
 
 

DRAFT RULES 

LICENSING OF PHARMACISTS 

Administration of Vaccines by Pharmacists  

855-019-0270  

Qualifications 

(1) In this rule and in OAR 855-019-0280, an intern who is appropriately trained and qualified in 
accordance with Section (3) of this rule may perform the same duties as a pharmacist, provided 
that the intern is supervised by an appropriately trained and qualified pharmacist.  

(2) A pharmacist may administer vaccines to persons who are at least 11 years of age as provided 
by these rules. For the purposes of this rule, a person is at least 11 years of age on the day of the 
person's eleventh birthday.  

(3) A pharmacist may administer vaccines under Section (1) or Section (2) of this rule only if:  

(a) The pharmacist has completed a course of training approved by the Board;  

(b) The pharmacist holds a current basic Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) certification 
issued by the American Heart Association or the American Red Cross or any other equivalent 
program that contains a hands-on training component and is valid for not more than three years, 
and documentation of the certification is placed on file in the pharmacy;  

(c) The vaccines are administered in accordance with an administration protocol written and 
approved by the Oregon Health Authority (OHA); and  

(d) The pharmacist has a current copy of the CDC reference, "Epidemiology and Prevention of 
Vaccine-Preventable Diseases."  

(4) A pharmacist otherwise in compliance with section three of this rule may, during a 
declared emergency, administer a vaccine to a person who is at least 3 years of age when; 

 (a) The Governor declares a state of public health emergency and authorizes the reduced 
age limitation; or 
  
(b) The Public Health Director, during a declared disease outbreak, authorizes a reduction 
in the age limit. 

(4) (5) A pharmacist may not delegate the administration of vaccines to another person.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 689.205 433.441, 433.443, & OL 2013, Ch 332  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 689.151, 689.155, 689.645& OL 2013, Ch 332 

http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_800/oar_855/855_019.html


 
 

855-019-0280  

Protocols, Policies and Procedures 

(1) Prior to administering a vaccine to a person who is at least 11 years of age a pharmacist must 
follow protocols written and approved by the Oregon Health Authority (OHA)for administration 
of vaccines and the treatment of severe adverse events following administration of a vaccine. 

(2) A pharmacist during a declared emergency may administer a vaccine to a person who is 
at least 3 years of age when; 

(a) The Governor declares a state of public health emergency and authorizes the reduced 
age limitation; or 
  
(b) The Public Health Director, during a declared disease outbreak, authorizes a reduction 
in the age limit. 

(2) (3) The pharmacy must maintain written policies and procedures for handling and disposal of 
used or contaminated equipment and supplies.  

(3) (4) The pharmacist must give the appropriate Vaccine Information Statement (VIS) to the 
patient or legal representative with each dose of vaccine covered by these forms. The pharmacist 
must ensure that the patient or legal representative is available and has read, or has had read to 
them, the information provided and has had their questions answered prior to administering the 
vaccine.  

(4) (5) The pharmacist must report adverse events as required by the Vaccine Adverse Events 
Reporting System (VAERS) and to the primary care provider as identified by the patient.  

(5) (6) The pharmacist must make available the Adolescent Well Visit Referral document, 
provided by the OHA, to a patient aged 11 through 18 years of age or their legal representative.  

(6) (7) The pharmacist may administer or dispense an oral vaccine as established by written 
protocols approved by OHA.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 689.205, 433.441, 433.443, OL 2013, Ch 332 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 689.151, 689.155, 689.645, OL 2013, Ch 332 

 
 


