 
through July 31 of the year in which the retail sales permit is valid. 

Exceptions: A permanent building used for the temporary storage of 1.4g (Class C) fireworks as authorized for sale by a retail sales permit (maximum storage dates 
allowed - June 1 through July 31) under ORS 480.127 may be classified as either Group M, Group S-Division 1, or Group U-Detached as follows: 

 GROUP M - Includes buildings, structures, or portions thereof, used for the display and sale of merchandise, and involving stocks of 
goods, wares or merchandise incidental to such purposes and accessible to the public. Mercantile occupancies shall include, but are 
not limited to, the following:  
1. Department stores 
2. Drug stores 
3. Markets 
4. Paint stores without bulk handling 
5. Shopping centers 
6. Sales rooms 
7. Wholesale and retail stores 

 GROUP S - Includes the use of a building or structure, or a portion thereof, for storage not classified as a hazardous occupancy. 
Division 1 - Moderate hazard storage occupancies shall include buildings or portions of buildings used for storage of combustible 
materials that are not classified as a Group S, Division 2 or as a Group H Occupancy.  

 GROUP U (must be detached) - Includes buildings or structures, or portions thereof, and shall be:  
 Division 1 - Private garages, carports, sheds and agricultural buildings. (must be detached)  
Exceptions apply only under the following quantity provisions:  

1. The total amount of 1.4g retail fireworks is less than 5,000 pounds gross weight; or 
2. When the building is protected by an approved automatic sprinkler system and the amount of 1.4g retail fireworks is less than 

10,000 pounds gross weight.  
Unsold Fireworks:  Shall be returned to the supplying wholesaler by July 31 of the year in which the retail sales permit is valid. 
Storage of fireworks prior to June 1 or after July 31 is prohibited. Permit holders who store ten or more pounds of fireworks for 30 days or more shall complete and 
submit yearly the Hazardous Substance Survey. Contact the Office of State Fire Marshal for survey forms and instructions. 

Allowed Storage Dates:  June 1 through July 31 of the year in which the retail sales permit is valid. 
Describe Fire Extinguishing Equipment Available at Storage Area(s): There must be a minimum of one 2A water-type extinguisher or the equivalent. 
Other Storage Allowed: 1.4g (Class C) fireworks not stored in H-1, H-3, Group M, Group S-Division 1, or Group U-detached shall be stored according to National 

Fire Protection Association Standard 495, Code for the Manufacture, Transportation, Storage, and Use of Explosives Materials. 



 

RETAIL SALES LOCATION INFORMATION 
DO NOT SEND DIAGRAM ON SEPARATE SHEET OF PAPER 

Numbered Street Address of Sales: Physical address of the retail sales stand/tent – Include complete address. 

County: County where retail sales site is located. 

Inside Sales/Outside Sales: Please check only one. 

Tent/Stand: Check one only – this box indicates whether a stand or tent is being used for outside sales. 

Diagram Area: Required information of inside sales diagram/outside sales diagram 

When completing the diagram in the area on the application marked “Diagram Area” please refer to the list of items that must be included in the diagram 
depending upon whether the sales are located indoors or outdoors. This area must be completed accurately as the sales area must match the diagram.  

Stand or Tent Dimensions: Outside dimensions of the stand or tent utilized for sales. Sizes may be decreased after the permit has been applied for, however, they 
may not be increased. 

 

WHOLESALE INFORMATION 
WHOLESALER FROM WHOM APPLICANT INTENDS TO PURCHASE FIREWORKS  

This must be a wholesaler licensed in the State of Oregon. This can be more than one company. List all companies you intend to 
purchase fireworks from. 

 

INDIVIDUAL COMPLETING APPLICATION INFORMATION 
THIS SECTION MUST BE COMPLETED BY EITHER THE PERMIT HOLDER OR WHOLESALER 

PERMIT WILL BE RETURNED TO THIS INDIVIDUAL – NO EXCEPTIONS 
Name of individual completing application: Permit will be returned to the individual completing application. 

 Printed name AND signature are required. 

Address of individual completing application: This is the address to which the permit will be mailed. 

 This is the address of the person completing the application. 

Phone Number: Daytime contact number for individual completing the application. 

Fax Number and E-mail address: For the individual completing the application. 

Age: Applicant must be at least 21. Actual age must be included in this section. 

 

FIRE AUTHORITY SIGNATURE INSTRUCTIONS 
IMPORTANT: 
You must obtain the signature of the fire authority in the area(s) where the retail fireworks sales location and storage will be located. 
Please obtain signatures for both the sales and storage location using the following guidelines for signatures. 
• Inside the city limits, application must be signed by the Fire Chief or authorized representative. 
• Outside the city limits but inside a rural fire protection district, application must be signed by the district Fire Chief or authorized 

representative. 
• Outside Both The City Limits and A Rural Fire Protection District, application must be signed by the District Deputy State Fire 

Marshal. 
 

STORAGE ADDRESS SIGNATURE 

 You must obtain the signature of the fire authority that has jurisdiction over the storage location where you intend to store your fireworks. If the storage and 
sales address location are located in the same jurisdiction, the fire authority must complete both the storage address and sales address signature information. 
Do not use the word “Same” in completing this information. 

 

SALES LOCATION ADDRESS SIGNATURE 

 You must obtain the signature of the fire authority that has jurisdiction over the sales location where you intend to sell fireworks. If the sales and storage 
locations are located in the same jurisdiction, the fire authority must complete both the sales address and storage address signature information. Do not use the 
word “Same” in completing this information. 

 

IDENTIFICATION PROVIDED TO FIRE AUTHORITY SIGNING FOR STORAGE AND SALES LOCATIONS 

Identification of the Individual Responsible for Sales shall be provided to the fire authority having jurisdiction at the time the application is signed. The fire 
authority shall indicate this identification has been provided by initializing the application form in the section where identification is required. 



 
 
 
 
 
 

     SECTION 4 

 
PREPARING YOUR 

 
RETAIL FIREWORKS 

 
TENT/STAND  

 



 

 
 
PAPERWORK 

 Is paperwork readily available for 
inspection?  Does more than one 
person know its location? 

 

 Is the same person assigned to this site 
the same as listed on the permit? 

 

 Is the tent/stand size the same as what 
is listed on the permit? 
 

SITE PREPARATION 
 If site is a grassy field, has it been 

mowed before tent/stand has been set 
up? 

 

 Does the tent/stand placement match 
the submitted site diagram? 

 

 Is the stand located 10 feet away and 
the tent located 20 feet away from 
combustible material?  

 

 Is the tent or canopy treated to be fire 
retardant? 

 

 
SIGNAGE 

 Are exit signs posted at all exits? 
 

 Are “NO SMOKING” signs posted 
clearly throughout the inside and 
around the outside of my tent/stand? 

 

 Are “Legal Age to Purchase..” signs 
posted? 

 

PREPARING FOR OUTSIDE 
TENTS and STANDS 

 
Typical Fireworks Tent 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Typical Fireworks Stand 
 

 
 

 
 

OPERATIONS 
 Do workers know the legal age to 

purchase fireworks is 16? 
 

 Is at least one person 18 years of 
age or older present at all times? 
 

 No heaters with open flames or 
exposed heating elements are in the 
tent/stand area. 
 

 Are generators located at least 20 
feet way from tent/stand & have a 
40B:C extinguisher on site? 
 

 Generator fuel is stored in a U.L. 
listed fuel container & stored at 
least 20 feet away from tent/stand. 
 

 Do all workers know that fireworks 
are not to be discharged within 100 
feet of the tent/stand? 

 

 Is the exit(s) maintained & 
accessible? 
 

FIRE EXTINGUISHERS 
 Is there a properly serviced 2A 

water fire extinguisher(s) or a water 
source as approved by local fire 
authority on site?  (If using a water 
hose, it must reach the entire area of 
the site and be charged at all times.)
 

 If a generator is used, is there an 
additional 40B:C extinguisher on 
site? 
 

 If electronic devices, (cash register) 
are present, is there an additional 
2A:10B:C extinguisher on site? 
 

 



 

 
 
PAPERWORK 

 Are the fireworks in the same place as 
listed on the application map? 

 
 Is paperwork readily available for 

inspection?  Does more than one person 
know its location? 

 
 If the person responsible for sales 

changes (manager transfers to a new 
store, etc.) the local authority will be 
notified. 

 
SITE PREPARATION 

 Fireworks are not located at the check 
stand aisles and exits are not blocked. 

 
 Are fireworks stored in the same 

location as listed on the permit 
application? 

 
 If storing less than 5,000 lbs of 

fireworks, the building does not require 
fire sprinklers.  If storing over 5,000 lbs 
of fireworks and less than 10,000 lbs, a 
sprinkler system is required. 

 
 Are fireworks located at least 20 feet 

from an exit/door? 
 

SIGNAGE 
 Are ‘NO SMOKING”  signs posted and 

visible? 
 

 Are “Legal Age to Purchase…” signs 
posted? 

 
 

PREPARING FOR INSIDE 
SALES 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
OPERATIONS 

 Do workers know the legal age to 
purchase fireworks is 16? 

 
 Is the retail sales area clean and orderly? 

 
 No heaters with open flames or exposed 

heating elements are located within 20 
feet of fireworks. 

 
 Is product stored in a dry and safe area 

away from heat sources? 
 
FIRE EXTINGUISHERS 

 Is a properly serviced 2A water fire 
extinguisher or water source approved 
by local fire authority on site? 

 
 If electronic devices are present, is an 

additional 2A:10B:C extinguisher on 
site? 

 

 

PREPARING 
YOUR RETAIL 
FIREWORKS 
TENT/STAND

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
This brochure was developed as a 

tool to assist retail fireworks 
tent/stand operators. 

 
Oregon Fireworks Laws 
ORS 480.110 - 480.990 

OAR 837-012-0600 - 837-012-0675 
 

For additional information, contact 
your local fire department or the 

Office of State Fire Marshal. 
 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 

SECTION 5 

 
 

COMMON INSPECTION 
 

ELEMENTS 



 
 

 

 

RETAIL SALES STAND/TENT 
COMMON INSPECTION ELEMENTS 

 
OREGON STATE POLICE 

OFFICE OF STATE FIRE MARSHAL 
LICENSE AND PERMITS BRANCH 

4760 PORTLAND ROAD NE, SALEM, OR  97305 
(503) 934-8274 

Fax:  (503) 934-8288 
 

SALES DATES: JUNE 23RD THROUGH JULY 6TH 

 
OSFM Retail Permit No. 
 
 
FD Permit No. 
 
 
Date Inspected: 
 
 
Inspected By 
 
 
Follow-up Inspection Date: 
 
 

PERMIT HOLDER INFORMATION INDIVIDUAL RESPONSIBLE FOR SALES 
NAME  NAME 

ADDRESS ADDRESS 

CITY STATE ZIP CITY STATE ZIP 

HOME PHONE HOME PHONE 

WORK PHONE 24 HR PHONE 

STAND/TENT INFORMATION 
ADDRESS OF STAND/TENT CITY COUNTY STATE ZIP 

STAND/TENT DIMENSIONS � STAND    � TENT � INDOOR    � OUTDOOR 
NAMES OF WHOLESALERS 

PERMITS  

� YES   � NO    Have all required local and state permits been obtained?    OAR 837-012-0620 (9a&b) 

  �State Fire Marshal  � Local Fire  � Building  � Electrical  � Other: ________ 

� YES   � NO    Is the retail sales permit, or a copy of the permit, is posted in the stand/tent?  OAR 837-012-0660 (1a&b) 

� YES   � NO    Is the individual responsible for sales is the same person listed on the permit?  OAR 837-012-0620 (12) 

� YES   � NO    Does the address of the stand/tent match the address listed on the permit?  OAR 837-012-0630 (11) 

� YES   � NO    Does the size of the stand/tent match the size listed on the permit?   (Size may be reduced OAR 837-012-0645 (14) 
                     but not increased) 

STAND/TENT LOCATION  
Outdoor Sales: 
� YES   � NO    Is the area within 20 feet of the stand/tent kept clean and orderly?   OAR 837-012-0650 (16) 

� YES   � NO    Is the stand/tent at least 50 feet from any flammable liquid/gas dispensing location? OAR 837-012-0650 (9a) 

� YES   � NO    Is the stand/tent at least 15 feet from right of ways?     OAR 837-012-0650 (9b) 

� YES   � NO    Is the stand/tent at least 10 feet from combustible structures and openings?  OAR 837-012-0650 (9c&d) 

� YES   � NO    Is the stand/tent at least 20 feet from any sources of ignition?    OAR 837-012-0650 (9e) 
Indoor Sales: 
� YES   � NO    Are displays located so they do not hinder or block exits?    OAR 837-012-0655 (3) 

� YES   � NO    Is the sales and display area kept clean and orderly?     OAR 837-012-0655 (4) 



PURCHASES AND RECORDKEEPING 
� YES   � NO    Have fireworks only been purchased from the wholesaler listed on the permit?  OAR 837-012-0635 (2) 

� YES   � NO    Has the permit holder maintained a record of all shipments of retail fireworks that  OAR 837-012-0660 (3) 
                          have been received? 
� YES   � NO    Do all cartons, containers, or cases containing fireworks and any accompanying  OAR 837-012-0635 (4&5) 
AND 
                          documentation have the wholesalers permit number and the full name and retail  ORS 480.154 (1&2) 
                          permit number of the retail permit holder affixed to them? 
� YES   � NO    Does the permit holder have a list of all employees, or volunteers, that includes   OAR 837-012-0660 (6) 
                          their names, addresses, ages, and phone numbers? 
� YES   � NO    Are all records listed above clear, legible, accurate, and readily available for review OAR 837-012-0660 (4) 
                          and inspection by the Local Fire Authority or State Fire Marshal? 

FIRE SAFETY 

� YES   � NO Are all tent fabrics, canopy fabrics, and materials used as flooring fire retardant?  OAR 837-012-0650 (4)  

� YES   � NO Are “NO SMOKING” signs posted on the outside of all enclosing sides of an   OAR 837-012-0650 (11) AND 
 outdoor sales outlet and readily visible in both outdoor/indoor stands/tents?  OAR 837-012-0655 (7)  

� YES   � NO No smoking, open flames, or lighting of fireworks is allowed within 100 feet of the OAR 837-012-0650 (12) 
 retail sales stand/tent?  

� YES   � NO Are heaters having exposed electrical elements or open flames present within the  OAR 837-012-0650 (14) 
 retail sales stand/tent? 

� YES   � NO Is a minimum 2A water type extinguisher or an equivalent water type extinguishing OAR 837-012-0650 (6) 
 system provided in the stand/tent at all times when the stand/tent is open?  

� YES   � NO Do outside structures have at least one exit for every 1000 square feet or 20 feet of OAR 837-012-0650 (2) 
 length, exits are not blocked or locked, and exit signs are displayed?  
 
For Tents: Required Exits: (OFC 2403.12.2)   Required Fire Extinguishers: (NFPA 10) 
  Up to 199 occupants = 2 exits/6 ft in width.  200-500 sq. ft. tent = 1-2A:10B:C. 
  200-499 occupants = 3 exits/6 ft. in width.  501-1000 sq. ft. tent = 2-2A:10B:C. 
  500-999 occupants = 4 exits/8 ft in width.  Each additional 2000 sq. ft. = 1-2A:10B:C. 
  Lighted Exit signs for more than 100 occupants 
Indoor:  OSSC      NFPA 10. 

PROHIBITED ACTS 

� YES   � NO Is there evidence of sales to children less than 16 years of age?    OAR 837-012-0670 (2a) 

� YES   � NO Is there evidence of the sale of illegal or altered fireworks to anyone?   OAR 837-012-0670 (2b&c) 

� YES   � NO Is there evidence of the sale of fireworks obtained from anyone other than the  OAR 837-0120-670 (2d) 
 wholesaler listed on the retail sales permit? 
� YES   � NO Is at least one person 18 years of age or older in charge of sales at all times?  OAR 837-012-0645 (3) 

ADDITIONAL NON-COMPLIANCE ITEMS 

� YES   � NO Address additional compliance items in the Comments section below. 

Comments:___________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________    

ORS/OAR REFERENCE            
 

InspectionComments:__________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Inspector’s Signature:________________________ 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 

     SECTION 6 

 
LEGAL AND ILLEGAL 

 
FIREWORKS LIST 



 

  

  

Legal Fireworks Retail (1.4g)   
 

These produce only smoke, sparks or fire.   
Examples are base fountains, cone fountains, wheels, and ground bloom flowers . 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Unclassified Items (Not Fireworks) )  
 
 

  
  

 
 
 

Illegal Fireworks Limited (1.4g ) 
These explode, eject balls of fire, fly into the air, or travel more than  

six feet on the ground or 12 inches into the air.   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

Explosive Devices NOT FIREWORKS   
  Please, when entering these devices in the OAIRS program put them in the  

“ Unknown” category.  Also in the “Unknown” include homemade .   
 
 

 
Cone   

   

Wheel  
  

Ground 
Bloom 
Flower 

 

 

Base 
Fountain 

Snakes 
 

Party 
Popper 

  

 

 

  
C razy Jack  

Jumping Jack  
  

Sky Rocket 
(With Stick)

 

Aerial Spinners,  
Bees Helicopters 

 

Bottle Rocket  

 Mortars 
 

Roman Candle 
(Shoots Balls)

 

Firecracker   
Regular   

   
 

Silver Salute  
M100   

  

Cherry Bomb 
(Red) 

 

Ash Can 
M 80 

  
 

 

  
 

  

  Sparkler 
(wood core)

 

  

  

Hand-Held 
California Candle 

Fountain Hand-Held  
Fountain 

 

  

  

 

 
Sparkler 

  
Smoke Bomb  

(Not Explosive)
  (wire core)

 

 

 Firecracker 
Small 

(Lady Finger)
 

  
Missile Rocket  



 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

     SECTION 7 

 
 
 

RETURN OF 
 

UNSOLD FIREWORKS FORM  
 



 
 RETURN OF UNSOLD FIREWORKS TO WHOLES

 
 

OREGON STATE POLICE 
OFFICE OF STATE FIRE MARSHAL 

(503) 934-8274 
Fax:  (503) 934-8288 

 

ALER

 
DATE:   March 1, 2012 
 
SUBJECT:  Return of Unsold Fireworks to Wholesaler 
 
 
The 2012 Retail Sales of Fireworks season ends July 6, 2012. Any location approved  
for storing fireworks during the selling season is only temporary and is only valid until  
July 31, 2012. After that date, all fireworks are required to be removed from the storage 
location and returned to the wholesaler who supplied them to the retail permit holder. It 
a violation of Oregon Administrative Rule for a permit holder to continue to store 
fireworks after July 31. Should the permit holder not return unsold fireworks to the 
supplying wholesaler, they may have future permits denied and/or suspended. 
 
Please complete the certification at the end of this letter and return to the following addr
by August 10, 2012. 
 

Office of State Fire Marshal 
License and Permits Branch 
4760 Portland Road NE 
Salem OR  97305 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I hereby certify the following: 
 

I returned all unsold fireworks from Retail Sales Permit No. ______________ to the 
following wholesaler(s) which is the wholesaler(s) who supplied them. 
 
________________________________ 
 Name of wholesaler 
________________________________ 
 Name of wholesaler 
________________________________ 
 Name of wholesaler 

_______________________________
 Name of wholesaler 
_______________________________
 Name of wholesaler 
_______________________________
 Name of wholesaler 

 
      

is 

ess 

----------  

_ 

_ 

_ 

     ______ 
Printed Name of Permit Holder*   Signature of Permit Holder* 
 
             
Phone Number     Date Signed 
 
*If permit holder is a company or organization, the certification must be signed by the 
individual representing the company and who was listed on the retail sales permit 
application (see Permit Holder Information on your original application). 
 

 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 

     SECTION 8 

 
 
 

FREQUENTLY  
 

ASKED QUESTIONS 



 
 

RETAIL SALES OF FIREWORKS 
 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
 
 

How old do you have to be to sell retail fireworks? 
Answer:  18 years old 

 
How old do you have to be to buy retail fireworks? 

Answer:  16 years old 
 
How many individuals of at least eighteen (18) years old must be in the stand at all times 
when it is open? 

Answer:  One 
 
What type of fire extinguisher is required for a stand? 
 Answer:  One water-type 2A fire extinguisher or  

equivalent water-type extinguishing system as determined by local jurisdiction 
 
What type of fireworks are considered legal? 

Answer:  Legal fireworks are consumer fireworks that do not explode, fly into the air, 
travel more than six feet horizontally and/or 12 inches vertically from the point of 
ignition, or any that act in an uncontrolled manner. 

 
How much is the penalty for illegal fireworks? 
 Answer:  Up to $500.00 per instance 
 
What are the dates that retail fireworks can legally be sold? 
 Answer:  June 23 through July 6 
 
Not including the fireworks on display for sale, is it permissable to store fireworks in a 
stand or tent? 
 Answer:  No 
 
Is it permissable to leave the tent or stand unattended when it is not open for business? 
 Answer:  No 
 
Does the retail sales permit issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal need to be posted 
and visible in the tent or stand? 
 Answer:  Yes 
 
How often does the retail permit holder or the individual responsible for sales have to be 
present at the stand or tent?    



 
 
 
 
 
 

     SECTION 9 

 
 
 

RETAIL FIREWORKS  
 

STATUTES & 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 



OFFICE OF STATE FIRE MARSHAL
 

RETAIL FIREWORKS 
STATUTES & 

ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
 

 
 

OREGON STATE POLICE 

4760 Portland Road NE 
Salem  OR  97305-1760 

(503) 934-8274 
Fax:  (503) 934-8288 

 
 

 
 
ORS Effective 8/05 
OAR Adopted permanently on April 10, 2009 

OFFICE OF STATE FIRE MARSHAL 
LICENSE AND PERMITS BRANCH 

 

 



FIREWORKS STATUTES 
Effective August 2005 
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FIREWORKS 
480.110  Definitions for Oregon Fireworks Law.  

For the purposes of ORS 480.110 to 480.165, which 
sections may be cited as the Oregon Fireworks Law, and 
unless otherwise required by the context: 

(1)  "Fireworks" means any combustible or explosive 
composition or substance, or any combination of such 
compositions or substances, or any other article which was 
prepared for the purpose of providing a visible or audible 
effect by combustion, explosion, deflagration or detonation, 
and includes blank cartridges or toy cannons in which 
explosives are used, balloons which require fire underneath 
to propel the same, firecrackers, torpedoes, skyrockets, 
Roman candles, bombs, rockets, wheels, colored fires, 
fountains, mines, serpents or any other article of like 
construction or any article containing any explosive or 
inflammable compound, or any tablets or other device 
containing any explosive substances or inflammable 
compound; but does not include:   

(a)  Sparklers, toy pistol paper caps, toy pistols, toy 
canes, toy guns or other devices in which paper caps 
containing .25 grains or less of explosive compound are 
used, and when, the rate of burning and the explosive force 
of the materials in such devices are not greater than an 
equivalent weight of F.F.F.G. black powder, and when such 
devices are so constructed that the hand cannot come in 
contact with the cap when in place for explosion, and the 
major explosive force is contained or dispelled within the 
housing or shell of the device, there is no visible flame 
during discharge, there is no flaming or smoldering of any 
of the components or parts of the device after discharge, 
and the device does not produce sufficient heat to readily 
ignite combustible materials upon which the device may be 
placed. The sale and use of such devices shall be permitted 
at all times. 

(b)  Snakes or similar smoke-producing material 
containing not more than 100 grains of combustible 
substances when there is no visible flame during discharge, 
there is no after smoldering, and the devices do not produce 
sufficient heat to readily ignite combustible materials upon 
which the devices may be placed.  The sale and use of such 
devices shall be permitted at all times. 

(c)  Model rockets and model rocket motors designed 
for the purpose of propelling recoverable aero models.  The 
sale and use of such devices shall be permitted at all times. 

(d)  Those items described in ORS 480.127 (4). 
(2)  "Fire protection district" means any district 

created under the laws of Oregon or the United States, 
including rural fire protection districts and any federal, 
state or private forest patrol areas. 

(3)  For purposes of this section "sparklers" means 
materials of a character that will, when ignited, sparkle 
without throwing or dropping hot residue capable of 
igniting combustible materials, attached to a wire or other 
noncombustible central support, with such materials 
arranged in a cylindrical shape not more than 10 inches in 
length nor more than one-quarter inch in diameter and 
which shall not burn more rapidly than one inch in 10 
seconds, but not including materials incased within a 

container of any character.  "Explosive substance" or 
"explosive mixture" as used in this section shall mean any 
substance so arranged as to burn in less than one second.  
"Combustible substance" shall mean any substance so 
arranged as to burn in more than one second.  [Amended by 
1967 c.417 §23; 1981 c.635 §1; 1983 c.788 §5] 

480.120  Sale, possession and use of fireworks 
prohibited; exceptions; enforcement.  (1) No person shall 
sell, keep or offer for sale, expose for sale, possess, use, 
explode or have exploded any fireworks within Oregon, 
except as follows: 

(a)  Sales by manufacturers and wholesalers to 
customers residing outside this state in accordance with 
ORS 480.156; 

(b)  Sales to persons or organizations having obtained 
a permit from the State Fire Marshal for supervised public 
display;  

(c)  Sales to railroads, boats, motor vehicle or other 
transportation agencies, to be used for signal, warning or 
illumination purposes in connection with such business; 

(d)  Sale or use of blank cartridges for licensed shows 
or theatres or for signal or ceremonial purposes in athletics 
or sports; 

(e)  Experimental purposes by a manufacturer of 
explosives at such places where such experiments are 
normally conducted; 

(f)  Sale of blank cartridges for  use by the militia or 
any organization of war veterans or other organization 
authorized by law to parade in public a color guard armed 
with firearms; 

(g)  Sale of shells, cartridges, gunpowder or explosives 
for use in legally permitted firearms; 

(h)  Sales of items described in ORS 480.127 to 
persons who possess the retail sales permit required by 
ORS 480.127 by a person who holds a manufacturer or 
wholesaler license issued pursuant to ORS 480.110 to 
480.165; or 

(i)  Sales of items described in ORS 480.127 to 
individual members of the general public for personal use 
by taking direct delivery of those items at the time of sale 
from the holder of a retail sale permit issued pursuant to 
ORS 480.127. 

(2)  Law enforcement officers of the state, county or 
municipality shall enforce the provisions of ORS 480.110 
to 480.160.  [Amended by 1983 c.788 §1; 1985 c.789 §1] 

480.122 Use for repelling birds or animals allowed.  
(1)  Notwithstanding the provisions of ORS 480.110 to 
480.124 and 480.130 to 480.150, an owner or lessee of 
property located outside of an incorporated city may 
purchase, maintain, use and explode fireworks on the 
owned or leased property for the purpose of scaring away 
or repelling birds or animals which are or may be injurious 
or destructive to forest or agricultural products or crops. 

(2)  Any person described in subsection (1) of this 
section desiring to use and explode fireworks to scare or 
repel birds or animals shall first secure a permit from the 
State Fire Marshal for that purpose.  The State Fire 
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Marshal, upon receipt of application for such permit, shall 
determine if the proposed purchase and use conforms to 
law and any rules or regulations promulgated by the office 
of the fire marshal.  If the fire marshal finds that the 
applicant is qualified to use the fireworks and the proposed 
use is in accordance with the law and rules and regulations, 
the fire marshal shall issue a permit; otherwise the fire 
marshal shall refuse to issue it. 

(3)  Such permit may be revoked by the State Fire 
Marshal at any time fire marshal verifies there is a violation 
of the provisions of the permit or the rules and regulations 
under which it is issued. 

(4)  The State Fire Marshal is authorized to 
promulgate rules and regulations relating to the use of 
fireworks to scare or repel birds or animals which are 
injurious to or destructive to forest or agricultural crops or 
products.  [1961 c.293 §2; 1987 c.158 §106] 

480.124  Use for control of predatory animals 
allowed.  Notwithstanding the provisions of ORS 480.110 
to 480.165, fireworks may be purchased, maintained, used 
and exploded by federal or state agencies authorized and 
required by ORS 610.002 to 610.020 to eradicate and 
control predatory animals.  Such purchase and use shall be 
in compliance with rules and regulations promulgated by 
the State Fire Marshal, with the approval of the state 
agencies authorized and required by ORS 610.002 to 
610.020 to eradicate and control predatory animals.  [1961 
c.293 §3] 

480.127 Sale permit for certain items; when 
required; fee.  (1) Any person who desires to sell 
cylindrical fountains, cone fountains, illuminating torches, 
wheels, ground spinners, flitter sparklers or combination 
items at retail to individual members of the general public 
for personal use shall apply in writing to the State Fire 
Marshal for a permit at least 15 days in advance of the 
proposed sale.  The State Fire Marshal shall issue the 
permit only if the State Fire Marshal finds that the applicant 
is qualified to conduct the proposed sale and that the 
proposed sale will conform to the provisions of ORS 
480.110 to 480.165 and any rules promulgated pursuant 
thereto.  A fee may be charged for the permit.  Subject to 
prior approval by the Oregon Department of Administrative 
Services and a report to the Emergency Board prior to 
adopting the fee, the amount of the fee shall be set by rule 
and shall be adjusted subsequently by the State Fire 
Marshal to finance the administrative expenses incurred 
under this section and shall be within the budget authorized 
by the Legislative Assembly as that budget may be 
modified by the Emergency Board. 

(2)  The permit required by subsection (1) of this 
section shall not be valid for more than one year from the 
date of issuance and shall authorize sales only between 
midnight June 22 and midnight July 6 of any given 
calendar year. 

(3)  Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the 
State Fire Marshal shall not prescribe limitations on the 
aggregate amount of items described in subsection (4) of 
this section at a sales facility operated by a person who 
holds the permit referred to in this section.  However, such 
items shall be stored in accordance with such fire codes as 

the State Fire Marshal by rule may prescribe to insure safe 
storage of such materials.  In prescribing such rules the 
State Fire Marshal may consider, among other matters, 
requirements of the United States Department of 
Transportation regarding the storage of hazardous 
materials. 

(4)  As used in this section: 
(a)  "Combination item" means a device that contains 

combinations of two or more of the effects described in 
paragraphs (b) to (g) of this subsection. 

(b)  "Cone fountain" means a cardboard or heavy 
paper cone containing not more than 50 grams of 
pyrotechnic composition.  The effect upon ignition is the 
same as that of a cylindrical fountain. 

(c)  "Cylindrical fountain" means a cylindrical tube 
not more than three-fourths inch (19mm) inside diameter 
and containing not more than 75 grams of pyrotechnic 
composition.  Upon ignition, a shower of colored sparks 
and sometimes a whistling effect is produced.  This device 
may be provided with a spike for insertion into the ground, 
a wood or plastic base for placing on the ground or a wood 
or cardboard handle if intended to be handheld. 

(d)  "Flitter sparkler" means a narrow paper tube 
containing not more than 100 grams of pyrotechnic 
composition that produces colored sparks upon ignition.  
The paper at one end of the tube is ignited to make the 
device function. 

(e)  "Ground spinner" means a small device similar to 
a wheel in design and effect and containing not more than 
60 grams of pyrotechnic composition.  When placed on the 
ground and ignited, a shower of colored sparks is produced 
by the rapidly spinning device. 

(f)  "Illuminating torch" means a cylindrical tube 
containing not more than 100 grams of pyrotechnic 
composition.  This device may be provided with a spike for 
insertion into the ground, a wood or plastic base for placing 
on the ground or a wood or cardboard handle if intended to 
be handheld. 

(g)  "Wheel" means a pyrotechnic device attached to a 
post or tree by means of a nail or string.  Each wheel may 
contain not more than six driver units or tubes not 
exceeding one-half inch (12.5mm) inside diameter and 
containing not more than 60 grams of pyrotechnic 
composition.  Upon ignition, the wheel revolves and 
produces a shower of colored sparks, and sometimes a 
whistling effect.  [1983 c.788 §3; 1991 c.703 §14] 

480.130  Permit required for sale or public display 
of fireworks; fee.  (1) All persons, municipalities, 
associations or organizations or groups of individuals 
desiring to sell, discharge, fire off, explode or display 
fireworks for a public display, or to sell items described in 
ORS 480.127 (4) to persons who possess the permit 
referred to in ORS 480.127, shall apply in writing to the 
State Fire Marshal for a permit at least 15 days in advance 
of the proposed sale or date of the display.  The State Fire 
Marshal, upon receipt of such application, shall determine 
if the proposed sale or display will conform to law and any 
rules promulgated thereunder.  If the State Fire Marshal 
finds that the applicant is qualified to conduct such sale or 

2 



 

display and that the proposed sale or display is in 
accordance with the law and all rules, the State Fire 
Marshal shall issue a permit; otherwise the State Fire 
Marshal shall refuse to issue it. 

(2)  The fee for a permit for the public display of 
fireworks and each permit for sale of fireworks or items 
described in ORS 480.127 (4) shall be established by rule 
by the State Fire Marshal, subject to prior approval by the 
Oregon Department of Administrative Services and a report 
to the Emergency Board prior to adopting the fee, and 
subsequently shall be adjusted to finance the administrative 
expenses incurred under this section and shall be within the 
budget authorized by the Legislative Assembly as that 
budget may be modified by the Emergency Board.  All fees 
collected shall be deposited to the credit of the State Fire 
Marshal Fund. 

(3)  Sales permits for fireworks or items described in 
ORS 480.127 (4) shall not be valid for more than one year 
from date of issue.  A public display permit shall not be 
valid for more than 10 days from date of issuance and shall 
authorize only one fireworks display during that period.  
[Amended by 1967 c.417 §24; 1983 c.788 §6; 1985 c.789 §2; 1991 
c.703 §15] 

480.140  Fireworks displays to be under 
supervision of police and fire department chiefs or 
county court.  (1) Every such display held within the 
boundaries of any municipality shall be under the 
supervision of the chiefs of police and fire departments of 
the municipalities in which the display is to be held and 
shall be of such character, and so located, discharged or 
fired as, in the opinion of the chief of the fire department, 
after proper inspection, shall not be hazardous to property 
or endanger any person. 

(2)  Every such display held outside the boundaries of 
any municipality or fire protection district shall be under 
the supervision of the county court of the county in which 
the display is to be held and shall be of such character, and 
so located, discharged or fired as, in the opinion of the 
county court or of a county official duly authorized by the 
county court, after proper inspection, shall not be hazardous 
to property or endanger any person. 

480.150  Permits for fireworks sales or displays; 
rules; security.  (1)  The State Fire Marshal may adopt 
reasonable rules for granting permits for supervised public 
displays or sales of fireworks or items described in ORS 
480.127 (4) by municipalities, fair associations, amusement 
parks, and other persons, organizations or groups of 
individuals.  The governing body of any municipality, or of 
any county, may require liability insurance, or an 
irrevocable letter of credit issued by a commercial bank as 
defined in ORS 706.005 or other form of indemnity 
deemed adequate by the municipality, or the county, from 
any person, in a sum not less than $500, conditioned for 
payment of all damages which may be caused either to a 
person or property by reason of the authorized display or 
sale and arising from any acts of any person or agents, 
employees or subcontractors of the person.  At the time a 
permit is revoked, the State Fire Marshal or approving 
authority may include in the revocation order a provision 
prohibiting the holder of the revoked permit from applying 

for or obtaining another such permit, for a period not to 
exceed three years from the revocation date, if the State 
Fire Marshal or approving authority finds that the 
circumstances of the permit holder's failure to comply with 
applicable sale or display statutes and regulations presented 
a significant fire hazard or other public safety danger. 

(2)  The State Fire Marshal or the approving authority 
of any governmental subdivision may revoke permits for 
display or sale of fireworks or items described in ORS 
480.127 when in the opinion of the State Fire Marshal or 
the approving authority the sale or display of fireworks or 
items described in ORS 480.127 (4) is not in compliance 
with applicable statutes and regulations governing such sale 
or displays. 

(3)  Permit fees required by ORS 480.130 shall not be 
refunded in the event such permits are revoked.  [Amended 
by 1967 c.417 §25; 1983 c.788 §4; 1985 c.789 §3; 1991 c.331 §72] 

480.152  Publication of advertisement for sale of 
unlawful fireworks prohibited.  (1)  No person shall 
publish or cause to be published  

(a)  Any advertisement for the sale of fireworks the 
use or possession of which is declared unlawful by ORS 
480.110 to 480.165. 

(b)  Any advertisement for the sale of items described 
in ORS 480.127 in any county, municipality or fire 
protection district that by law or ordinance has declared the 
sale or use of such items is prohibited. 

(2)  Subsection (1) of this section does not apply to 
any advertising medium which accepts such advertising in 
good faith, without knowledge of the violation of law. [1985 
c.789 §7] 

480.154  Manufacturer or wholesaler required to 
maintain records of sale of fireworks; shipments to 
show permit number; confiscation. (1)  Each 
manufacturer or wholesaler of fireworks or items described 
in ORS 480.127 shall keep a record of all sales showing the 
name and address of the purchaser, the state of destination, 
license and permit numbers, the state and date of permit 
issuance and a list of the type and quantity of fireworks or 
items sold. 

(2)  All shipments of fireworks or items described in 
ORS 480.127 coming into this state must show the 
appropriate permit number of the addressee on the outside 
of the package.  If the permit number is not so shown, such 
shipment may be confiscated by a law enforcement officer 
or fire protection enforcement authority having jurisdiction.  
[1985 c.789 §8] 

480.156  Sale of fireworks to out-of-state resident 
without valid license or permit prohibited; seller to 
ascertain license or permit requirements of other states; 
seller's records.  (1) It is unlawful for any person to sell 
fireworks or items described in ORS 480.127, at wholesale 
to any out-of-state resident who does not possess and 
present to the seller for inspection at the time of sale a valid 
license or permit issued in the name of such out-of-state 
resident, if such license or permit is required to purchase, 
possess, transport, store, distribute, sell or otherwise deal 
with or use fireworks or items described in ORS 480.127, 
by the laws of such other state. 
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(2)  The burden of ascertaining whether the laws of 
such other state require a license or permit and whether the 
purchaser possesses such a valid license or permit shall be 
entirely on the seller.  Each seller shall record, in a manner 
prescribed by the State Fire Marshal, each sale described in 
this section.  The record shall include the identification of 
type and quantity of fireworks sold, name of purchaser, 
state of destination, state issuing license or permit and 
number or other identifying description and date of issue of 
license or permit.  [1985 c.789 §9] 

480.158  Parents of minor liable for costs incurred 
in suppressing fires caused by use of fireworks by 
minor; exception.  (1) In addition to any other remedy 
provided by law, the parent or parents of an unemancipated 
minor child shall be liable for costs incurred by a public 
fire agency in suppressing fires caused by use of fireworks 
by such minor child.  However, a parent who is not entitled 
to legal custody of the minor child at the time of the fire 
shall not be liable for such damages. 

(2)  The legal obligation of the parent or parents of an 
unemancipated minor child to pay damages under this 
section shall be limited to not more than $5,000 payable to 
the same claimant, for one or more acts. 

(3)  When an action is brought under this section on 
parental responsibility for acts of their children, the parents 
shall be named as defendants therein and, in addition, the 
minor child shall be named as a defendant.  The filing of an 
answer by the parents shall remove any requirement that a 
guardian ad litem be required. 

(4)  Nothing in subsections (1) to (3) of this section 
applies to foster parents.  [1985 c.789 §6] 

480.160  Local regulation and effect thereon of 
state law; local enforcement authority.  (1) Nothing in 
ORS 480.110 to 480.165, nor in any permit issued 
thereunder, shall authorize the manufacture, sale, use or 
discharge of fireworks or items described in ORS 480.127 
in any city, county or fire protection district in which such 
manufacture, sale, use or discharge is otherwise prohibited 
by law or municipal ordinance; nor shall any city, county or 
fire protection district authorize the sale or use of any 
fireworks prohibited by the provisions of ORS 480.110 to 
480.165. 

(2)  For the purposes of enforcing ORS 480.110 to 
480.165 in an area exempt under ORS 476.030 (3) within a 
rural fire protection district, the fire marshal, if there is one, 
or the fire chief of that rural fire protection district has the 
same enforcement authority as the State Fire Marshal. 

(3)  No person shall deliver or cause to be delivered 
into any county, municipality or rural fire protection district 
for the purpose of sale to individual members of the general 
public for personal use any items described in ORS 
480.127 if the county, municipality or rural fire protection 
district by law or ordinance has declared that the sale or use 
of such items is prohibited. 

(4)  The manufacture, sale, use or discharge of 
fireworks or items described in ORS 480.127 may be 
regulated by the governing body of a rural fire protection 
district, subject to the following conditions: 

(a)  The regulation must be by ordinance adopted by 
the governing body of the district, after public notice and 
hearing, not later than January 1 of any calendar year in 
which regulation is to be operative. 

(b)  The regulation shall not be operative within the 
boundaries of any city that regulates such matters by city 
ordinance. 

(c)  The regulation shall not prohibit the manufacture, 
sale, use or discharge of fireworks or items referred to in 
ORS 480.127, the manufacture, sale, use or discharge of 
which is authorized by ORS 480.110 to 480.165.  

(d)  The regulation may not limit sales to less than five 
days per calendar year, and must include the five 
consecutive day period beginning June 30. [Amended by 
1983 c.788 §7; 1985 c.789 §4; 1993 c.185 §32] 

480.165 Civil penalty for fireworks law violations.  
(1) In addition to any other penalty provided by law, any 
person who violates any provision of ORS 480.110 to 
480.165, or any rule adopted by the State Fire Marshal 
pursuant thereto, is subject to a civil penalty imposed by 
the State Fire Marshal in an amount not to exceed $500 per 
violation.  However, an individual member of the general 
public who possesses fireworks of a retail value less than 
$50 is not subject to a civil penalty.  Each day a violation 
continues shall be considered a separate offense.  

(2)  All moneys recovered pursuant to this section 
shall be paid into the State Fire Marshal Fund.  

(3)  Civil penalties under this section shall be imposed 
as provided in ORS 183.090. [1991 c.856 §2,3] 

480.170 [Repealed by 1987 c.158 §107] 

 
PENALTIES 

 
 480.990 Penalties. (1) Violation of any provision of 
ORS 480.010 to 480.040 is a Class B violation. 
 (2) Violation of any provision of ORS 480.050, 
480.060 or 480.290 is a Class C misdemeanor. 
 (3) Violation of ORS 480.070 is a Class A 
misdemeanor. 
 (4) Violation of ORS 480.085 is a Class B violation. 
 (5) Violation of any provision of ORS 480.110 to 
480.165 is a Class B misdemeanor. Violations thereof may 
be prosecuted in state or municipal courts when violations 
occur within the municipality served thereby. Justice courts 
shall have concurrent jurisdiction with circuit courts in all 
proceedings arising within ORS 480.110 to 480.165. 
 (6) Subject to ORS 153.022, violation of any provision 
of ORS 480.210, 480.215, 480.235 and 480.265 or of any 
rule or regulation adopted under ORS 480.280 (1) is a 
Class B misdemeanor. 
 (7) Violation of any provision of ORS 480.420 to 
480.460 is a Class B violation. 
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 (8) Subject to ORS 153.022, violation of any provision 
of ORS 480.510 to 480.670, or any rule promulgated 
pursuant thereto, is a Class A misdemeanor. Whenever the 
Board of Boiler Rules has reason to believe that any person 
is liable to punishment under this subsection, it may certify 
the facts to the Attorney General, who may cause an 
appropriate proceeding to be brought. [Subsection (4) of 
1963 Replacement Part enacted as 1961 c.722 §3; 
subsection (10) enacted as 1961 c.485 §24; subsection (4) 
enacted as 1963 c.384 §3; 1965 c.602 §24; subsection (3) 
enacted as 1967 c.417 §22; subsection (7) enacted as 1971 
c.518 §25; 1983 c.676 §22; 1985 c.165 §3; 1987 c.158 
§111; 1991 c.863 §59; 1999 c.1051 §193] 
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SALES AND STORAGE OF RETAIL 
FIREWORKS IN OREGON 

 
 
837-012-0600 
Purpose and Scope 
These rules establish permit and other requirements 
for Persons who Sell or otherwise provide, intend to 
Sell or otherwise provide, Retail Fireworks to 
Individual Members of the General Public. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, 
ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130, ORS 480.150, ORS 
480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 
480.158, ORS 480.160 & ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 
4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; OSFM 5-
1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; 
OSFM 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 14-
2000, f. & cert. ef 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & 
cert. ef. 12-14-01 
 
837-012-0605 
Effective Dates 
OAR 837-012-0600 through 837-012-0675 are 
effective upon date of filing. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, 
ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130, ORS 480.150, ORS 
480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 
480.158, ORS 480.160 & ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 
4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; OSFM 14-2000, f. & 
cert. ef. 12-4-00 
 
837-012-0610 
Definitions 
For purposes of ORS 480.110 though 480.165 and 
OAR 837-012-0600 through 837-012-0675, the 
following definitions apply: 
(1) "Agricultural Fireworks" shall mean Fireworks 
used for the purpose of scaring away or repelling 
birds or animals pursuant to ORS 480.122 or 
controlling predatory animals pursuant to ORS 
480.124. 
(2) "BATFE" shall mean the Bureau of Alcohol, 
Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives. 
(3) "Building" shall have the meaning provided in 
the Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 2004 Edition. 

The term does not include a Tent, Canopy, Stand or 
trailer. 
(4) "Canopy" shall mean a temporary structure, 
enclosure or shelter; constructed of fabric or pliable 
materials; supported by any manner, except by air 
or the contents it protects, and is open without 
sidewalls or drops on 75 percent or more of the 
perimeter. 
(5) "Carton, Container, or Case" shall mean any 
box, parcel, bundle, or other package used to hold 
or contain Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public 
Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks for 
purposes of transportation and/or storage. The term 
does not include: 
(a) The wrapping and/or packaging used to hold or 
contain a single, or small number of, Fireworks, 
Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks or 
Agricultural Fireworks; or 
(b) A vehicle or other mobile container used to 
transport Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public 
Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks. 
(6) "Combination Item" shall mean a device that 
contains combinations of two or more of the effects 
described in ORS 480.127(4)(b) to (g). See ORS 
480.127(4)(a). 
(7) "Cone Fountain" shall mean a cardboard or 
heavy paper cone containing not more than 50 
grams of pyrotechnic composition. The effect upon 
ignition is the same as that of a cylindrical fountain. 
See ORS 480.127(4)(b). 
(8) "Cylindrical Fountain" shall mean a cylindrical 
tube not more than three-fourths inch (19mm) 
inside diameter and containing not more than 75 
grams of pyrotechnic composition. Upon ignition, a 
shower of colored sparks and sometimes a whistling 
effect is produced. This device may be provided 
with a spike for insertion into the ground, a wood or 
plastic base for placing on the ground or a wood or 
cardboard handle if intended to be hand-held. See 
ORS 480.127(4)(c). 
(9) "Employee" shall mean an Individual hired by a 
Retail Permit holder to Sell Retail Fireworks from a 
Retail Sales Outlet, or to otherwise engage in Retail 
Operations. 
(10) "Exempt Fireworks" shall mean Novelties and 
Trick Noisemakers.  
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(11) "Exit" shall mean an opening or passageway 
that: 
(a) Provides a means of leaving an enclosed space 
or area and 
(b) Is required to be constructed and/or maintained 
by the Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 2004 
Edition. The term may include a check stand Exit. 
(12) "Fire Protection District" shall mean any 
district created under the laws of Oregon or the 
United States, including rural fire protection 
districts and any federal, state or private forest 
patrol areas. See ORS 480.110(2). 
(13) "Fireworks" shall have the meaning provided 
in ORS 480.110(1). The term includes Retail 
Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, and 
Agricultural Fireworks. The term does not include 
Exempt Fireworks. 
(14) "Flitter Sparkler" shall mean a narrow paper 
tube containing not more than 100 grams of 
pyrotechnic composition that produces colored 
sparks upon ignition. The paper at one end of the 
tube is ignited to make the device function. See 
ORS 480.127(4)(d). 
(15) "Ground Spinner" shall mean a small device 
similar to a Wheel in design and effect and 
containing not more than 60 grams of pyrotechnic 
composition. When placed on the ground and 
ignited, a shower of colored sparks is produced by 
the rapidly spinning device. See ORS 
480.127(4)(e). The term does not include "Crazy 
Jacks", "Jumping Jacks" and similar spinning 
devices that do not have a means to prevent 
uncontrolled and unpredictable behavior during 
discharge, and due to uncontrolled and 
unpredictable behavior, present a severe hazard of 
fire and injury. The sale of such devices is therefore 
prohibited. 
(16) "Illegal Fireworks" shall mean any Fireworks 
other than those described in ORS 480.127(4) 
including but not limited to, any Firework that flies 
into the air, or explodes or behaves in an 
uncontrolled and unpredictable manner. 
(17) "Illuminating Torch" shall mean a cylindrical 
tube containing not more than 100 grams of 
pyrotechnic composition. This device may be 
provided with a spike for insertion into the ground, 
a wood or plastic base for placing on the ground or 
a wood or cardboard handle if intended to be hand-
held. See ORS 480.127(4)(f). 
(18) "Individual" shall mean a single human being.  

(19) "Individual Member of the General Public" 
shall mean any Person who has not been issued a 
wholesale permit, a general, limited or special 
effects public display permit, a Retail Permit or an 
agricultural permit by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal. 
(20) "Individual Responsible for Sales" shall mean 
the Individual identified on the Permit Application 
who is responsible for the operation of the Retail 
Sales Outlet listed on the Permit Application. 
(21) "Indoor Sales" shall mean sales of Retail 
Fireworks from inside a Building or Tent. 
(22) "Local Fire Authority" shall mean the local fire 
official having jurisdiction over the Retail Site 
and/or the Retail Fireworks storage location. 
(23) "NFPA" shall mean the National Fire 
Protection Association. 
(24) "Novelties and Trick Noisemakers" shall mean 
those items described in NFPA 1124, Section 1.4, 
200(3) Edition. It also means Exempt Fireworks .  
(25) "Outdoor Sales" shall mean sales of Retail 
Fireworks from a Tent, Canopy, Stand or trailer. 
(26) "Permit Application" shall mean the 
application form(s) and accompanying 
documentation required to be completed and 
submitted to the Office of State Fire Marshal for 
approval prior to the issuance of a Retail Permit. 
(27) “Public Display Fireworks “shall mean 
Fireworks that are authorized under a general, 
limited, or special effects public display permit 
issued pursuant to ORS 480.130, 480.140 and 
480.150. 
(28) "Retail Fireworks" shall mean those items 
described in ORS 480.127(4), specifically 
Combination Items, Cone Fountains, Cylindrical 
Fountains, Flitter Sparklers, Ground Spinners, 
Illuminating Torches, and Wheels. The term does 
include a firework designed with the means to roll 
or move while remaining on the ground, that travels 
12’ or less horizontally on smooth surfaces. 
(29) "Retail Operations" shall mean the sale of 
Retail Fireworks from a Retail Sales Outlet to 
Individual Members of the General Public and 
related activities, including the purchase, 
possession, storage and transportation of Retail 
Fireworks. 
(30) "Retail Permit" shall mean the official written 
document issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal 
pursuant to ORS 480.127 that authorizes the 
purchase, transport, possession, storage and sale of 
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Retail Fireworks, at retail, when otherwise in 
conformance with all applicable requirements of 
ORS 480.110 through 480.165, OAR Chapter 837, 
Division 12, and any other applicable federal, state 
and local laws, rules and regulations pertaining to 
fireworks.  
(31) "Retail Sales Outlet" shall mean a permanently 
or temporarily erected structure or enclosure located 
at the Retail Site and from which Retail Fireworks 
are sold to Individual Members of the General 
Public. The term includes Stands, Tents, Canopies, 
Buildings, and trailers. 
(32) "Retail Site" shall mean the physical location 
or address of the Retail Sales Outlet listed on the 
Retail Permit where Retail Fireworks are sold. 
(33) "Retailer" shall mean any Person who Sells, 
transfers, or provides by any other means, or intends 
to Sell, transfer or provide by any other means, 
Retail Fireworks to Individual Members of the 
General Public.  
(34) "Sales Display" shall mean the placement at a 
Retail Sales Outlet of Retail Fireworks to allow 
Individual Members of the General Public to view, 
handle and/or purchase the Retail Fireworks.  
(35) "Sell" shall mean to transfer possession of 
property from one Person to another Person for 
consideration. 
(36) "Stand" shall mean a booth temporarily erected 
and used for the sale of Retail Fireworks to 
Individual Members of the General Public. 
(37) "Tent" shall mean a temporary structure, 
enclosure or shelter constructed of fabric or pliable 
material supported by any manner except by air or 
the contents it protects and is in compliance with 
Uniform Fire Code requirements for tents. 
(38) "Volunteer" shall mean a member of a non-
profit organization that has applied for and obtained 
a Retail Permit.  
(39) "Wheel" shall mean a pyrotechnic device 
attached to a post or tree by means of a nail or 
string. Each wheel may contain not more than six 
driver units or tubes not exceeding one-half inch 
(12.5mm) inside diameter and containing not more 
than 60 grams of pyrotechnic composition. Upon 
ignition, the wheel revolves and produces a shower 
of colored sparks, and sometimes a whistling effect. 
See ORS 480.127(4)(g). 
(40) "Wholesaler" shall mean any Person who Sells 
or provides by any other means, or intends to Sell or 
provide by any other means Fireworks, Retail 

Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or 
Agricultural Fireworks. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 
4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; OSFM 5-
1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; 
OSFM 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-
2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; 
OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-
2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-01; OSFM 2-2003, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 3-2005, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-
05; OSFM 9-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05  
 
837-012-0615 
General 
(1) Retailers desiring to engage in other types of 
Fireworks activities, including wholesale sales, 
public displays or agricultural use, must meet all 
applicable requirements in ORS 480.110 through 
480.165 and OAR Chapter 837, Division 12, 
including those pertaining to obtaining permits for 
such activities from local and state authorities. 
(2) Retail Permit holders shall comply with all 
applicable federal, state and local laws, rules and 
regulations, pertaining to Fireworks, including: 
(a) ORS 480.110 through 480.165; 
(b) All applicable requirements of OAR Chapter 
837, Division 12; 
(c) Oregon Fire Code, 2004 Edition; and 
(d) Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 2004 Edition. 
(3) Retail Permit holders shall notify the Office of 
State Fire Marshal, verbally or in writing, within 24 
hours of the date of change, of: 
(a) The Retail Permit holder’s mailing address or 
telephone number; or 
(b) The mailing address or 24-hour contact number 
for the Individual Responsible for Sales. 
(4) Retail Permit holders shall notify the Office of 
State Fire Marshal and the Local Fire Authority, in 
writing of a change in the identity of the Individual 
Responsible for Sales at least 24 hours before the 
new Individual becomes the Individual Responsible 
for Sales. Such a change is subject to the prior 
approval of the Local Fire Authority and the Office 
of State Fire Marshal. 
(5) Exempt Fireworks are exempt from the permit 
requirements set forth in ORS 480.110 through 
480.165 and OAR Chapter 837, Division 12. 
Exempt Fireworks may be sold and purchased 
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without either the seller or purchaser having to first 
obtain a permit issued by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 
4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; OSFM 5-
1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; 
OSFM 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-
2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; 
OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-
2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-01; OSFM 2-2003, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 3-2005, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-
05 
 
837-012-0620 
Retail Permit Applications 
(1) Any Person engaged in, or intending to engage 
in, the sale or provision by any other means of 
Retail Fireworks to Individual Members of the 
General Public shall apply for and obtain a Retail 
Permit issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 
(2) A separate Retail Permit shall be applied for and 
obtained for each Retail Sales Outlet that may 
conduct sales of Retail Fireworks in Oregon. 
(3) Only one application for a Retail Permit may be 
made for each Retail Site except pursuant to OAR 
837-012-0630(3). 
(4) The application for a Retail Permit shall be 
made on a form provided by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal. 
(5) All information provided by the applicant on the 
Permit Application shall be true and correct to the 
applicant’s knowledge.  
(6) In addition to completion of the application 
form, applicants shall submit copies of a sketch of 
the Retail Site in accordance with subsection (7) of 
this rule.  
(7) The sketch of the Retail Site, required pursuant 
to subsection (6) of this rule, shall include without 
limitation, the following: 
(a) A diagram of the Retail Sales Outlet and its 
relationship to adjacent areas located at the Retail 
Site; 
(b) For all Outdoor Sales, the location and distances 
of all structures, Buildings, highways, streets, trees, 
and other vegetation within 50 feet of the Retail 
Sales Outlet; 
(c) For all Indoor Sales, the location of the Sales 
Display and the location and distances of all highly 

combustible materials within a 20-foot radius of the 
Sales Display; 
(A) For Retail Sales Outlets located within 
structures or Buildings of less than 1,000 square 
feet, all Exits from the Building or structure; 
(B) For Retail Sales Outlets located in structures or 
Buildings of greater than 1,000 square feet, all Exits 
from the Building or structure located within 75 feet 
of the Sales Display;  
(C) For tents, all exits from the tent. 
(D) A list of the general types of merchandise 
located within 20 feet of the Sales Display. This 
requirement does not apply to Tents. 
(d) The location of any open flames, exposed 
heating elements or other direct sources of ignition, 
including, but not limited to, coffee makers, food 
warmers, cookers and broilers located inside the 
Retail Sales Outlet or, for Indoor Sales, within 20 
feet of the Sales Display.  
(8) Any applicant for a Retail Permit, other than an 
Individual, shall list on the application form the 
name, address, and phone number of one Individual 
holding a management position within the permit 
holder’s company or organization. See definition of 
"Person" in ORS 174.100(4) and "Individual" in 
OAR 837-012-0610(18). 
(9) As part of the Permit Application process, the 
applicant shall apply for and obtain, in writing when 
available; 
(a) All required local and state building code, fire 
code and business licensing inspections, approvals, 
permits and/or licenses; and 
(b) All required state and local land use and zoning 
permits, licenses and/or approvals for the Retail 
Site. 
(10) Applicants shall submit their completed Permit 
Application to the Local Fire Authority for review 
and signature approving the Retail Site prior to 
submission of the Permit Application to the Office 
of State Fire Marshal. 
(11) The required Local Fire Authority signatures 
are: 
(a) For retail sales conducted inside city limits, the 
Permit Application must be signed by the city Fire 
Chief or his authorized representative; 
(b) For retail sales conducted outside city limits, but 
inside a rural Fire Protection District, the Permit 
Application must be signed by the district Fire 
Chief or his authorized representative; 
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(c) For retail sales conducted outside both city 
limits and a rural Fire Protection District, the Permit 
Application must be signed by the District Deputy 
State Fire Marshal. 
(d) Applicants must also obtain the signature of the 
Local Fire Authority with jurisdiction over the 
Retail Fireworks storage location, regardless of 
whether the storage location is the same as the 
Retail Site. 
(12) Proof of identification of the Individual 
Responsible for Sales shall be provided to the Local 
Fire Authority at the time the Permit Application is 
submitted to the Local Fire Authority for review 
and signature. The proof of identification shall be a 
current and recognizable photographic 
identification. 
(13) Permit Applications shall not be submitted to 
the Office of State Fire Marshal prior to January 1 
of the year for which the permit is sought. 
(14) ORS 480.127 requires retail fireworks sales 
applicants to apply in writing to the State Fire 
Marshal for a permit at least 15 days in advance of 
the proposed sale.  However, due to limited 
resources in the fireworks program, it is 
recommended that retail fireworks permit 
applications be postmarked or submitted to the 
OSFM by April 15 of the year for which the permit 
is sought.   
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, 480.120, 
480.127, 480.130, 480.150, 480.152, 480.154, 
480.156, 480.158, 480.160 & 480.165  
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 
4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; OSFM 5-
1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef.12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; 
OSFM 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-
2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; 
Administrative correction 6-14-01; OSFM 11-2001, 
f. & cert. ef. 12-14-01; OSFM 3-2005, f. & cert. ef. 
2-15-05; OSFM 9-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05  
 
837-012-0625  
Retail Permit Fees 
(1) Permit fees shall be paid at, or mailed to, the 
Office of State Fire Marshal and shall accompany 
the Permit Application. 
(2) Payment shall be made by personal check, 
business check, cashier’s check or money order 
made payable to the Office of State Fire Marshal. If 
the fee is paid by either personal or business check, 

the Office of State Fire Marshal shall not take any 
action on the Permit Application until the check has 
cleared the bank. 
(3) The permit fee for each Permit Application shall 
be $100. 
(4) Permit fees are non-refundable and non-
transferable. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 
4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; OSFM 14-2000, f. & 
cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-
14-01; OSFM 3-2005, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-05; OSFM 
13-2005(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-16-05 thru 2-11-06; 
OSFM 2-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-13-06 thru 3-
10-06; OSFM 5-2006, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-06; 
OSFM 9-2008(Temp), f. 11-14-08, cert. ef. 11-17-
08 thru 5-8-09; OSFM 1-2009, f. 4-9-09, cert. ef. 4-
10-09 
 
837-012-0630 
Issuance of Retail Permits 
(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall not 
approve a Permit Application, or issue a Retail 
Permit, without the prior approval of the Local Fire 
Authority. 
(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall assign a 
unique number to each Retail Permit issued. 
(3) Only one Retail Permit shall be issued for each 
Retail Site with the following exception: More than 
one Retail Sales Outlet may be erected and operated 
at the same Retail Site, whether indoors or outdoors, 
when there is sufficient space to allow each Retail 
Sales Outlet to conform to the requirements of ORS 
480.110 to 480.165 and these rules. For example, 
Retail Permits may be issued for both Outdoor Sales 
and Indoor Sales located at the same Retail Site. 
(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall mail the 
original Retail Permit to the applicant at the mailing 
address listed on the Permit Application. 
(5) Retail Permit holders may request a duplicate 
copy of their permit by certifying to the Office of 
State Fire Marshal, in writing, that their permit has 
been lost, stolen, or destroyed. Written requests 
shall be signed and dated by the Retail Permit 
holder. 
(6) The issuance of a Retail Permit does not in any 
way constitute approval by the Office of State Fire 
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Marshal of any Retail Fireworks purchased, sold or 
provided pursuant to the Retail Permit. 
(7) A Retail Permit allows the holder of the permit 
to engage in the purchase, transportation, 
possession, storage and sales of Retail Fireworks 
when those activities are otherwise in conformance 
with the applicable requirements of ORS 480.110 
through 480.165, OAR Chapter 837, Division 12 
and any other applicable federal, state or local laws, 
rules or regulations pertaining to Fireworks. 
(8) A Retail Permit holder is authorized only to Sell 
or otherwise provide Retail Fireworks to Individual 
Members of the General Public. 
(9) A Retail Permit does not authorize the: 
(a) Purchase, possession or sale of Illegal Fireworks 
by or to any Person; or 
(b) Sale or provision of Retail Fireworks to any 
Person other than an Individual Member of the 
General Public. 
(10) The Retail Permit and permit number issued by 
the Office of State Fire Marshal are valid for the 
sale of Retail Fireworks from June 23 through July 
6 of the year in which the permit was issued. 
(11) A Retail Permit is valid only for the Retail 
Sales Outlet and Retail Site listed on the permit. 
(12) Only the Retail Permit holder, and any 
Employees or Volunteers of the Retail Permit 
holder, may engage in Retail Operations authorized 
by the Retail Permit. 
(13) Retail Permits, and the rights conveyed by the 
permits, are not transferable. 
(14) Retail Permit holders shall contract directly 
with the Wholesaler listed on the Retail Permit for 
the purchase of Retail Fireworks. 
(15) Retail Permit holders shall not contract, 
subcontract, lease, sub-lease or convey by any other 
means to another Person any rights granted under 
the Retail Permit. 
(16) The Retail Permit issued by the Office of State 
Fire Marshal does not require property owners or 
others to allow sales of Retail Fireworks on their 
property. The Office of State Fire Marshal will not 
intercede on the behalf of Retail Permit holders with 
property owners who refuse to allow sales of Retail 
Fireworks on their property, or, in the case of two 
Permit Applications submitted or two Retail Permits 
inadvertently issued for the same Retail Site, when 
there is a question of which applicant or Retail 
Permit holder has permission from the property 
owner to conduct sales at the Retail Site. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110-480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 
4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; FM 1-1997, f. & cert. 
ef. 1-28-97; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-
14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 6-
21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-
5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-
4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-01; 
OSFM 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-03 
 
837-012-0635 
Purchase of Retail Fireworks by Retail Permit 
Holder 
(1) Retail Permit holders shall purchase or 
otherwise obtain Retail Fireworks only from 
Wholesalers who possess a valid and current 
wholesale permit issued by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal. 
(2) A Retail Permit holder shall purchase or 
otherwise obtain Retail Fireworks only from the 
Wholesaler listed on the Retail Permit. 
(3) If the Wholesaler who supplies the Retail 
Fireworks to the Retail Permit holder is different 
from the Wholesaler listed on the Retail Permit, the 
Retail Permit holder shall notify, in writing, the 
Office of State Fire Marshal and Local Fire 
Authority of the change at least 24 hours prior to 
purchasing the Retail Fireworks from the 
Wholesaler. 
(4) Prior to acceptance of Retail Fireworks from a 
Wholesaler, the Retail Permit holder shall confirm 
that the outside of all Cartons, Containers, or Cases 
of Retail Fireworks, and any accompanying 
documentation are imprinted and/or affixed with the 
wholesale permit number pursuant to OAR 837-
012-0525 (13). 
(5) Prior to acceptance of Retail Fireworks from a 
Wholesaler, the Retail Permit holder shall confirm 
that the outside of all Cartons, Containers, or Cases 
of Retail Fireworks and any accompanying 
documentation are imprinted and/or affixed with the 
full name and Retail Permit number of the Retail 
Permit holder. 
(6) Retail Permit holders shall not accept any 
Cartons, Containers, or Cases of Retail Fireworks or 
accompanying documentation that does not show 
the information required pursuant to subsections (4) 
and (5) of this rule. 
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 
4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; OSFM 7-
2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; 
OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-
2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-01; OSFM 2-2003, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 9-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 
6-7-05 
 
837-012-0640 
Permits-Denial, Suspension and/or Revocation 
(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, 
suspend or revoke a Retail Permit if a Retail Permit 
holder, or an applicant, fails: 
(a) to comply with ORS 480.110 through 480.165 
or OAR Chapter 837, Division 12. 
(2) The period of denial, suspension or revocation 
shall not exceed three years. In determining the 
appropriate sanction, the Office of State Fire 
Marshal shall consider the following criteria: 
(a) The severity of the violation(s) and/or its impact 
on public safety, particularly whether the 
circumstances of the violations presented a 
significant fire hazard or other public safety danger; 
(b) The number of similar or related violations 
alleged to have been committed in the current 
transaction, event or occurrence; 
(c) Whether the violation(s) was willful or 
intentional; 
(d) The prior history of sanctions imposed by the 
Office of State Fire Marshal against the Retail 
Permit holder or applicant; and 
(e) Other circumstances determined by the Office of 
State Fire Marshal to be applicable to the particular 
violation(s). 
(3) Suspension or revocation of a Retail Permit may 
include suspension or revocation of the current 
permit and the right to apply for a subsequent 
permit. 
(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, 
suspend, or revoke all Retail Permits issued to a 
Retail Permit holder for each of the permit holder’s 
or applicant’s Retail Sales Outlets pursuant to OAR 
837-012-0620(2). 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, 480.120, 
480.127, 480.130, 480.150, 480.152, 480.154, 
480.156, 480.158, 480.160 & 480.165  
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 

4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; OSFM 5-
1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; 
OSFM 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-
2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; 
OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-
2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-01; OSFM 9-2005, f. 5-
24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05  
 
837-012-0645 
Sales and Storage of Retail Fireworks 
(1) A Retail Sales Outlet shall never be left 
unattended during the business hours of the outlet. 
Any Retail Sales Outlet in violation of these rules 
may be subject to closure. 
(2) The Retail Permit holder or the Individual 
Responsible for Sales shall be present at the Retail 
Sales Outlet at least 50% of the outlet’s business 
hours each day. When not present at the outlet, the 
Individual Responsible for Sales shall be readily 
available, day or night, by telephone or other 
reliable means of communication. The Individual 
Responsible for sales may be absent from the Retail 
Sales Outlet for up to 48 consecutive hours twice 
during the period of time the Retail Permit is valid. 
The two 48-hour time periods shall not be 
consecutive. The Individual Responsible for sales, 
when not at the Retail Site, shall be available 
through their 24-hour contact number listed on their 
Permit Application. 
(3) Any time the Individual Responsible for Sales is 
not present at the Retail Sales Outlet during the 
business hours of the outlet, at least one Individual, 
18 years of age or older, shall be present at the 
outlet. Such Individual shall be an Employee or 
Volunteer of the Retail Permit holder’s volunteer 
non-profit organization. Such Individual shall be 
directly responsible for, and in charge of, the Retail 
Sales Outlet and shall be present in the Retail Sales 
Outlet at all times.  
(4) The Individual Responsible for Sales shall be: 
(a) The Retail Permit holder listed on the Retail 
Permit; or  
(b) An Employee of the Retail Permit holder; or  
(c) If the Retail Permit holder is a volunteer, non-
profit organization, an Individual who is a member 
of the Retail permit holder’s volunteer non-profit 
organization. 
(5) The Individual Responsible for Sales shall be 
responsible for only the Retail Sales Outlet listed on 
the Retail Permit. 
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(6) The Retail Site may be changed if: 
(a) The new Retail Site is located in the same fire 
jurisdiction as the Retail Site listed in the Retail 
Permit; 
(b) The Local Fire Authority approves the new 
Retail Site and indicates that approval in writing; 
and 
(c) The Office of State Fire Marshal is notified of 
the change at least 24 hours prior to the 
commencement of retail sales. 
(7) Retail Fireworks shall be sold only at a Retail 
Sales Outlet for which a Retail Permit has been 
issued. 
(8) Retail Fireworks shall not be sold or otherwise 
provided from an establishment or business that 
serves alcoholic beverages, single or multi-family 
residences, an Internet site, or automobiles. 
(9) All Retail Sales Outlets shall comply with all 
applicable federal, state and local laws, rules and 
regulations pertaining to Fireworks including: 
(a) ORS 480.110 through 480.165; 
(b) OAR Chapter 837, Division 12; 
(c) Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 2004 Edition; 
and 
(d) Oregon Fire Code, 2004 Edition. 
(10) All Retail Fireworks not sold during the time 
the Retail Permit is valid, shall be returned to the 
supplying Wholesaler no later than July 31 of the 
year in which the permit is valid. 
(11) At all times during the business hours of the 
Retail Sales Outlet, no Exits shall be locked or 
blocked and all exits shall be passable. 
(12) No Fireworks shall be discharged within 100 
feet of any Retail Sales Outlet. 
(13) The Retail Permit holder, Individual 
Responsible for Sales, and any Employees or 
Volunteers of the Retail Permit holder shall ensure 
that all Retail Fireworks sold or otherwise provided, 
possessed, transported, stored or offered for sale 
comply with ORS 480.110 through 480.165 and 
these rules. 
(14) The type of Retail Sales Outlet (Tent, Stand, 
Canopy or trailer) to be utilized shall be described 
on the Permit Application, including its outside 
dimensions. The dimensions of the Retail Sales 
Outlet listed on the Permit Application shall not 
increase, but they may decrease, after the Permit 
Application is submitted to the Office of State Fire 
Marshal. 

(15) Retail Permit holders may store their Retail 
Fireworks from June 1 through July 31 of the year 
in which their Retail Permit is valid. The Local Fire 
Authority shall approve the storage and the storage 
location of the Retail Fireworks and indicate that 
approval by signing the Permit Application. 
(16) Retail Fireworks shall be stored: 
(a) In compliance with the Oregon Structural 
Specialty Code, 2004 Edition; or 
(b) In an explosives magazine pursuant to NFPA 
495, 2001Edition. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 
4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; OSFM 5-
1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; 
OSFM 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-
2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; 
OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-
2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-01; OSFM 2-2003, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 3-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-
04; OSFM 3-2005, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-05 
 
837-012-0650 
Outdoor Sales 
(1) The location of an outdoor Retail Sales Outlet 
shall not present a significant risk of fire or injury to 
those Individuals conducting sales of Retail 
Fireworks, Individual Members of the General 
Public, and any surrounding property. 
(2) Every outdoor Retail Sales Outlet shall maintain 
at least one Exit opening, or outward swinging Exit 
door, for each 1,000 square feet of area covered or 
each 20 feet of structure length. The Exit opening 
shall be at least two feet wide and five feet high or 
as required by the Local Fire Authority. 
(3) Trailers shall have their wheels blocked or 
removed, or the tongue locked. Trailers shall be 
disconnected from any power source which can 
potentially move the trailer any distance. Any fuel 
tanks or other ignition sources, including those for 
propane, shall be removed and placed a minimum 
of 20 feet from the trailer. Individual Members of 
the General Public shall not have access to the 
interior of the trailer. 
(4) Tent and Canopy fabrics and any materials used 
on the floor of the Tent or Canopy, such as sawdust, 
shall be treated to be fire retardant. 
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(5) Tents having three or more enclosing sides shall 
comply with the requirements for both Indoor Sales 
and Outdoor Sales. 
(6) Fire extinguishers shall be provided at each 
outdoor Retail Sales Outlet. At a minimum, at least 
one 2A rated water type extinguisher, or an 
equivalent water type extinguishing system as 
approved by the Local Fire Authority shall be 
placed at each Retail Sales Outlet. 
(7) All electrical wiring, lighting and other electrical 
fixtures and installations shall be in accordance with 
the Oregon Electrical Specialty Code, 2005 Edition 
and any other applicable state or local requirements. 
(8) Outdoor Retail Sales Outlets that operate at 
night shall erect and maintain sufficient light 
fixtures to enable customers and those Individuals 
selling Retail Fireworks to see all areas of the 
outlet. Standard electrical installations, battery 
powered lanterns, street or parking lot lighting or 
nearby Building interior and exterior lighting may 
be used for this purpose. 
(9) Outdoor Retail Sales Outlets shall be located: 
(a) At least 50 feet from any dispensary of 
flammable liquids or gases; 
(b) At least 15 feet, or as otherwise specified by the 
Local Fire Authority, from any street or public 
right-of-way; 
(c) At least 10 feet from any combustible structures; 
(d) At least 10 feet from any entrances to, or Exits 
and openings from, any surrounding Buildings or 
structures; and 
(e) At least 20 feet from exposed heating elements 
or any other such sources of ignition including fuel-
powered electrical generators. 
(10) A Stand including any vertical extensions shall 
not be more than one story in height unless it has 
sufficient size, weight or tie-downs to prevent 
toppling in the wind. 
(11) "No Smoking" signs shall be posted on the 
outside of all enclosing sides of an outdoor Retail 
Sales Outlet. The signs shall be visible to all 
Individuals located at the Retail Sales Outlet. Sign 
lettering shall be red and at least 2-1/2 inches high 
on a white background. 
(12) Smoking, open flames, and other such ignition 
sources or the use of Fireworks are prohibited 
within 100 feet of the Retail Sales Outlet. 
(13) All fuel used to power electrical generators 
shall be stored in containers listed and approved by 
Underwriter's Laboratories. 

(14) Heaters having exposed electrical elements or 
open flames shall not be used at any Outdoor Retail 
Sales Outlet. 
(15) Outdoor Retail Sales Outlets, and parking for 
customers of the Retail Sales Outlet, shall not 
impede or endanger the normal flow of traffic on 
public streets or highways, or parking lots. 
(16) The Retail Permit holder, Individual 
Responsible for Sales and/or any Employees or 
Volunteers of the Retail Permit holder shall be 
responsible for maintaining the grounds within 20 
feet of the Retail Sales Outlet in a clean and orderly 
manner. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, 480.120, 
480.127, 480.130, 480.150, 480.152, 480.154, 
480.156, 480.158, 480.160 & 480.165  
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 
4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; OSFM 5-
1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; 
OSFM 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-
2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; 
OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-
2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-01; OSFM 3-2005, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-15-05; OSFM 9-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 
6-7-05 
 
837-012-0655 
Indoor Sales 
(1) The location of an indoor Retail Sales Outlet 
shall not present a significant risk of fire or injury to 
those Individuals conducting sales of Retail 
Fireworks, Individual Members of the General 
Public, and any surrounding property. 
(2) A specific area inside the Building shall be 
designated and maintained as the Sales Display 
area. 
(3) The location of the Sales Display area shall not 
hinder or block any Exit, including, if applicable, a 
required checkstand Exit. 
(4) The Individual Responsible for Sales shall 
regularly monitor and oversee Retail Operations at 
the Retail Sales Outlet to ensure the Sales Display 
and/or storage area(s) are orderly and maintained in 
accordance with these rules. 
(5) Retail Fireworks, in excess of those needed for 
the Sales Display, may be stored inside the Retail 
Sales Outlet only if they are separated from all 
Sales Display areas, Exits, flammable and highly 
combustible materials and public access areas to the 
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Building, in accordance with Local Fire Authority 
requirements and these rules. This subsection does 
not apply to Tents or canopies. 
(6) Fire extinguishers shall be placed throughout the 
indoor Retail Sales Outlet in the quantities and 
locations required by NFPA 10, 1998 Edition and 
any applicable local ordinances and rules. At a 
minimum, at least one 2A rated water type fire 
extinguisher, or an equivalent water type fire 
extinguishing system, as approved by the Local Fire 
Authority shall be placed at the outlet. 
(7) Smoking at an indoor Retail Sales Outlet by the 
Retail Permit holder, Individual Responsible for 
Sales or an Employee or Volunteer of the Retail 
Permit Holder may be the basis for suspension 
and/or revocation of the Retail Permit. 
(8) All trash, rubbish, empty boxes and discarded 
Retail Fireworks wrapping or packaging shall be 
removed daily or more often as needed, to maintain 
the Sales Display and storage areas in a neat and 
clean manner. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, 480.120, 
480.127, 480.130, 480.150, 480.152, 480.154, 
480.156, 480.158, 480.160 & 480.165  
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 
4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; OSFM 5-
1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; 
OSFM 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-
2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; 
OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-
2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-01; OSFM 9-2005, f. 5-
24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05 
 
837-012-0660 
Records and Postings 
(1) The Retail Permit shall be posted at the Retail 
Sales Outlet and shall be readily visible to all 
individuals approaching or entering the outlet. 
(2) A copy of the Retail Permit may be posted 
instead of the original if the original is maintained 
at the Outlet and is immediately available for 
inspection by the Local Fire Authority and/or the 
Office of State Fire Marshal, upon request. 
(3) A record of each shipment of Retail Fireworks 
received by the Retail Permit Holder shall be 
maintained. The record shall include the 
Wholesaler’s name, address and wholesale permit 
number, the Retail Permit holder’s name and permit 

number, and a complete list of the names and 
quantities of each type of Retail Firework received. 
(4) All records described under subsection (3) of 
this rule shall be maintained by either the Retail 
Permit holder or the Wholesaler who supplied the 
Retail Fireworks. The records shall be maintained 
for three years from the date of the Retail Permit 
holder’s receipt of the shipment. 
(5) Upon request, the records described in 
subsection (3) of this rule, shall be readily available 
for review and inspection by the Local Fire 
Authority and/or representatives of the Office of 
State Fire Marshal. All records shall be clear, 
legible, and accurate. 
(6) Retail Permit holders shall maintain at all times 
a list of Employees or Volunteers, including their 
names, addresses, ages, and phone numbers. Upon 
request, a legible copy of the list shall be provided 
immediately to the Office of State Fire Marshal 
and/or the Local Fire Authority. 
(7) All Persons possessing, for 30 days or more, 
more than ten pounds of Retail Fireworks shall 
annually complete and submit the Hazardous 
Substance Survey pursuant to ORS 453.307 to 
435.372 and OAR Chapter 837, Division 85. 
Contact the Office of State Fire Marshal for survey 
forms and instructions. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, 
ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130, ORS 480.150, ORS 
480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 
480.158, ORS 480.160 & ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 
4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; OSFM 5-
1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; 
OSFM 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 14-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & 
cert. ef. 12-14-01 
 
837-012-0665 
Advertisements 
(1) No person shall publish or cause to be 
published:  
(a) Any advertisement, for distribution to the 
general public, concerning the sale of pyrotechnics 
which have been declared unlawful by ORS 
480.110 to 480.165, or these rules, for residents to 
purchase, use, store, transport, sell, discharge, or 
possess;  
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(b) Any advertisement for the sale of items 
described in ORS 480.127 in any county, 
municipality or fire protection district that by law or 
ordinance has declared the sale, use, or possession 
of such items to be prohibited. 
(2) Section (1) of this rule does not apply to 
advertisements placed in media when the primary 
distribution of that media is into areas which allow 
the pyrotechnics even though some secondary 
distributions of that media may occur into areas 
which prohibit these items. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, 
ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130, ORS 480.150, ORS 
480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 
480.158, ORS 480.160 & ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 
4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; OSFM 5-
1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; 
OSFM 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 14-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00 
 
837-012-0670 
Prohibited Acts and Limitations 
(1) Retail Permit holders shall not create, maintain 
or allow the existence of a fire hazard at any 
location under their control where Retail Fireworks 
are stored, transported, sold, or used. 
(2) No Retail Permit holder shall Sell or provide by 
any other means including donation: 
(a) Retail Fireworks to any Individual Member of 
the General Public under 16 years of age;  
(b) Illegal Fireworks to any Individual Member of 
the General Public; 
(c) Any Retail Fireworks that have been altered; 
(d) Any Retail Fireworks not supplied and/or 
distributed to the Retail Permit holder by a 
Wholesaler who possesses a valid and current 
wholesale permit issued by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal pursuant to OAR 837-012-0635(1) through 
3). 
(3) No Person who has been convicted of a 
violation of ORS 480.110 through 480.165 or OAR 
Chapter 837, Division 12, or who has had any 
Fireworks permit or operator certificate suspended, 
denied or revoked, shall participate in any manner 
in the storage, distribution, transportation or sale of 
Retail Fireworks for a period not to exceed three 
years. 

(4) Retail Permit holders shall not Sell, provide, 
keep, or offer for sale, expose for sale, possess, use, 
explode or have exploded any Retail Firework that 
has not been approved, certified or listed for 
transport by the United States Department of 
Transportation and/or the United State Consumer 
Product Safety Commission, or does not have a 
United States Bureau of Explosives Temporary 
Transfer Permit. 
(5) No Retail Sales Outlet shall be erected prior to 
the issuance of a Retail Permit for that Retail Sales 
Outlet location. 
(6) No Person shall Sell, transfer or otherwise 
provide Retail Fireworks to Individual Members of 
the General Public without first obtaining a Retail 
Permit. 
(7) A Retail Permit holder shall not employ or have 
direct business ties with any Person who’s 
Wholesale or Retail Fireworks Permit or operator 
certificate is revoked or suspended. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, 480.120, 
480.127, 480.130, 480.150, 480.152, 480.154, 
480.156, 480.158, 480.160 & 480.165  
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 
4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; OSFM 5-
1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; 
OSFM 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-
2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; 
OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-
2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-01; OSFM 3-2005, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-15-05; OSFM 9-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 
6-7-05  
 
 
837-012-0675 
Civil and Criminal Enforcement Actions 
(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal, Local Fire 
Authority or law enforcement officials may 
confiscate, remove or have removed any Retail 
Fireworks offered for sale, sold, provided, 
transported, purchased or otherwise obtained, 
stored, used, discharged or possessed in violation of 
ORS 480.110 through 480.165 or these rules. 
(2) The Retail Permit holder, or Person responsible 
for the violation(s), shall be responsible for payment 
of the agency’s costs in confiscating or removing 
any Retail Fireworks pursuant to subsection (1) of 
this rule. 
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(3) Upon finding a violation, the Office of State Fire 
Marshal may order that any confiscated Retail 
Fireworks be:  
(a) Returned to the Wholesaler who supplied the 
Retail Fireworks; or  
(b) Disposed of in any manner approved by the 
Office of State Fire Marshal, including destruction 
of the Retail Fireworks. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, 

ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130, ORS 480.150, ORS 
480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 
480.158, ORS 480.160 & ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 
4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; OSFM 5-
1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; 
OSFM 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 14-
2000, f. & cert. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. 
ef. 12-14-01 
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