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OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY  

2015/2017 PHARMACIST CONTINUING EDUCATION FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
(FAQ’S) 

 
 
This year the Oregon Board of Pharmacy transitions to biennial licensure. This impacts 
continuing education requirements. Note that 15 hours of continuing education is required for the 
2015 renewal cycle. However, effective July 1, 2015 new rules go into effect and 30 hours of 
continuing education will be required for future renewal cycles. This means between July 1, 2015 
and June 30, 2017 you must earn 30 hours of continuing education.  
 
 
1. Q. How many hours of CE are required for my 2015 renewal? 

A. To satisfy the 2015 renewal requirements you must complete 15 hours of 
continuing education (one hour of law, one of patient safety/medication error 
prevention, and 13 “other” hours). 

   
2. Q. How many hours of CE will be required for my 2017 renewal? 

A. Based on the transition to biennial licensure, to prepare for your next renewal in 
2017 you will need to complete 30 hours of continuing education beginning July 1, 
2015 through June 30, 2017 (two hours of law, two of patient safety/medication 
error prevention and 26 “other” hours).  

 
3. Q. Can the law CE be earned from another source besides the one provided on the 

 Oregon Board of Pharmacy’s website?   
A. Yes.  The Oregon Board of Pharmacy will accept another state’s law CE, or any law 

CE that is ACPE accredited.  
 
4. Q. Is the law CE provided on the Oregon Board of Pharmacy’s website mandatory? 

A. No.  This CE is offered for Pharmacists as a resource in obtaining the one hour of 
required law CE. 

 
5. Q. I completed the required 7 hours of Pain Management CE last year, am I required t

 o complete Pain Management CE again?  
A. Pursuant to OAR 855-021-0016(2) a pharmacists must complete the required 

continuing education within 24 months of their first license renewal. 
 

6. Q. I am newly licensed as a Pharmacist in Oregon.  How long do I have  to 
 complete the Pain Management CE? 
A. You have four years from your first renewal application to complete the one time 

requirement of obtaining seven hours of Pain Management CE. 
 
7. Q. Where can I obtain Pain CE? 

A. One of the seven hours of Pain Management CE must be earned from the Oregon 
Pain Management Commission.  This one hour mandatory Pain Management CE 
module can be found on their website:  

 http://www.oregon.gov/oha/ohpr/pmc/pages/index.aspx 

http://www.oregon.gov/oha/ohpr/pmc/pages/index.aspx
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8. Q. Where can I obtain the other six hours of required Pain Management   
  CE? 

A. The Oregon Pain Management Commission website provides links to other sites 
that offer Pain Management CE. 
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/ohpr/pmc/pages/index.aspx 
 

9. Q. How do I know if I have been randomly selected for a CE Audit? 
A. If you are randomly selected for a CE Audit, you will receive a letter some time after 

the completion of the renewal cycle requesting that you need to provide your CE 
certificates to the Board pursuant to OAR 855-021-0050(2). You will have one 
month to provide the Board with copies of your CE certificates.    

 
10. Q. During the renewal cycle, do I submit copies of my completed CE to  the 

 Oregon Board of Pharmacy? 
A. No.  Please do not forward copies of your CE certificates to the Board unless they 

are requested. 
 
11. Q. Do I submit copies of my completed CE to the Oregon Board of Pharmacy if I renew 

 my license after it expires on June 30, 2015?   
A. Yes, you are required to provide a copy of your CE to the Board if you renew your 

license after June 30, 2015.  You may email the copies of your CE to: 
pharmacy.board@state.or.us.  

 
12.  Q. Does the Board require “Live” CE?      

 A. At this time, there is no requirement to have attended a “Live” CE session. 
 

13. Q. I have been selected for audit but cannot find copies of my completed CE.  
 What do I do? 
A. Please contact the CE provider for copies, as they are required to keep completed 

CE on file for at least three years.   
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