
OUT-OF-STATE 
Wholesalers outside of Oregon shall not have 
distribution sites in Oregon. Fireworks are to be 
delivered to the retail permit holder directly 
from the wholesaler’s out-of-state location. 
 

ISSUANCE OF PERMIT 
 

Within 60 days of receipt of a properly 
completed Permit Application and Wholesale 
Permit fee, the OSFM shall either grant or deny 
the application. In no case will the OSFM issue 
a permit without the approval of the local fire 
official having jurisdiction. 
 

VALID DATES 
 

Permits are valid from January 1 to December 
31 of the year for which they are issued. 
 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
 

• All persons involved in wholesale fireworks 
sales, storage, transportation, or distribution 
must be at least 18 years of age. 

• Permits are not transferable to another 
person or business, including sub-
contracting of accounts. 

• Wholesalers cannot sell to individual 
members of the general public, but only to 
those persons holding fireworks permits 
issued by the OSFM. 

• Changes in the person in charge of sales 
requires notifying the OSFM in writing 
within two weeks of date of change. 

• A copy of the permit issued by the OSFM 
shall be posted in the sales area. 

• The manager of wholesale sales, or the sales 
representative, must be an employee of the 
wholesaler, must be on site during the 
business hours of the site. 

 

• Persons who have been cited or arrested for 
fireworks violations, or who have their 
fireworks permits suspended, revoked, or 
denied in any jurisdiction, shall not 
participate in fireworks wholesale activities. 

 
FIREWORKS SHIPMENTS 

 

Shipments of fireworks from Oregon-based 
wholesalers to other states must be in 
compliance with all applicable United States 
Department of Transportation requirements and 
any other federal, state, or local laws, rules, or 
regulations pertaining to the transportation of 
fireworks, or in vehicles owned, leased or rented 
by the wholesaler. 
 
Common carriers shall immediately notify local 
fire authority or the OSFM of any fireworks 
shipments to be delivered within or into Oregon. 
 
Common carriers shall hold all shipments for at 
least 24 hours, or until released by the local fire 
authority and/or the OSFM. 
 
Shipments not legal for delivery in Oregon may 
be confiscated, removed or have removed by the 
local fire authority, law enforcement authority 
and/or the OSFM. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
For more information or additional copies of 
this brochure, contact the Office of State Fire 
Marshal at (503) 934-8285. 
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Wholesalers who sell fireworks to holders of 
display, retail sales and agricultural use 
fireworks permits are required to obtain a 
wholesale fireworks permit from the Office of 
State Fire Marshal (OSFM). The permit allows 
the wholesaler to purchase, possess, store and 
sell fireworks when those activities are in 
conformance with the requirements of Oregon 
Administrative Rule (OAR) 837-12-500 
through 837-12-570. 
 

APPLICATION 
 

Permit Applications shall be postmarked by a 
United States Postmark, or received at the Office 
of State Fire Marshal, no later than December 18 
of the year preceding the year for which the 
Wholesale Permit is sought. If December 18 
falls on a day when a postmark cannot be 
obtained, applications shall be postmarked on 
the preceding business day when a postmark can 
be obtained. If December 18 falls on a day when 
the Office of State Fire Marshal is closed, and 
the applicant wishes to hand deliver their 
application, it shall be delivered to the Office of 
State Fire Marshal at the Salem office on the 
preceding business day.  
 

FEE SCHEDULE 
 

Wholesaler $3,000 per year 
 

SIGNATURES REQUIRED 
 

APPLICANT 
• Applications must be signed in the presence 

of a notary public and such signatures shall 
be notarized. 

• Applications made by a partnership shall be 
signed by every partner. 

• Applications made by a corporation shall be 
signed by an officer of the corporation and 
shall bear the corporation seal. 

• Applications made by out-of-state 
companies shall also be signed by the 
applicant(s) and the Manager responsible for 
Wholesale Operations. 

 
LOCAL AUTHORITIES 
• Fire  
• Zoning* 
• Building* 
*Applicants who were issued a permit for the 
previous year and have not changed their 
storage location need only the signature of the 
local fire authority. 
 

DOCUMENTS 
 

The following documents are required to be 
submitted with the application. 
• A copy of a current photographic 

identification card of the applicant(s). If the 
applicant is a corporation, the applicant shall 
submit copies of photographic identification 
of all the corporate officers. If the applicant 
is a partnership, the applicant shall submit 
copies of the photographic identification of 
all partners. 

• A description of fireworks types and 
maximum quantities, by total weight, of 
fireworks anticipated to be stored at the site. 

• A sketch and/or plot plan of the wholesale 
site that shows all structures, buildings, 
highways, property lines and the sales and 
storage areas. The sketch or plan must also 
show the distances between the sales and 
storage areas and all structures, buildings, 
highways and property lines. 

• For 1.3g (class B) fireworks wholesalers, a 
copy of the required federal license must be 
attached. 

• A copy of any lease or sub-lease agreements 
for the wholesale storage and sales site. 

• Copies of all local business licenses, permits 
or zoning approvals required by local 
officials. It is the applicant’s responsibility 
to secure all local permits, licenses or 
approvals. 

 
APPLICABLE STATUTES AND 

FIRE AND LIFE SAFETY CODES 
 

• Oregon Revised Statutes 480.110 through 
480.165, and 480.990. 

• National Fire Protection Association 
Standards 

 #68 - Guide for Explosion Venting; and 
 #1124 - Code for the Manufacture, 

Transportation, and Storage of Fireworks. 
These may be purchased from NFPA at  
1-800-344-3555. 

• Oregon Structural Specialty Code 
• Oregon Fire Code 
• Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms 

and Explosives requirements (BATFE) 
5400.7 for 1.3g (class B) fireworks storage. 

 
SITE SELECTION 

 

IN-STATE 
The wholesale site shall be in conformance with 
the Oregon Structural Specialty Code. Smoking, 
other ignition sources, or the use of fireworks, 
retail fireworks, public display fireworks, or 
agricultural fireworks shall not be allowed 
within 100 feet of the storage or sales facility. 
Temporary structures (including tents), non-
approved buildings, and vehicles or trailers of 
less than 10,000 pound gross carrying capacity, 
are not acceptable for either wholesale storage 
or sales. 
Security for wholesale sites shall be provided by a 
solid or chain link fence with locking gates at least 
six (6) feet high or an alternative as approved by 
the local fire authority. 


