
 

  

Teacher Standards  & Practices of  Oregon   

This newsletter is 

TSPC’s effort to 

keep educators 

and licensees in-

formed of what’s 

happening at 

TSPC.  We realize that you all 

have busy schedules and get 

way too many emails. However, 

it’s important that when you 

renew your license, you aren’t 

surprised and caught off guard 

by changes made to the rules or 

decisions the Commission 

makes at their quarterly meet-

ing. We will send out this publi-

cation regularly to highlight 

changes in rules, licensure, test-

ing and more to keep you in the 

loop. We hope you will find this 

news helpful. You can find past 

copies on our website so check 

them for helpful information. 
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   FEES 
Fees are listed on the first 

tab under licensure on 

the home page. To renew 

your license the following 

fees apply: 

$100—First License and Renewal fee 

$120—Obtain out of State Fee 

$ 25—late fee per month or portion of 

month up to $125 

$ 75  Charter Registry ($25 to renew) 

You can pay by check or credit card. 

Forms for credit cards can be found 

at http://www.oregon.gov/tspc/

Pages/Forms_and_Instruct.aspx  and 

faxed or mailed to TSPC. PLEASE do 

not email your credit card #. 

L ICENSURE  UPDATE  

  What is the Commission? 

 

The Teacher Standards and Practices Commission is 

a professional licensure board that is appointed by 

the Governor.  It is similar in nature to the Nursing 

Board, the Medical Board, the Board of Accoun-

tancy, etc. 
 

The Governor selects the membership based on state statutes that 

were adopted in the early 1960’s. There are only 11 other independ-

ent educator standards boards in the nation. 
 
The Commission has operated as an independent state agency since 

1973.  The Governor’s office selects: 8 practicing teachers; 4 practic-

ing administrators; two higher education faculty; one school board 

member and two public members to serve on the Commission as 

public officials for three year terms.  Each commissioner may serve 

up to two terms.  
 
The Legislature (through statutes) gives licensure boards the author-

ity to set the standards and requirements to be a practicing educator 

in Oregon’s public schools. The license signifies that the person has 

completed educator preparation; demonstrated subject-matter mas-

tery through the passage of tests; and has been through a criminal 

background check supported by fingerprints.   
 
The Commission (through administrative rules) establishes the re-

quirements for licensure which have the weight of law.  The Commis-

sion is required to follow its own administrative rules. 
 
Additionally, the Commission conducts state accreditation visits at 

Oregon colleges and universities for all teacher preparation pro-

grams, both public and private, which allows them to recommend 

teachers, administrators, school counselors, school psychologists, 

and school social workers for licensure.  The Commission accredits 

20 licensure programs. 
 
Finally, like all licensure boards in Oregon, the Commission is re-

quired by law to establish standards for ethical conduct as it relates 

to on-duty and off-duty conduct.  Additionally, the Legislature  
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Have you noticed and experienced the complexity 

of the licensure structure?  What started as Basic 

and Standard designations (from 1965 to 1999) 

was moved to Initial I, Initial II, and the original 

designation after 1999.  It’s confusing to educators 

coming into the state as they work with people who 

do the same work but have a different kind of 

license and different requirements to renew.  

Licensure redesign will address and simplify this 

process.  How will it affect you and your license? 

The TSPC Commission established an advisory 

committee to make recommendations on redesign 

of the licensure structure.  The advisory committee 

was formed in July 2012 and has broad 

representation from the field including teachers, 

administrators, university, association and school 

board members.  The group has met over the last 

18 months and has reached broad consensus on 

proposals.  The Commission has adopted a few of 

the recommendations and will consider more in 

July 

The advisory committee has recommended a three 

tier licensure system in which all existing license 

holders with be transitioned to upon adoption by 

the Legislature.   

The first tier is the Preliminary Teaching License.  

This tier is for new completers with no experience.   

A person holding this license will have up to six 

years to complete requirements for the 

Professional Teaching License.  After the first six 

years, it may be renewed continuously if the 

license holder is not employed in a public school.  

All employed licensed holders must meet the 

requirements for the second tier and 

advancement to that tier is mandatory. There is 

some discussion but no consensus on an 

“interim” license for these unemployed educators.  

The license would be between the Preliminary and 

Professional.  Specifically, it would be a 

“transitional” license for people who are not 

employed, but need to keep their license to stay in 

the job market. New teachers not employed in the 

first six years and unemployed veteran teachers 

who have not obtained employment might be 

eligible for this yet-to-be considered license. 

The second tier is the Professional Teaching 

License. This level requires a Master’s or 

equivalent coursework for all license holders.  If 

the new teacher obtains their first license on the 

basis of a master’s degree or equivalent 
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coursework, an 10 semester or 15 quarter hours are 

required to advance to the 

Professional Teaching 

License. The additional 

coursework may be ½ 

graduate credits, or ½ 

undergrad credits related to 

education. The additional 

coursework, MUST be 

completed after the first 

license is obtained.  In addition to the course work, 

all teachers will be required to have five years 

experience teaching to advance to the Professional 

Teaching License.  This license may be renewed 

continuously with continuing professional 

development units. 

The third level, Distinguished Teaching License is 

optional and aimed specifically at teacher leaders.  

Educators must have a full, master’s or above, five 

years experience teaching and have accomplished 

an activity that is indicative of distinguished 

educators. The Distinguished Teaching License may 

be renewed with continued evidence of distinguished 

experience. 

The first two licenses are required.  Endorsements: 

The advisory committee is recommending that most 

endorsements remain the same as endorsements 

issues after 1999. The recommendations include:   

Remove “Basic”- “Standard” from endorsement 

name;  

Middle school science changed to foundational 

science, 

Basic math to foundational math,             

Elementary-multiple subjects vs. multiple subjects 

self-contained,                           

Language Arts changes to English Language Arts,  

Reading Specialist to Reading Intervention.  
      

The committee is recommending that to add an 

endorsement a licensed educator can accomplish 

this by passing the commission approved 

examination in the subject area without a mandatory 

practicum.  Coursework will still be required if no 

subject area test is available.  Some endorsements 

will still require a full program, such as: Elementary 

multiple subjects; Library Media; all Special 

Education areas; ESOL and Reading Intervention 

(currently Reading Specialist).  
Continued on p. 3 

Licensure Redesign Process Underway 
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Licensure Update  

One of the frequent reasons for 

delays in getting your license 

renewed occurs when you send 

in your information and your ap-

plication is not complete.  Com-

mon incomplete application issues include the     

following: 

 Forgetting to sign the application 

 Forgetting to send in the licensure fee 

 No PEER form sent to TSPC 

 CPD information is not included for renewal 

 No information sent on coursework to show          

progress.  Official transcripts are needed 

 Forgetting to answer the character questions or   

answering inaccurately 

When these requirements are not sent in with your 

application it delays your process.  It means that we 

have to notify you that your application is incomplete 

and you then have to fix the issue and send it back.  

This last month TSPC had to incomplete far too 

many applications.  That means that staff time was 

spent beginning to evaluate the material to issue 

the license and had to stop because information 

was missing.  It also means that when it comes back 

in, staff will have to repeat the process which slows 

us down. 

While it’s frustrating to receive an email telling you 

your application is incomplete, we can’t issue a    

license unless all the legally required documents 

come to us when you renew.  Please be sure to 

check and make sure that ALL items are included so 

we can get your license to you as soon as possible. 

Hopefully these tips will help everyone and speed up 

the processing. Thanks for your help  

Licensure Pitfalls 

Licensure Redesign Process  cont. 

We’re on the web at 

www.oregon.gov/tspc 

has mandated that all complaints received 

against an educator be investigated if the 

complaint may be grounds for refusal to issue a 

license or grounds for discipline based on 

misconduct including failure to give proper 

notice prior to resignation.  The Commission 

receives 250 to 300 complaints a year. 
 
Commission staff:  issue the licenses (under the 

rules and standards adopted by the 

Commission); organizes and conduct the 

accreditation visits (with stakeholders from the 

field and higher education); and investigates the 

complaints received. 
 
Commissioners:  Set the rules for a license such 

as renewal requirements; education 

requirements, qualifications, etc; determine 

whether a college, university or other program is 

entitled to accreditation; and read every 

investigation report and determine whether an 

educator should be sanctioned and if so, what 

sanction is recommended (such as revocation, 

suspension or reprimand). 
 

The Commissioners are listed on the back page 

of our newsletter.  We appreciate all they do!     
                                       
 Victoria Chamberlain 

                                   
   The Commission has adopted some of the logical 

recommendations. The middle level grade authori-

zation no longer requires completion of the multi-

ple subjects test. This change, however, means 

middle level educators are not eligible to teach in 

multiple subjects classrooms without completion of 

the Elementary – Multiple Subjects academic pro-

gram.   

   The next steps include making proposed changes 

into rule form for consideration by the Commission 

and to introduce any needed statutory changes at 

the 2015 Legislature. This newsletter will continue 

to provide updates around the process, including 

when the topic is scheduled for discussion at the 

summer Commission meeting.  

                  

Communication to the Field cont. 
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  At the risk of sounding like an apologist, I want to share some of my insights since coming to 

work with TSPC.  I, like many of you, had my laundry list of complaints about the renewal proc-

ess, delays in communication, and incomplete notices.  As I came to the office, I took a look at 

my TSPC file and saw some of my complaints about the process and my excuses to try to ex-

plain away late fees because my check didn’t arrive in time or I lost track of the date my license 

expired.   

  Reflecting back, if I’m honest, many of those issues were my fault and my anger was at a sys-

tem that held me accountable for knowing when my license expired and meeting renewal requirements that I often 

forgot about once I got my license.  And, to be honest, those advice letters can be a bear to understand!  Waiting to 

the last minute to complete my required forms and send them in caused me to become anxious and very impa-

tient.  And as I look at the replies of the TSPC representatives, I’m amazed at how polite and understanding the 

folks were in spite of my borderline crankiness! 

  Coming back to work at the agency this month I was taken aback at the reduced number of staff in licensure.  

Now, I felt that way 3 years ago when I first came to work as Director of Licensure. I learned about the complex 

process involved in issuing a license that involved much more than I ever could have imagined.  And I was shocked 

at how few people were there to do the work then.  Coming back this month, there are even fewer staff in licensure. 

To help you all understand the process I’ve made some information available. Here is what is involved: 

 This hopefully gives you an idea of why we are behind and we want you to know we are working hard to get caught 

up soon.  Remember TSPC receives no tax dollars or general fund revenue and is fee-based service based on the 

fees you pay.  We appreciate your patience. 

Delays, Frustration, and Waiting, Oh My!  

Process Staff Jan/Feb Numbers 

Phone Calls and Emails—Personal Service Representatives are the staff as-

signed to answer the phones, respond to emails, and  help out with research-

ing questions from educators about what they need, how to apply, why don’t 

they have their license yet, help walk in customers, and  provide information on 

programs for endorsements, renewal requirements, and more. Currently 2 staff 

(down 2)  

 2 FTE 6,898 Phone Calls 

1,342 Phone Customers 

   502 Walk Ins 

Intake—receiving the daily mail and applications which are scanned into a com-

puter system and associated with the applicant’s account. Also, transcripts are 

received from universities showing program completion, fingerprint cards must 

be collected and delivered to the Oregon State Police for processing. Currently 

1 staff (down 2)  

1 FTE 3.088 Applications 

9,565 Documents                       

 

Evaluation—this is where degrees are posted to accounts, advice letters from 

the last renewal are reviewed, transcripts are reviewed to see if applicants 

completed their required coursework, character questions are checked to 

match up with the criminal history checks, endorsements requested are evalu-

ated to make sure applicants have completed the test, coursework, and prac-

tica required, and the application is reviewed to make sure that the best li-

cense is being issued. The file is reviewed to make sure there are no emails or 

calls changing what the educators request and to see if there are any other 

issues in the file. The final step is making sure the I’s are dotted and the T’s 

are crossed and the license is issued.  Along with the license, a letter is devel-

oped specifically to the educator receiving the license to advise them of what 

will be needed at the next renewal.  This information is then emailed to the 

educator.  Currently 5 staff (up from four)  

5 FTE    829 New Licenses 

1,685 Renewals 
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TSPC Updates via Email 

Investigative Team Updates 

Are you reading the updates sent to you email 
from TSPC?  There is often important information 
in there that could affect your license or renewal.  
Here are just a few recent ones:  

TSPC no longer sends out paper renewal packets 
as of October 2012. You used to received the 
renewal packets from your district.  You still 
receive birthday reminders letting you know 
when your license is expiring and when re-
newal is necessary. An email goes out to edu-
cators 180 days (up from 90 days) prior to 
their expiration date letting them know that 
their license is up for renewal.  If you don’t 
keep us updated with your email, you won’t 
receive the timely notice. (TSPC rules require 
that you update your information.) 

TSPC no longer sends out paper licenses as of 
April 1, 2013.  If your license was issued after 
April 1, 2013, you can view it on the Educator 
Lookup tab on our webpage.  See article in 
this newsletter to learn how to find your ac-
count on our website. 

Signing up for TSPC Notifications at http://
www.tspc.state.or.us/account_setup.asp 
where you can select notices you want to re-
ceive to keep you informed of changes in li-
censure and newsletter updates. 

  How often is a background check 

completed? How can clearance be 

verified?  

   All new applicants for licensure 

and students of teacher education 

programs are required to submit 

fingerprints for criminal history verification.  Fin-

gerprint criminal history checks are completed by 

the Oregon State Police (OSP) and the FBI. This 

process usually takes between 5-14 days.  Once 

clearance is issued, the clearance dates are 

posted to the Educator Look Up account on the 

web when you sign in. To access this page, you 

must enter the educator’s or student’s full name, 

as on file with TSPC, date of birth and last four dig-

its of the social security number. The clearance 

dates show in a blue box under the educator’s or 

student’s name. 

   Fingerprint clearance remains valid unless a li-

cense lapses for three years or more, or licensure 

is not applied for within three years. If a license 

lapses for three years or more, or a student does 

not apply for licensure within three years of the 

original clearance date, fingerprinting is required 

again.   

   At each renewal cycle, license holder’s names 

are run through a background check verification 

through Law Enforcement Data Systems (LEDS). If 

there are any YES answers on the character ques-

tions, further review occurs. A license is not issued 

until background clearance has been issued.  The 

issuance of a license by TSPC, should be clear in-

dication that background checks have been con-

ducted and cleared. 

 Are you reading the character questions   

carefully on the TSPC application,  each time 

you prepare to submit ?  

 Did you know these questions  may and do 

change periodically?  

 

It is your responsibility to carefully read all     

character questions each time you are preparing 

to submit an application to TSPC. Don’t get 

caught in a situation that may cause you to ap-

pear you are not being forthright.  If in doubt, it is 

always best to reveal rather than conceal.   

We have other important staff at TSPC that do work 

to support the agency and they are not listed on the 

back.  Here are the departments and roles. 

Professional Practices 

Melody Hanson—Director 

Jeff Van Laanen 

Paul Cimino 

Cristina Edgar 

Joanne Kandle 

Kevin Cooley 

Patty  Liddell 

Tanya Figgat 

Deputy Director of TSPC  

Keith Menk 

Information Technology Specialist 

Matt Garrett 

TSPC Staff Members 
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Commission Update on Educator Sanctions/Discipline 

 The Commission requested that we share some of the incidents that occur with 

educators that result in investigations and discipline.  Without naming individuals, 

here are some examples of actions educators have taken that have resulted in 

reprimands, revocations of licenses, or other discipline.  You can find all discipline 

carried out on the TSPC Professional Practices Educator Sanction/Discipline web 

page located at http://www.tspc.state.or.us/geninfo_item.asp?id=4 

 

Fact Patterns 

 Put 8th grade student in a neck hold  

 Popped on head with enough force to bruise 

 Violated direct order of the district to not use cell phone on teaching time  

 Lied to employer about taking sick leave for an event   

 Lied on TSPC application 

 Left the district without 60 days notice of resignation (state statute) 

 Worked for over a year with expired license  

 Appeared on duty under the influence of alcohol (do not drink and go to the school AT ALL) 

 Sexually harassed new female teacher (colleague)  

 2 DUII’s over two years  

 Wrote students’ first and last name on social media site using profanity and on district time;  

 Excessive internet time during class time; yelled at students; failed to follow curriculum; 

 Used internet to view sexually explicit materials; 

 Sent inappropriate text messages to female students at all hours 

 Made overly personal comments to girls; sexual innuendo; commented about girls’ sexuality with 

high school boys 

 Inappropriately helped students with OAKS test; (all test scores were invalidated) 

 Inappropriate use of sick leave to meet boyfriend or to travel 

 Failure to report child abuse (multiple people) 

 Failed to complete timely IEP’s; forged other adults’ signatures on IEP’s; lied to administrators; 

 Various shaming techniques: pushups; stand in front of class; embarrass when fail; etc. 

 Multiple instances of ignoring athlete’s injuries (called players babies) shamed players into 

performing while injured, etc. 

 Paid bills on company time; did graduate coursework during work day; accessed face book during 

class. 

 Copied questions and answers for online test and gave to student.   

 Lied to TSPC investigator. 

 Tested positive for marijuana in two pre-employment screens 

 Grabbed student by the arm; forced into classroom; unnecessary force  

 

Here are some dos and don’ts to keep in mind:     Continued on next page
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Educator Look Up—or How to Find Your Account 
DO NOT:  

Lie 

Cheat 

Touch Students (at all) 

Get angry 

Fail to supervise 

Meet students off school grounds for any 

reasons 

Take students in your car; 

Talk on phone after hours (unless urgent) 

Ask personal questions  

Go to work while on any type of pain-

killers (unless DR releases) 

 

DO: 

Get help if you are out of control; 

Get help if anger issues; 

Get help if feel attracted in any way; 

Avoid drinking during the week (at all) 

Tell the truth; 

Own up to your mistakes; 

Accept Responsibility 

Protect students at all costs. 

 

Keep Your Email Address Current 

Along with keeping your home address 

and phone numbers current, it’s impor-

tant to add your personal email as well.  

If you leave the district or retire, your 

email is the only way you will get infor-

mation about expiring licenses and im-

portant updates.  Find your email that we have on file on 

the TSPC website under Educator Look Up and you can 

add or update your information.  Thanks! 

 

   Having trouble finding your account on the TSPC    

website?  It’s most likely because the name you are   

entering does not match the name on your license. Most 

licenses have your full name on displayed, so it’s 

necessary to put in your first middle and last names to 

find your information.  (Tip:  Start with your last name 

and search the list for how your name appears in our 

files.) 

   What can you find in your account?   

Your license image can be printed if your license was 

issued after April 1, 2013, 

You can print screen your account page to provide proof 

of licensure.  Educators can upload the image then 

to their job application account if an employing 

district asks for your license. 

Your advice letter from your last renewal.  It tells you 

what you need to do to renew your license, how 

many credits you may need, PDU units, and more 

information. 

Whether your fingerprints have cleared if you submitted 

them. 

What documents TSPC has received for your renewal or 

licensure. 

Whether your license went into the grace period (120 

days following the expiration of the license.) 

Continuing Professional Development (CPD) 

or Professional Development Units (PDU) are 

used for renewal of licensure for the Initial II, 

Basic, Standard, and Substitute Licenses.  

The Initial I doesn’t use CPD/PDU until all 

coursework is completed.   
 
You can carry over some units from the last 

licensure as described in the chart below: 
 

Licensed educators may carry-over excess 

PDU’s obtained only in the previous reporting 

renewal period as follows:  

Substitutes/Restricted Substitutes: 10 PDU’s;  

Three-year licenses: 25 PDU’s;  

Five-year licenses: 25 PDU’s.  

New  Rules on PDU”s 

Educator Sanctions  cont. 
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 Directions to and Entry into TSPC 

Licensure Staff 

 

Executive Director 

Victoria Chamberlain 

 

Interim Director of Licensure 

Julie McCann 

 

Public Service Reps 

Tiffany Butteris 

Holly Hammons 

 

License Evaluators 

Linda Conrad 

Heidi Reinhardt 

Maria Odle 

Amanda Hill 

Stephanie Long 

Crystal Mann 

TSPC Commission Members 

 

Teachers: 

Lea Bates (Roseburg) 

Shirley Blanchard (Eagle Point) 

Judy Brizendine (Pendleton) 

Chris Kuka (Bend) 

Jeff Matsumoto (Forest Grove) 

Edward Sage (Gresham-Barlow) 

Kathleen Sundell (Salem-Keizer) 

Secondary teacher (vacant) 

Administrators: 

Heidi Sipe (Umatilla) 

ESD Superintendent (vacant) 

Anne Erwin (Beaverton) 

Olga Cobb (Salem-Keizer) 

Higher Education: 

Mark Girod (Western Oregon University) 

Mark Ankeny (Pacific University) 

Public: 

Chris Brantley (Salem-Keizer School Board) 

Anne Marie Chesebro (Portland) 

Public Member (vacant) 

 

 

  

From the North 

Coming in from the north, 

take the Salem Parkway 

exit and follow it into 

town.  As you get on 

Commercial St. you will 

turn right on Market 

Street.  Go one block and turn Left onto Front Street.  You 

will see Division on your left.  Turn left on Division and we 

are the only building on the right, close to Day Heating. You 

may also take the Market Street exit and follow Market to 

the very end  and the directions above will work. 

 

From the South 

If you are coming from the Mission Street Exit,  follow Mis-

sion all the way in until you get to Front Street.  Turn R on 

Front street and you will go through 2 lights.  Be in the left 

hand lane and you will see a turn lane where you can turn 

left prior to the  Commercial/Liberty light.  Turn left and you 

will see the TSPC building on your right.  Turn Right on Divi-

sion Street and you are here. 

 

Entry to the Building 

We have a new entry system due to some security issues.  

When you come to the building, knock and wait for the re-

ceptionist to unlock the door.   You will hear a click and the 

door will unlock so you can open it and enter. 

Address and Contact Information  

 

250 Division St. NE 

Salem, OR 97301-3414 

 

Phone: 503-378-3586  

Fax: 503-378-4448 

 

Web: 

http://www.oregon.gov/TSPC/Pages/index.aspx 

 

Email: contact.tspc@state.or.us 

 


