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Federal Law has rescheduled all hydrocodone combination products (HCPs) as
Schedule Il, effective October 6, 2014.

The new scheduling impacts all hydrocodone-containing products, including liquids such as
Tussionex, Hycodan and all generic equivalent products. Single-entity hydrocodone has
always been a C-Il drug.

INVENTORY: All pharmacies and any persons who handle (manufacture, distribute, dispense,
import, export, engage in research, conduct instructional activities with or possess)
hydrocodone products, must take an inventory of their current stock on October 6, 2014.
Please keep a record of this inventory on site.

C-l1l RECONCILIATION: Beginning October 6, 2014, pharmacies are required to include HCPs
in C-ll reconciliation audits, pursuant to OAR 855-019-0300(5)(e) and OAR 855-041-

6610(1)(b).

STORAGE: Regulations require pharmacies to store C-Il drugs in a locked area or secure
storage system in accordance with 21 CFR 1301.75
o0 Retail pharmacies may disperse such substances throughout the stock of noncontrolled
substances in such a manner as to obstruct the theft or diversion of the controlled
substances.
0 Hospital pharmacies are require to store Schedule 1l drugs in a locked area or secured
storage system according to OAR 855-041-6610(1)(d), however, hospital pharmacies
will be given until April 8, 2015 to comply with this rule.

RECORDKEEPING: All hydrocodone prescriptions and invoices must be filed with C-I
prescriptions and invoices beginning October 6, 2014.
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PRESCRIPTIONS:
Prescriptions for HCPs written before October 6, 2014 are:
o valid for up to six months, from original date of issuance — through April 8, 2015.
o valid if written by prescribers with C-I1l prescriptive authority
Prescriptions for HCPs written on or after October 6, 2014 are:
o0 rescheduled as C-Il. (Note, Oregon law does not speak to the expiration of a C-II;
pharmacists and prescribers must use professional judgment)
o valid only if written by prescribers with C-1l prescriptive authority
This ‘phase in’ period completely ends April 8, 2015.

Note: Not all pharmacy prescription processing systems may be capable of accommodating
this distinction. Corporate/outlet policy may be more restrictive. It is recommended that
communication between pharmacists, prescribers and patients is thoughtful and ongoing
during this transitional phase.

Prescription Considerations:

o0 Electronic prescribing of scheduled drugs (including C-Il) is permitted in Oregon, if the
pharmacy and prescriber have authenticated software systems in accordance with 21
CER 1311. See ORS 475.185(1)(a) clarified during the 2014 Legislative session:
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills laws/lawsstatutes/2014R1orLaw0055ss.pdf

o0 Federal and state rules permit a prescriber to issue multiple prescriptions authorizing a
patient to receive a total of up to a 90-day supply of HCPs. Prescriptions must be written
in accordance with 21 CFR 1306.12.

0 A practitioner may verbally issue an emergency prescription for a C-Il for an amount
deemed to cover the emergency period of time. A written prescription must be mailed
(postmarked) or delivered to the pharmacy within 7 days in accordance with 21 CFR
1306.11.

o For HCP prescriptions written before October 6, 2014, a pharmacy may assign a new
prescription number for an authorized refill with proper documentation of reference to
original prescription.

o There is no legal quantity limit on a single C-Il prescription; however as with any
prescription the pharmacist must perform a DUR for appropriateness. Additionally, large
guantities can potentially create a challenge for third party drug coverage.

For the complete Final Rule published in the Federal Register on August 22, 2014, please visit
http://go.usa.gov/mc8d
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