
 

 

 

 

 

  

 
 

 

 

  

 
Non-Prescription Drug 

Outlet 
Information 

 

When does the Non-Prescription 
Drug Outlet Registration Expire? 

Non-Prescription Drug Outlet 
Registrations expire January 31st 
annually.  However, we must receive 
your renewal payment in the amount of 
$50.00 by the postmark deadline of 
December 31st. We will mail your outlet 
a renewal notice in November. 

     Oregon Board of 
            Pharmacy  

Oregon Board of Pharmacy 
800 NE Oregon St. Ste 150 

Portland, OR 97232 
www.pharmacy.state.or.us 

 
 

Oregon Board of Pharmacy 
800 NE Oregon St Ste 150 

Portland, OR 97232 
(971) 673-0001 Phone 
(971) 673-0002 Fax 

pharmacy.board@state.or.us 

 

 

Other Questions? 

If you have additional questions 
please feel free to email us at 
pharmacy.board@state.or.us  
or call us at (971) 673-0001. 

mailto:pharmacy.board@state.or.us
mailto:pharmacy.board@state.or.us


 

What is a Non Prescription Drug 
Outlet? 

A Non-Prescription Drug Outlet is any 
outlet that sells over-the-counter non 
prescription medication to the public. 
This includes stores, gas stations, 
hotels, gift shops, taverns and other 
outlets offering over-the-counter 
medications for sale.  

What is an Over-the Counter 
Medication? 

According to the FDA over-the-
counter drugs are: 

 

• Drugs that do not require  
a prescription. 

 

• Regulated by the FDA. 
 

• Purchased off the shelf in stores.  
 
 
  
 

Is a Registration Required to Sell 
Non Prescription Drugs? 

Yes, Oregon Law requires any Outlet 
that sells medications to the public to be 
registered with the Oregon Board of 
Pharmacy. Outlets that only sell over-
the-counter medications to the public 
are required to register as a Class A Non 
Prescription Drug Outlet.  

This Registration allows an outlet to sell 
seven or more types of over-the-counter 
medications.  

Who can a Non Prescription Drug 
Outlet Purchase Over-the-Counter 
Medications from? 

Non-Prescription Drug Outlets may 
only purchase over-the-counter 
medications from Wholesalers that are 
registered with the Oregon Board of 
Pharmacy. You may verify that a 
Wholesaler has an active license with 
the Board by going to our website.   

Can I Sell Prescription Drugs with 
this Registration? 

No, you may not sell prescription 
drugs with a Non Prescription Drug 
Outlet Registration. Only registered 
pharmacies with licensed pharmacists 
may sell prescription drugs.  

What Items Can I Sell with a Non 
Prescription Drug Outlet 
Registration? 

You may sell over-the-counter FDA 
approved medications that do not 
require a prescription. Here are a  
few examples of the over-the-counter 
medications you can sell.  
      Aspirin           Tylenol 
      Ibuprofen             Pepto Bismol 
      Nyquil           Theraflu 
      Rolaids           Nasal Spray  

 
   
   

 

 

 

How do I Register a Non-
Prescription Drug Outlet?  

You may print your application from 
our website at: 
www.pharmacy.state.or.us and mail 
it to our office along with your 
$50.00 payment made by check or 
money order. If you do not have 
access to the internet please call our 
office at (971)673-0001 and we will 
be happy to mail you an application. 

http://www.pharmacy.state.or.us/
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