
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To:   Interested Parties  
  
From:  Oregon Board of Pharmacy  
 
Date: January 2, 2015  
 
Re: Rule Changes        

  
On December 3, 2014 the Oregon Board of Pharmacy adopted, amended or repealed rules. Major 
changes in Division 019 Licensing of Pharmacists, Division 021 Pharmacists Continuing Education, 
Division 025 Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technicians and Pharmacy Technicians, Division 041 
Prescription Refills, and Division 110 Fee rules are highlighted below. For a complete listing of all 
rules adopted, amended or repealed at the December Board Meeting please visit our website at: 
www.pharmacy.state.or.us and click on the “Laws and Rules” tab.  
 
DIVISION 019 LICENSING OF PHARMACISTS 
 

• Effective January 1, 2015 rules in Division 019 are amended to reflect a change in the 
expiration date of Pharmacist licensure.  

• Beginning during the 2015 renewal cycle Pharmacist licenses will be valid for two years and 
will be renewed on a biennial basis in odd numbered years.  

• Pharmacists are required to provide the Board with a valid e-mail address and notify the Board 
in writing, within 15 days, of any change. Note that e-mail addresses will be obtained during 
the Pharmacist 2015 renewal cycle.  

• A more streamlined process for the reinstatement of a revoked or surrendered license has also 
been established.  

 
DIVISION 021 PHARMACIST CONTINUING EDUCATION 
 

• Effective July 1, 2015 Pharmacists are required to complete three continuing pharmacy 
education units (30 hours) from July 1st through June 30th of each biennial license renewal 
cycle in an approved continuing pharmacy education program.  

• This means that 1.5 continuing pharmacy education units (15 hours) between June 1, 2014 
and May 31, 2015 are required to satisfy the 2015 renewal requirements. Three continuing 
pharmacy education units (30 hours) will need to be obtained between July 1, 2015 and June 
30, 2017 to satisfy Pharmacist continuing education requirements for the 2017 renewal cycle.  

 
DIVISION 025 CERTIFIED OREGON PHARMACY TECHNICIANS AND PHARMACY 
TECHNICIANS  
 

• Effective January 1, 2015 Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technicians and Pharmacy Technicians 
are required to be 18 years of age and hold either a high school diploma or GED. Note that the 
age requirement does not apply to persons currently under the age of 18 licensed by the Board 
as a Pharmacy Technician prior to January 1, 2015.  

Oregon Board of Pharmacy 
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 150 

Portland, OR  97232 
Phone:  971 / 673-0001 

Fax:  971 / 673-0002 
E-mail:  pharmacy.board@state.or.us 

Web:  www.pharmacy.state.or.us 
 

http://www.pharmacy.state.or.us/
http://www.oregon.gov/pharmacy/Pages/Laws_Rules.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/pharmacy/Imports/Rules/December14/Div019.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/pharmacy/Imports/Rules/December14/Div021.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/pharmacy/Imports/Rules/December14/Div025.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/pharmacy/Imports/Rules/December14/Div025.pdf
mailto:pharmacy.board@state.or.us


• The Pharmacy Technician license is only valid for one year except by petition to the Board or it 
may be reinstated if lapsed for more than five years. 

• Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technicians are required to obtain national certification from the 
Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) or National Healthcareer Association (NHA) 
for initial licensure only. Subsequent renewals do not require maintenance of national 
certification.  

• Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technicians and Pharmacy Technicians are required to provide 
the Board with a valid e-mail address and notify the Board in writing, within 15 days, of any 
change. Note that e-mail addresses will be obtained during the Certified Oregon Pharmacy 
Technician 2015 renewal cycle. 

• Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technicians are required to complete 10 continuing pharmacy 
education hours from September 1, 2014 through August 31, 2015.  

• A more streamlined process for the reinstatement of a revoked or surrendered license has also 
been established.  
 

DIVISION 041 PRESCRIPTION REFILLS 
 

• Effective January 1, 2016 new requirements for the use of auto-refill programs, reminders, 
and pick-up notification for retail pharmacies become operative. 

• These rules do not go into effect until January 1, 2016 in order to provide retail pharmacies 
with sufficient time to modify their automated systems and notify patients as appropriate.  

• Guidance on new requirements will be forthcoming.  
 

DIVISION 044 RECORDS 
 

• Effective December 4, 2014 a waiver clause was established in the records section of the 
Charitable Pharmacy rules.  
 

DIVISION 110 FEES 
 

• Effective April 1, 2015 the fee structure for the 2015 Pharmacist biennial licensure renewal 
cycle is implemented. 

• Beginning in the 2015 Pharmacist renewal cycle the Pharmacist renewal fee will be $120.00. 
The license will be valid until June 30, 2017.   

• Additional Pharmacist fees mandated by the Legislature will now be collected on a biennial 
basis i.e. the electronic prescription monitoring fund.  

 
You may review all rule changes, at www.pharmacy.state.or.us under the  

“Laws and Rules” tab. 
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