
The Oregon Youth Authority’s 
vision is that youth 

who leave OYA 
lead crime-free lives.

Oregon Youth Authority 
530 Center Street NE, Suite 200 

Salem, OR  97301-3765

Reception: 503-373-7205 
En Espanol: 503-373-7434

www.oregon.gov/OYA

Child support 
obligations 
for parents  
of youth  
offenders

 PROBATION AND PAROLE OFFICES
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The Oregon Youth Authority 
protects the public 
and reduces crime 

by holding youth offenders 
accountable and providing 

opportunities for reformation 
in safe environments.



Do I need to pay child support 
while my child is in the custody 
of the Oregon Youth Authority?
State and federal law require Oregon to collect 
child support from you when your child is placed 
in state custody. The money is used to reimburse 
the state for part of the cost of providing care and 
treatment for your child.

What is the Division of Child 
Support and why are they  
involved in my child’s case?
The Oregon Department of Justice’s Division of 
Child Support (DCS) is the agency designated by 
Oregon law to establish paternity, enact obliga-
tions for child support and medical coverage, and 
collect child support payments. Under Oregon 
law, both parents are responsible for providing 
support for their children. That obligation contin-
ues when a child is placed with the Oregon Youth 
Authority (OYA).

If an order for child support already exists, OYA 
will become the “payee” while the child is in OYA’s 
custody. This is called an “assignment of support 
rights” and means OYA will receive the child sup-
port payments. The state also may collect past-due 
child support.

If no child support order exists, DCS will establish 
an order to collect child support from each parent 
and will designate OYA as the “payee.” This means 
OYA will receive the child support payments. 

How does DCS determine how 
much support I will pay?
The amount of support you are ordered to pay 
will depend on your individual income. DCS 
will calculate the dollar amount based on your 
specific financial situation.

How does DCS establish  
a support order?
DCS will serve you with a “Notice and Find-
ing of Financial Responsibility.” The notice will 
show the proposed amount of monthly support 
you will pay, and the amount of past support 
you owe based on the date your child was 
placed with OYA. The dollar amount is based 
on your individual income. If you believe your 
overall financial status merits a lower monthly 
support payment, you may provide additional 
information to DCS for consideration. 

What do I do if I disagree with 
the amount I am told to pay?
You may request a hearing by calling the DCS 
State Recovery Central Unit at 503-986-6033. 
You must request a hearing within 60 days of 
the date on the notice from DCS. Hearings are 
conducted by telephone. If you disagree with 
the result of the hearing, you may appeal the 
decision to your local circuit court. You must 
submit your appeal within 60 days of the date 
of the hearing decision.

How do I make support  
payments?
Oregon law requires child support orders to be 
paid through automatic payroll deductions, with 
some exceptions. Those exceptions are explained in 
the “Notice and Finding of Financial Responsibil-
ity” you receive from DCS.

Does it matter if my child was 
convicted as an adult instead  
of as a juvenile?
Regardless of whether your child was sentenced as 
an adult or a juvenile, you must pay child support 
while your child is in an OYA facility or residential 
program.

When does my child support 
obligation end?
All youth in OYA’s custody are enrolled in class-
room and/or vocational education programs. 
Youth in the custody of OYA may be eligible to 
receive child support up to age 21 if they qualify 
under state law as a “child attending school.” The 
qualifying criteria are listed in ORS 107.108. DCS 
will continue to collect the monthly child support 
amount as long as your child meets these criteria. 

Where can I learn more?
You can learn more about child support for youth 
in OYA custody by visiting the DCS Web site at 
www.oregonchildsupport.gov/ or calling DCS at 
503-373-7300 (from Salem), 800-850-0228 (toll-
free from within Oregon) or 503-378-5567 (from 
outside Oregon).


