OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY

2015/2017 PHARMACIST RENEWAL FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ’'S)

This year the Board has transitioned to biennial licensure for Pharmacists. Therefore your license will
be valid until June 30, 2017. Please click here for continuing education FAQs.
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When will the 2015/2017 Pharmacist Renewal Notice be mailed?
Pharmacist Renewal Notices will be mailed early April. Note this will be your only
notification.

How do | renew my Pharmacist license?

Your license number and the last 4 digits of your social security number are needed to
begin your online renewal. Once you fill in these required fields, you will be taken to the
Online Renewal information page. Answer the required questions for each section, and
pay by credit card or electronic check. You also have the option to print your renewal
confirmation page and pay by check or money order.

Where do | go to renew online?
You will need to go to the Oregon Board of Pharmacy’s website:
(www.pharmacy.state.or.us) and click on the online renewal link.

What is the biennial renewal fee?
$175.00 if the renewal is received no later than May 31%. This includes:
e $120.00 Biennial Renewal fee.
e $50.00 Biennial Prescription Drug Monitoring Program fee.
For more information: www.orpdmp.com
e $5.00 Biennial Healthcare Workforce Demographics Survey fee.
For more information:
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/OHPR/pages/index.aspx

When is the $50.00 delinquent fee assessed?

A delinquent fee is required if your online renewal is submitted after 11:59 pm on

May 31%, or if you are mailing your payment to the Board and it is postmarked after
May 31°. If the delinquent fee is required, the total amount due to renew your license is
$225.00. The delinquent fee cannot be waived.

| can’t renew online because | don’'t have a computer.

Your local library has computers available for public use.

You can also contact the Oregon Board of Pharmacy at 971/673-0001 to schedule an
appointment to come to the Board office to complete your online renewal.

How do | make my payment online?

After completing the renewal online, you will be directed to US Bank’s secure website
where you can pay by credit card (MasterCard/Visa) or by electronic check. Be sure
you have correctly entered your email address. A payment confirmation will be sent to
the email you provide.
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Can | give the Board my credit card number and mail my renewal information to you?
Under no circumstances can the Oregon Board of Pharmacy collect your credit card
number or account information. Do not malil, fax, e-mail or write your credit card
information on anything you mail to the Board.

Can | renew online but mail in my confirmation sheet with a check/money order?

Yes. After completing your renewal, click the option to pay by mail. You must print out
your renewal confirmation page, sign and date it, and mail with your check or money
order to:

Oregon Board of Pharmacy
800 NE Oregon St Ste 150
Portland OR 97208 - 4395

What is a Healthcare Workforce Demographics Survey?

The Oregon Board of Pharmacy is required by law to collect healthcare workforce data
from each pharmacist before a license can be renewed. This information will be
gathered and given to the Office for Oregon Health Policy and Research, a division of
the Oregon Health Authority. http://www.oregon.gov/oha/OHPR/pages/index.aspx

Can | elect not to complete the Healthcare Workforce Demographics Survey?

No. Under the law, the Oregon Board of Pharmacy cannot approve a renewal of a
license until the applicant completes the survey. The survey is included in the online
renewal process.

Can | submit and pay my renewal via paper copy?
No. All renewals must be completed online.

If I submit my payment online, will | receive confirmation of payment?

Yes. When you complete your renewal payment, you will have the option of printing an
online renewal confirmation page which will include payment information. You will also
receive payment confirmation from U.S. Bank at the email address you have provided.

| submitted a check/money order (or submitted payment by e-check) to the Board of
Pharmacy with my renewal confirmation sheet, but have just been informed by my bank
that there is a problem with my account. What happens?

All returned checks will be assessed a $35.00 returned check fee. Under these
circumstances if your renewal was paid by May 31%, the total fee will be $210.00. If
paid after May 31%, the total fee would be $260.00. If your check is returned you will be
informed of the total required fee necessary in order to renew your Pharmacist license.

How do | change my address with the Oregon Board of Pharmacy?

When completing the online renewal, simply type in the correct information. You may
also submit an e-mail, fax or use the on-line electronic address / employment change
form found on the Board’s website:

http://www.oregon.gov/Pharmacy/Pages/Address Change.aspx

You may also mail your updated address to the Board office.
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| am an Oregon Preceptor. How do | renew my license?
Check the appropriate box when completing the online renewal.

How long is my Preceptor license valid for?
A Preceptor license expires June 30™ in odd numbered years.

If I am not licensed as a Preceptor and work out of state, how will an Oregon Intern
receive approval of their Intern hours?

Oregon Interns must follow the rules of the state in which they are obtaining hours. If
this is part of the Intern’s school based rotations, then the school is responsible for
receiving the Intern hours and the Pharmacist must follow that state’s laws and rules.

My Preceptor license expired last year. How can | bring it back to an active status?
During the Pharmacist renewal cycle, please check the box which states: “I wish to
renew (or obtain) my Oregon Preceptor Registration.”

Outside the Pharmacist renewal cycle, submit a Preceptor license application which can
be found on the Oregon Board of Pharmacy’s website. You can fax the application to
the Board at 971/673-0002.

What is an immunizing Pharmacist?

The Board is collecting information on the Pharmacist renewal about Pharmacists

who have completed a Board approved immunizing training program. If applicable
please check the box which indicates that you are a certified immunizing Pharmacist.
Note that the Board uses this information for statistical purposes only.

Can a copy of my license be faxed to me?

No. Per agency policy, employers are allowed to make photocopies of their employee
license only for their employee/office files. ONLY ORIGINAL LICENSES AND BOARD
CERTIFIED COPIES ARE ACCEPTABLE FOR POSTING pursuant to ORS 689.615.

How do | obtain copies of my Pharmacist License?

List the amount of copies (up to 20) you require when completing your online renewal.
The first two copies of your license are free if requested during the online renewal
process. If you need more than two copies, there is a $5.00 fee per additional two
copies. To obtain copies outside of the online renewal process, download the order
form off our website and pay your fee via check or money order.

| have been called to active duty with the Armed Forces. How do | renew my
Pharmacist license?

If you are in the military, please provide a copy of your Armed Forces Identification Card
or a copy of your Leave and Earnings Statement. If you are in the National Guard or
Reserves and are called to active duty, please provide a copy of the documentation
showing that you have been activated.

3 Updated March 2015



24.

25.

26.

27.

28.

29.

30.

31.

>0 PO PO

> O

> O

| am serving as a Pharmacist with the US Department of Health and Human Services
and wear a military uniform. Am | exempt from paying the pharmacist renewal fee?

No. Oregon Revised Statute 408.450 is the law concerning duty to pay fees during
military service. This law is only for those individuals in the military, naval services,
auxiliary corps thereof, or National Guard or Reserves who have been called to active
duty.

Members of the US Department of Health and Human Services are not part of the US
military service and are required to submit payment of $175.00 for their Pharmacist
Renewal.

| have a change of employment, how do | update this information with the Board?
When completing the online renewal, simply type in the correct information.

| work at several locations? How do | report more than one employer?
Type in the correct information when completing online renewal.

When do | have to report a change of my employment or personal information?

Oregon Administrative Rule 855-019-0205(7) states, “A pharmacist must notify the
Board in writing, within 15 days, of any change in e-mail address, employment location
or residence address.”

Can | call you with the change of employment or address information?

No. The Oregon Board of Pharmacy requires changes to be updated e-mailed, faxed or
by using the on-line electronic address/employment change form:
http://www.oregon.gov/Pharmacy/Pages/Address Change.aspx

You can also mail your updated address to the Board office.

| recently had a name change, how do | report this to the Board?

The Board requires a copy of the legal document that reflects that your name has been
legally changed. Documents accepted include copies of Marriage Certificates, Divorce
Decrees, or Court Documents showing your name has been legally changed. We also
require a copy of your drivers’ license or social security card showing your new name.

| need a license verification showing | have renewed my license. Can | get a letter from
the Board of Pharmacy showing my updated status?

Due to the heavy volume of renewals during this time, the Board of Pharmacy will not
be issuing license verifications during the renewal cycle. Employers can access the
Board of Pharmacy’s Online License Lookup and Verification system to verify that a
license has been renewed. After the renewal cycle, if you would like to have a license
verification, there is a $10.00 fee (check or money order only) for a paper license
verification.

Between my last Pharmacist renewal and this renewal cycle, | was in trouble with the
law. What do | do?

You are required to report any arrest, conviction, or non-traffic citation since the last
renewal.
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How do | lapse my Pharmacist license?

If you do not wish to renew your license and have been a pharmacist for less than 20
years, please submit a statement to the Board requesting that we lapse your license.
Otherwise, simply do not renew your license. Your pharmacist license will automatically
lapse on July 1, 2015.

How do | retire my Pharmacist license?

If you do not wish to renew your license and have been a pharmacist for 20 years or
longer, please submit a statement to the Board requesting that we retire your license.
Otherwise, simply do not renew your license. Your pharmacist license will automatically
be retired on July 1, 2015.

| previously lapsed my Pharmacist license. How do | bring it back to an active status?
A pharmacist who fails to renew their license by the deadline may reinstate their license
as follows per Oregon Administrative Rule 855-019-0170(1):

1) By payment of the license fees and delinquency fees for all years during which
the license was lapsed and for the current year; and

2) By providing certification of completion of the continuing education
requirements for all years in which the license was lapsed; and

3) If their license has been lapsed for more than one year, pass the Oregon
Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE) with a score of not less
than 75.

The Oregon Board of Pharmacy requires national fingerprint background checks for all
new applicants and for those individuals who have had a lapsed license for more than
one year. Please contact the Oregon Board of Pharmacy for a Pharmacist Renewal
Application, fingerprint instructions and information as to the total fees and CE
requirements.

| previously retired my Pharmacist license. How do | bring it back to an active status?

A pharmacist in good standing who retired from the practice of pharmacy after having
been licensed for at least 20 years need only pay the biennial license fee for the year in
which they are seeking to reactivate their license. They will also need to complete the
following:

1) Provide proof of completion of the continuing education requirements for all
years in which the license was retired; and

2) If license has been retired for more than one year, pass the Oregon Multistate
Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE) with a score of not less than 75.

The Oregon Board of Pharmacy requires a national fingerprint background check for
those individuals who have had a retired license for more than one year. Please
contact the Oregon Board of Pharmacy for a Pharmacist Renewal Application, national
fingerprint-based background check information, and information as to the total fees and
continuing education requirements.

5 Updated March 2015



36.

37.

38.

39.

Q.
A.

> O

> O

How do | obtain a copy of the Oregon Newsletter?

The Oregon Board of Pharmacy’s official Newsletter can be subscribed to by sending
an e-mail to the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy, with only the word
“Subscribe” in the subject heading to: OregonBOPNewsletter@nabp.net.

| do not have access to a computer. Can you mail me a copy of the Oregon
Newsletter?

Yes. The fee is a $5.00 per edition (paid via check or money order) for a paper copy of
the Oregon Newsletter. Please send a request in writing to the Board office.

Will the Board share my private, official e-mail address designated for Board use only?
No. The Board will not sell or publish your private, official e-mail address for Board use
only.

| am a Veteran. Where do | obtain more information on Oregon Veterans’ Benefits?
You can access the Oregon Department of Veterans’ Affairs by going to the following
address: http://www.oregon.gov/odva/BENEFITS/Pages/index.aspx.
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