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Out-of State Non-Resident Pharmacies  

(1) For the purpose of these rules, a non-resident pharmacy includes, but is not limited to: 
Retail, Institutional, Remote Processing, Central Fill, and Drugless/Consulting Drug 
Outlets. 

(2)(1) Every out-of-state non-resident pharmacy that delivers prescription drugs or devices 
provides drugs, devices or services to a resident in this state shall be registered with the Oregon 
Board of Pharmacy.  

(3)(2) To qualify for registration under these rules, every out-of-state non-resident pharmacy 
shall be registered and in good standing with the Board of Pharmacy in the pharmacy's state of 
residence.  

(4)(3) Every out-of-state non-resident pharmacy shall designate an Oregon licensed 
pPharmacist-in-cCharge (PIC), who shall be responsible for all prescription drugs and devices 
delivered pharmacy services provided to residents in Oregon, and to provide supervision and 
control in the pharmacy. To qualify for this designation, the person must: hold a license to 
practice pharmacy in the state of residence of the out-of-state pharmacy and in Oregon, and be in 
good standing with both licensing boards.  

(a) Hold a license to practice pharmacy in the resident state; 

(b) Be normally present in the pharmacy for a minimum of 20 hours per week; 

(c) Complete the annual non-resident PIC self-inspection report prior to February 1 each 
year; and 

(d) Provide the PIC self-inspection report as requested by the Board.  

(5) Every non-resident pharmacy will have a pharmacist-in-charge (PIC) who is licensed in 
Oregon within four months of initial licensure of the pharmacy.  

(6) When a change of Pharmacist-in-Charge (PIC) occurs, the non-resident pharmacy will 
notify the Board within ten business days and identify a contact person. The pharmacy will 
have an Oregon licensed PIC employed within 90 days. The contact person must be a 
licensed pharmacist in the pharmacy’s state of residence and is responsible for the 
following: 

(a) Supervision of pharmacy staff and ensuring compliance with laws and rules; and 

(b) Responding to Board correspondence and inquiries.  

 
 



(7) A new Pharmacist-in-Charge must be appointed, and communication made to the 
Board within 90 days, or the non-resident pharmacy will cease drug distribution and 
provision of pharmacy services in Oregon. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 689.205  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 689.151, 689.155, 689.225 

 
 


